Put him to sleep on his back

One of the worst experiences that can be experienced is to approach the cradle of our baby and discover that, without apparent cause, has died. Although each year between 370 and 550 deaths occur in Spain due to sudden death (of every 1,000 babies between 1 and 1.5 perish for this reason), this tragedy can be prevented and avoided in many cases, following simple recommendations from pediatricians.

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) is the sudden and unexplained death of a child under one year of age, while asleep. And, although only the possibility of this happening to us is terrifying, in Spain the syndrome is the main cause of mortality in babies up to eleven months, so it is necessary that, without obsessing, we know the risk factors and methods of prevention.


According to pediatricians, the respiratory arrest that causes sudden death is caused by the immaturity of the nervous system and the control of the cardiorespiratory function of the baby: if the baby presents symptoms of choking or suffers from an apnea (more or less prolonged suspension of breathing during the dream), will not be able to activate reaction mechanisms. But nevertheless, The ultimate cause of SIDS is unknown, so, for the moment, it is impossible to prevent deaths from occurring for this reason.

Laying babies on their backs is a measure of prevention

It has been proven that in countries where awareness and information campaigns have been carried out on sudden infant death, measures such as putting children on their backs have reduced the incidence of the syndrome to 53%.


At least, the studies that have been conducted on this subject have allowed us to establish a series of factors related to the syndrome that can allow us to focus a bit on how to control this problem. For example, it is known that Maximum incidence of cases occurs from 2 to 4 months, that boys are more likely to suffer SIDS than girls, and that the syndrome is more frequent in the cold months.

Likewise, the risk increases if gastrointestinal symptoms occur in the previous week, if there is a history of a brother who died from this cause or if the baby is fed artificial milk. Also maternal factors, such as age of the mother, or environmental, such as smoking in the environment or too high an environmental temperature, they influence this serious problem.


Support in difficult times

Sometimes, and especially if preventive measures are not taken, the tragedy comes to pass and some babies die due to sudden death syndrome. In this case, it is necessary to resort to the support of professionals and people who have already gone through this difficult experience, such as the members of the Association for the Prevention of Sudden Infant Death in Madrid (APMSLM).

The association, chaired by Palmira Videgas, has 31 official members, belonging to some ten families that have already gone through this trance. Since its foundation in 1999, the APMSLM has promoted the awareness of society regarding sudden death through information campaigns directed to parents, nurseries, gynecologists, nurses, midwives and social workers.

However, Palmira Videgas laments the lack of interest of many of these professionals towards this problem. Although it does highlight the high degree of receptivity of the nurseries, Videgas assures that sudden death syndrome is "a taboo subject for society, it seems that one does not want to hear about it".

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: My baby rolls onto his tummy and cries. I put him on his back and he cries. What can I do?


Interesting Articles

Electronic books for children, at what age?

Electronic books for children, at what age?

Technological advances are influencing and even changing the way new generations read. Paper books are no longer the only access to information and literature. Today there is e-books, computers and...

How the LOMCE affects teachers

How the LOMCE affects teachers

With the recently released LOMCE Education Law -for the time being applied in the 1st, 3rd and 5th years of Primary Education and Basic Education-, there are many changes in the educational landscape...

10 false myths about sport

10 false myths about sport

Repeatedly health experts advise Do sport from the first ages of life. The benefits of physical activity are very numerous for our health, but nevertheless the exercise is sometimes subject to false...

5 steps to raise a good child, according to Harvard

5 steps to raise a good child, according to Harvard

If your child is outstanding, or if he is a top scorer in your school's soccer league, it is likely that there will be a good celebration at home afterwards. But, when do you do something good for...

Lass ihn auf dem Rücken schlafen

Eine der schlimmsten Erfahrungen, die man machen kann, ist, sich der Wiege unseres Babys zu nähern und zu entdecken, dass ohne ersichtlichen Grund gestorben ist. Obwohl in Spanien jedes Jahr zwischen 370 und 550 Todesfälle aufgrund eines plötzlichen Todes auftreten (von 1.000 Säuglingen zwischen 1 und 1,5 sterben aus diesem Grund), kann diese Tragödie in vielen Fällen nach einfachen Empfehlungen von Kinderärzten verhindert und vermieden werden.

Das plötzliche Kindstod (SIDS) ist der plötzliche und unerklärliche Tod eines Kindes unter einem Jahr, während es schläft. Und obwohl nur die Möglichkeit, dass uns dies passiert, in Spanien fürchterlich ist das Syndrom ist die Haupttodesursache bei Säuglingen bis zu elf Monaten, Daher ist es notwendig, dass wir die Risikofaktoren und -methoden der Prävention kennen, ohne zu besessen zu sein.


Nach Ansicht der Kinderärzte ist der Atemstillstand, der zu einem plötzlichen Tod führt, auf die Unreife des Nervensystems und die Kontrolle der kardiorespiratorischen Funktion des Babys zurückzuführen: Wenn das Baby Symptome eines Erstickens zeigt oder an einer Apnoe leidet (mehr oder weniger lang anhaltender Atemstillstand während des der Traum) wird keine Reaktionsmechanismen aktivieren können. Jedoch Die ultimative Ursache von SIDS ist unbekanntDaher ist es momentan unmöglich, Todesfälle aus diesem Grund zu verhindern.

Babys auf den Rücken zu legen ist eine Maßnahme zur Vorbeugung

Es ist erwiesen, dass in Ländern, in denen Sensibilisierungs- und Informationskampagnen zum plötzlichen Kindstod durchgeführt wurden, Maßnahmen wie das Setzen von Kindern auf den Rücken die Inzidenz des Syndroms auf 53% reduziert haben.


Zumindest haben die Studien, die zu diesem Thema durchgeführt wurden, eine Reihe von Faktoren in Bezug auf das Syndrom ermöglicht, die es uns ermöglichen, sich ein wenig auf die Steuerung dieses Problems zu konzentrieren. Zum Beispiel ist das bekannt Die maximale Inzidenz der Fälle liegt zwischen 2 und 4 Monaten. dass Jungen häufiger unter SIDS leiden als Mädchen, und das Das Syndrom tritt in den kalten Monaten häufiger auf.

Ebenso Das Risiko steigt, wenn in der Vorwoche gastrointestinale Symptome auftreten, wenn in der Vergangenheit ein Bruder gestorben ist, der an dieser Ursache gestorben ist, oder wenn das Kind künstliche Milch erhält. Auch mütterliche Faktoren, wie z Alter der Mutteroder Umwelt, wie z rauchen In der Umwelt oder bei zu hoher Umgebungstemperatur beeinflussen sie dieses ernste Problem.


Unterstützung in schwierigen Zeiten

Manchmal und vor allem, wenn keine vorbeugenden Maßnahmen ergriffen werden, tritt die Tragödie ein und einige Babys sterben an einem plötzlichen Todessyndrom. In diesem Fall muss auf die Unterstützung von Fachleuten und Personen zurückgegriffen werden, die diese schwierige Erfahrung bereits durchlaufen haben, wie z. B. die Mitglieder der Vereinigung zur Verhütung des plötzlichen Kindstodes in Madrid (APMSLM).

Die Vereinigung unter dem Vorsitz von Palmira Videgas hat 31 offizielle Mitglieder, die ungefähr zehn Familien angehören, die diese Trance bereits durchlaufen haben. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1999 hat die APMSLM das Bewusstsein der Gesellschaft für plötzlichen Tod gefördert Informationskampagnen gerichtet an Eltern, Kindergärten, Gynäkologen, Krankenschwestern, Hebammen und Sozialarbeiter.

Palmira Videgas beklagt jedoch das mangelnde Interesse vieler dieser Fachleute an diesem Problem. Obwohl es die hohe Empfänglichkeit der Kindertagesstätten unterstreicht, versichert Videgas, dass das plötzliche Todessyndrom "ein Tabusubjekt für die Gesellschaft ist, es scheint, dass man davon nichts wissen will".

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Wie verliert man Bauchfett in nur einer Nacht


Interessante Artikel