The screens and their braking effect on children's brain development

There is an area in our brain, the prefrontal cortex, which is the one that is in charge of the attention, the concentration, the will and the control of the impulses. It is what distinguishes us from animals, our superior capacity, and is in the front of the brain.

Our desire as parents is for our children to have that area of ​​the brain very developed, to control their impulses, behave well, do not hit, do not eat without control, are sitting in the waiting room of the doctor without moving everywhere .. That depends on the prefrontal cortex.

When a baby is born, it has the whole brain smooth, it is immature. And, as the months go by, as the years go by, the convolutions begin, and the brain begins to mature.


What catches the attention of a baby? Three things: light, sound and movement. A baby when it is born, has no ability to pay attention to anything, unless you suddenly hear a sound or see a light. These stimuli get your attention.

What happens if we introduce the screen in the life of a child?

What is the screen? Light, sound and movement. What do the screens produce in the brain? That the development in that area of ​​the brain is stopped in its tracks. Immaturity occurs and that part of the child's brain does not develop.

Therefore, today we have Ten-year-old children with an immature prefrontal cortex, and consequently we have 10% of children medicated for attention problems and impulsivity in Spain and in the first world, when the data in psychiatry is that ADHD affects between 3% and 4% of the child population.


We are talking that more than twice the estimated number of children with this problem is medicated because their prefrontal cortex has not developed properly. The prefrontal cortex receives stimuli and only calms down when it has a front screen.

How screen addiction works

Another problem that arises as the age advances, especially between ten, twelve, fourteen years, is that social networks come. Let's understand a bit how the brain works: when a person uses cocaine, heroin, alcohol, pornography, has sex, eats chocolate, goes shopping ... feels pleasure, because all this generates pleasure. That pleasure is regulated, mainly, by the hormone of the dopamine that has a high pleasant power, but a high addictive power. What does dopamine do? Think of an addiction, you think you want some drug, then the brain activates, begins to generate dopamine, has a peak at the time of consumption and then has a big slump, the abstinence syndrome. What's going on? That the brain is asking for more and there addictions begin.


What did the programmers discover in Silicon Valley when they created the first social networks? That each Like, that each video, were microchispazos of dopamine. And then they realized that they were going to get the attention of the people and they created programs, applications, that what they do is generate addicts to the screen.

And this is thought, it is not a coincidence. Millions are spent each year to ask scientists how to get attention. What moves the world is no longer oil, it is not even money, it is attention. Who has more time to a person in your application, on your website, in your network ... that person succeeds and that person makes money.

Thus, Businesses today are focused on getting attention either through pornography, through social networks or images. No one is able to get into a social network, for example on Instagram, to look at a 10-second thing, because everything is made for us to get hooked. What's going on? That as all that generates a very powerful surface satisfaction, it is very difficult to disconnect from that.

Social networks, the refuge of young people

Adolescence is a time of change, where everyone raises their lives and says "who am I" and "what will become of me", and "I feel lonely", "my body is changing" ... The brain is looking an escape route, and this has always happened and it has happened to us all, in some it is alcohol, in others reading and in others sports, but the brain leaves that saved. Therefore, whenever my body, my mind, my behavior feels a slump, as that is recorded, your memory will remind you.

Therefore, today young people isolate themselves in those moments of decline in social networks. When something does not work for them, their brain goes to everything has to do with the screen. Young people connect better with a screen and express their emotions better with an emoticon than with a person in the you to you.Proof of this is that we are treating network addiction with the same medication as cocaine addiction because it goes through the same circuit, only that the doses are different.

Marián Rojas-Estapé. Psychiatrist and author of the book How to make good things happen to you

Video: How the iPad affects young children, and what we can do about it: Lisa Guernsey at TEDxMidAtlantic


Interesting Articles

Fruit juices and soft drinks: consumption limitations

Fruit juices and soft drinks: consumption limitations

Given the insistent recommendation to include in the daily diet, both children and adults, a greater amount of fruits and vegetables, many people do not notice the difference that may be in consuming...

Increase in toy sales in Spain

Increase in toy sales in Spain

Many times, fashion movies also become the trend in a wide range of sectors, especially the 'merchandasing', with toys as the maximum exponent. This has happened in Spain, where the movie Star Wars...

The use of digital tablets for learning

The use of digital tablets for learning

Although the use ofDigital tablets may present certain disadvantages for children, to carry out activities in the school improves the learning of the students, according to the 87% of the teachers...

How to act in front of a couple discussion

How to act in front of a couple discussion

"I've been trying to explain for many years that there are attitudes towards life and ways of behaving that I do not like and that make me suffer. I'm tired, it does not seem to know and it does...

Die Bildschirme und ihre Bremswirkung auf die Entwicklung des Gehirns von Kindern

Es gibt einen Bereich in unserem Gehirn, der präfrontale KortexDies ist derjenige, der für die Aufmerksamkeit, die Konzentration, den Willen und die Kontrolle der Impulse zuständig ist. Es ist das, was uns von den Tieren unterscheidet, unsere überlegene Kapazität und die sich im Gehirn befindet.

Unser Wunsch als Eltern ist es, dass unsere Kinder diesen Bereich des Gehirns sehr entwickelt haben, ihre Impulse kontrollieren, sich gut benehmen, nicht schlagen, nicht ohne Kontrolle essen, im Wartezimmer des Arztes sitzen, ohne sich überall zu bewegen. Das hängt vom präfrontalen Kortex ab.

Wenn ein Baby geboren wird, hat es das gesamte Gehirn geschmeidig, es ist unreif. Und im Laufe der Monate, im Laufe der Jahre, beginnen die Windungen und das Gehirn beginnt zu reifen.


Was erregt die Aufmerksamkeit eines Babys? Drei Dinge: Licht, Klang und Bewegung. Wenn ein Baby geboren ist, hat es keine Fähigkeit, auf irgendetwas zu achten, es sei denn, Sie hören plötzlich ein Geräusch oder sehen ein Licht. Diese Reize erregen Ihre Aufmerksamkeit.

Was passiert, wenn wir den Bildschirm in das Leben eines Kindes einführen?

Was ist der Bildschirm? Licht, Klang und Bewegung. Was produzieren die Bildschirme im Gehirn? Dass die Entwicklung in diesem Bereich des Gehirns in seinen Bahnen gestoppt ist. Unreife tritt auf und dieser Teil des Gehirns des Kindes entwickelt sich nicht.

Deshalb haben wir heute Zehnjährige Kinder mit einem unreifen präfrontalen KortexIn Spanien und in der ersten Welt haben wir 10% der Kinder wegen Aufmerksamkeitsproblemen und Impulsivität behandelt, wenn die Daten in der Psychiatrie lauten, dass ADHS zwischen 3% und 4% der Kinderpopulation betrifft.


Wir sprechen davon, dass mehr als doppelt so viele Kinder mit diesem Problem behandelt werden, weil sich der präfrontale Kortex nicht richtig entwickelt hat. Der präfrontale Kortex empfängt Reize und beruhigt sich nur, wenn er eine Frontscheibe hat.

Wie Bildschirmsucht funktioniert

Ein weiteres Problem, das sich mit zunehmendem Alter, insbesondere zwischen zehn, zwölf und vierzehn Jahren, ergibt, besteht darin, dass soziale Netzwerke entstehen. Lassen Sie uns ein bisschen verstehen, wie das Gehirn funktioniert: Wenn eine Person Kokain, Heroin, Alkohol, Pornografie verwendet, Sex hat, Schokolade isst, einkaufen geht ... ist das Vergnügen, denn all das erzeugt Vergnügen. Diese Freude wird hauptsächlich durch geregelt das Hormon des Dopamins hat eine hohe angenehme Kraft, aber eine hohe Suchtkraft. Was macht Dopamin? Denken Sie an eine Sucht, Sie denken, Sie wollen ein Medikament, dann aktiviert das Gehirn, beginnt Dopamin zu bilden, hat zum Zeitpunkt des Konsums einen Höhepunkt und dann einen starken Einbruch, das Abstinenz-Syndrom. Was passiert Dass das Gehirn nach mehr verlangt und dort Süchte beginnen.


Was entdeckten die Programmierer im Silicon Valley, als sie die ersten sozialen Netzwerke gründeten? Das jedes Like, das jedes Video, waren Microchispazos von Dopamin. Und dann erkannten sie, dass sie die Aufmerksamkeit der Menschen erregen würden, und sie erstellten Programme, Anwendungen, die dazu führen, dass sie Süchtige auf dem Bildschirm erzeugen.

Und das ist ein Gedanke, kein Zufall. Jedes Jahr werden Millionen ausgegeben, um Wissenschaftler zu fragen, wie sie auf sich aufmerksam machen können. Was die Welt bewegt, ist nicht mehr Öl, es ist nicht einmal Geld, es ist Aufmerksamkeit. Wer hat mehr Zeit für eine Person in Ihrer Bewerbung, auf Ihrer Website, in Ihrem Netzwerk ... diese Person ist erfolgreich und diese Person verdient Geld.

Daher Die Unternehmen von heute konzentrieren sich auf Aufmerksamkeit Entweder durch Pornografie, soziale Netzwerke oder Bilder. Niemand kann in ein soziales Netzwerk, beispielsweise auf Instagram, einsteigen, um sich eine 10-Sekunden-Sache anzusehen, denn alles ist dafür gemacht, dass wir süchtig werden. Was passiert Da dies alles eine sehr starke Oberflächenzufriedenheit erzeugt, ist es sehr schwierig, sich davon zu trennen.

Soziale Netzwerke, die Zuflucht junger Menschen

Die Adoleszenz ist eine Zeit der Veränderung, in der jeder sein Leben erhöht und sagt "wer bin ich" und "was wird aus mir", und "ich fühle mich einsam", "mein Körper verändert sich" ... Das Gehirn schaut ein Fluchtweg, und das ist immer passiert und es ist uns allen passiert, in einigen ist es Alkohol, in anderen Lesen und in anderen Sportarten, aber das Gehirn hinterlässt das, was gerettet wurde. Jedes Mal, wenn mein Körper, mein Verstand, mein Verhalten sich in einer Krise befindet, wird das Gedächtnis Sie daran erinnern.

Deshalb isolieren sich junge Menschen heute in solchen Momenten des Verfalls in sozialen Netzwerken. Wenn etwas für sie nicht funktioniert, geht ihr Gehirn zu allem, was mit dem Bildschirm zu tun hat. Junge Menschen verbinden sich besser mit einem Bildschirm und bringen ihre Emotionen mit einem Emoticon besser zum Ausdruck als mit einer Person, die Sie in sich hat.Der Beweis dafür ist, dass wir Netzwerksucht mit denselben Medikamenten behandeln wie Kokainabhängigkeit, weil sie denselben Kreislauf durchläuft, nur dass die Dosen unterschiedlich sind.

Marián Rojas-Estapé. Psychiater und Autor des Buches Wie können gute Dinge mit Ihnen geschehen?

Video: Günstige Monitore fürs Gaming und ihre Unterschiede - 27 Zoll Samsung S27E330H VS HKC C7000 Curved


Interessante Artikel

68% sind bessere Fahrer, wenn sie mit Kindern reisen

68% sind bessere Fahrer, wenn sie mit Kindern reisen

Bist du ein verantwortlicher Vater oder eine Mutter am Steuer? Die Vaterschaft erhöht unser Verantwortungsbewusstsein und macht uns in vielen Fällen sogar vorsichtiger, auch wenn wir mit unseren...

Woche 6. Woche für Woche

Woche 6. Woche für Woche

Sie sind seit anderthalb Monaten schwanger. In der sechsten Schwangerschaftswoche nehmen die Veränderungen in Ihrem Körper weiter zu und Sie werden sie nach und nach stärker wahrnehmen. Sie befinden...