The true risk of processed foods for children

The current rhythm of life has changed so much the customs in families, that due to lack of time, it is no longer cooked as often as before and it is very practical to buy elaborated food. These processed foods They contain a large number of substances to ensure their conservation or enhance their flavor, which are not exactly good for health and which pose a real risk to children.

To differentiate those foods that should be taken only occasionally from those that we can consume daily, we should pay attention to their level of processing. The latter are usually natural and contain elements that were already present in their original format: proteins, carbohydrates, fats, vitamins, minerals and fiber. In this group are fruits, vegetables, lean meats (without fat), fish and seafood, whole grains, legumes and nuts.


On the contrary, the foods that enter the occasional category are those that have been processed by mechanical or chemical means to modify the state of the natural ingredients with which they have been made. It modifies the flavor, the texture, the color, the aroma or even the nutritional content.

To achieve this, they are added fats, salts or sugar as well as other components to make it more stable and durable. Among these products are the so-called fast food, cookies, pastries, sweets, soft drinks, frozen and partially prepared precooked dishes of the "warm and ready" type.

Advantages of avoiding processed foods


There are many studies that show that some foods with high caloric content, if eaten too often, can have a negative impact on health.

These data, taken from some recent studies, will help you decide what is best for your family:

1. Babies who take a smaller amount of processed foods and more fruits and vegetables are less likely to develop food allergies.

2. Children who take lower amounts of processed foods and who follow a healthy diet during the first 2 years of life are more likely to have an IQ (high IQ) at the age of 8 than those who follow a less healthy diet. Specifically, it is observed that the IQ at that age is up to 2 points higher than that of those who follow a diet with a high proportion of junk food.


3. The risk of hypertension among children and adolescents has increased by 27% in the last 15 years, and is directly associated with excessive salt consumption. If hypertension is not adequately stopped, the child is at risk of suffering a stroke, heart disease or kidney failure at an early age. Eating fast food three times a week or more is associated with an increased risk of developing severe asthma and eczema in children.

Ideas to choose the perfect diet for our children

1. Babies and small children (0-3 years). Good nutrition during the first years of life positively influences cognitive development. If possible, feed your baby exclusively with breast milk for the first 6 months. Also, a greater consumption of natural foods and a lower consumption of processed foods can reduce the risk of allergies.

2. Young children (3-5 years). In this stage the children begin to know the world around them, so we should give them a wide variety of healthy foods so that they can build a varied and balanced diet. Limiting the presence of processed foods may reduce the risk of developing allergies, while helping to maximize your IQ.

3. Children and adolescents (5-19 years). At these ages it is important to offer healthy foods that help reduce the possible development of heart disease, as well as control their weight to a greater extent. Homemade meals are a great alternative in the control of calories and the intake of unhealthy fats. It is best to book meals away from home for special events.

Processed foods are part of our life: we take it for convenience, to save time, because we like it a lot or for logistical reasons. However, having the right information can help us as parents to decide where the balance is.

Deanna Marie Mason. Expert in education and family health. Author of the blog Dr. Deanna Marie Mason. Proactive fatherhood Professional support for the modern family. He has just released his second book: How to educate teenagers with values.

Video: 18 Harmful Foods We Keep Giving to Children


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Das wahre Risiko von verarbeiteten Lebensmitteln für Kinder

Der gegenwärtige Lebensrhythmus hat die Sitten in Familien so sehr verändert, dass er aus Zeitmangel nicht mehr so ​​oft gekocht wird wie bisher und es sehr praktisch ist, raffinierte Lebensmittel zu kaufen. Diese verarbeitete Nahrungsmittel Sie enthalten eine große Anzahl von Substanzen, um deren Konservierung oder Geschmack zu gewährleisten, die nicht gerade gesundheitsfördernd sind und ein wirkliches Risiko für Kinder darstellen.

Um die Lebensmittel, die nur gelegentlich eingenommen werden sollten, von denen zu unterscheiden, die wir täglich verzehren können, sollten wir auf ihren Verarbeitungsgrad achten. Letztere sind normalerweise natürlich und enthalten Elemente, die bereits in ihrem ursprünglichen Format vorhanden waren: Proteine, Kohlenhydrate, Fette, Vitamine, Mineralstoffe und Ballaststoffe. In dieser Gruppe befinden sich Obst, Gemüse, mageres Fleisch (ohne Fett), Fisch und Meeresfrüchte, Vollkornprodukte, Hülsenfrüchte und Nüsse.


Im Gegenteil, die Lebensmittel, die in die gelegentliche Kategorie sind solche, die auf mechanische oder chemische Weise verarbeitet wurden, um den Zustand der natürlichen Inhaltsstoffe zu verändern, mit denen sie hergestellt wurden. Es verändert den Geschmack, die Textur, die Farbe, das Aroma oder sogar den Nährstoffgehalt.

Um dies zu erreichen, werden ihnen Fette, Salze oder Zucker sowie andere Komponenten zugesetzt, um sie stabiler und haltbarer zu machen. Zu diesen Produkten zählen das sogenannte Fast Food, Kekse, Gebäck, Süßigkeiten, Erfrischungsgetränke, tiefgefrorene und teilweise zubereitete vorgekochte Speisen vom Typ "warm und fertig".

Vorteile der Vermeidung von verarbeiteten Lebensmitteln


Es gibt viele Studien, die zeigen, dass einige Lebensmittel mit hohem Kaloriengehalt, wenn sie zu oft verzehrt werden, einen negativen Einfluss auf die Gesundheit haben können.

Diese Daten aus einigen aktuellen Studien helfen Ihnen zu entscheiden, was für Ihre Familie am besten ist:

1. Babys, die eine kleinere Menge verarbeiteter Lebensmittel einnehmen und mehr Obst und Gemüse entwickeln seltener Nahrungsmittelallergien.

2. Kinder, die geringere Mengen verarbeiteter Lebensmittel zu sich nehmen und wer sich in den ersten zwei Lebensjahren einer gesunden Ernährung anschließt, hat im Alter von 8 Jahren eher einen IQ (hohen IQ) als diejenigen, die eine weniger gesunde Diät einhalten. Insbesondere wird beobachtet, dass der IQ in diesem Alter um bis zu 2 Punkte höher ist als derjenige, der einer Diät mit einem hohen Junk-Food-Anteil folgt.


3. Das Risiko von Bluthochdruck bei Kindern Jugendliche haben in den letzten 15 Jahren um 27% zugenommen und stehen in direktem Zusammenhang mit einem übermäßigen Salzkonsum. Wenn der Bluthochdruck nicht ausreichend gestoppt wird, besteht das Risiko, dass das Kind in einem frühen Alter einen Schlaganfall, eine Herzerkrankung oder ein Nierenversagen erleidet. Das Essen von Fast Food dreimal pro Woche oder mehr ist mit einem erhöhten Risiko für schweres Asthma und Ekzem bei Kindern verbunden.

Ideen, um die perfekte Ernährung für unsere Kinder zu wählen

1. Babys und Kleinkinder (0-3 Jahre). Eine gute Ernährung in den ersten Lebensjahren beeinflusst die kognitive Entwicklung positiv. Wenn möglich, füttern Sie Ihr Baby in den ersten 6 Monaten ausschließlich mit Muttermilch. Auch ein höherer Verbrauch an natürlichen Lebensmitteln und ein geringerer Verbrauch an verarbeiteten Lebensmitteln können das Allergierisiko verringern.

2. Kleine Kinder (3-5 Jahre). In dieser Phase lernen die Kinder die Welt um sich herum kennen. Deshalb sollten wir ihnen eine große Auswahl an gesunden Lebensmitteln geben, damit sie eine abwechslungsreiche und ausgewogene Ernährung aufbauen können. Die Begrenzung der Anwesenheit von verarbeiteten Lebensmitteln kann das Risiko von Allergien verringern und gleichzeitig den IQ maximieren.

3. Kinder und Jugendliche (5-19 Jahre). In diesem Alter ist es wichtig, gesunde Lebensmittel anzubieten, die dazu beitragen, die Entstehung von Herzkrankheiten zu reduzieren und deren Gewicht stärker zu kontrollieren. Hausgemachte Mahlzeiten sind eine großartige Alternative bei der Kontrolle von Kalorien und der Aufnahme von ungesunden Fetten. Für besondere Anlässe empfiehlt es sich, Mahlzeiten außerhalb der Heimat zu buchen.

Verarbeitete Lebensmittel sind Teil unseres Lebens: Wir nehmen es der Bequemlichkeit halber, um Zeit zu sparen, weil wir es sehr mögen oder aus logistischen Gründen. Die richtigen Informationen zu haben, kann uns als Eltern jedoch bei der Entscheidung helfen, wo das Gleichgewicht ist.

Deanna Marie Mason. Experte für Bildung und Familiengesundheit. Autor des Blogs Dr. Deanna Marie Mason. Proaktive Vaterschaft Professionelle Unterstützung für die moderne Familie. Er hat gerade sein zweites Buch veröffentlicht: Wie man Jugendliche mit Werten erziehen kann.

Video: VEGAN 2018 - The Film


Interessante Artikel