3 risks of digital multitasking for children

It is not uncommon to find our children doing their homework on their laptop, while they watch a series on the Tablet and check their social networks. The multitask and the use of digital tools is already common among younger children and adolescents. However, how does this affect your academic performance and the way your brains act?

In his book Hyperconnected and happy teenagers, its author, Antonio Milán, analyzes some of the effects of technology on the brains of children and young people and on their academic performance. On the one hand, it is undeniable that it has brought numerous benefits such as instant communication, unlimited access to information, the simplification of tasks, the possibility of knowing unsuspected places ... However, are all benefits?


The use of new technologies in the classroom and when doing homework is becoming commonplace, and one of the most outstanding features of digital tools is multitasking. However, so many technological advances can have great influence on the functioning of our children's brain and, therefore, on their academic performance.

Moderation is the key to avoiding the risks of multitasking

According to the latest PISA 2015 report, it is affirmed that both the lack of knowledge and the abusive use of the internet can harm the academic performance of adolescents. This means that those young people who use new technologies in their day to day in a moderate way usually get, in general, better grades than those who do not use or abuse these digital tools.


This study also states that students who are familiar with activities such as reading email, chatting, reading online news, and researching encyclopedias on the Internet have greater reading skills with printed texts.

Regarding the use of social networks, there are no conclusive data, but its massive use can lead to a worse academic performance. Most young people of school age with more than one profile in a social network recognize that these activities reduce time for study.

Risks of digital multitasking for children

Although the multitasking to which adolescents are accustomed seems, in principle, positive, reality is different. The brain is an organ with limited capabilities that is extremely sensitive to interference. By mixing several tasks that require our attention at the same time, errors are inevitable.


1. Fatigue The extent to which a child's brain can withstand multitasking over time and what effects this can have on the long term is not known. But there is no doubt that dealing with numerous stimuli at the same time produces fatigue, which does not allow young people to truly take advantage of the activities they perform.

2. Distraction. The neurologist and neuroscientist Facundo Manes says that "there is scientific evidence that people who work in multitasking modality disperse more when they go from one activity to another.These people tend to 'stick around' to irrelevant stimuli and get distracted easily."

3. Overvalue capabilities. Many times we believe that we are capable of doing several things at the same time with the same level of concentration, but this is not true. Our concentration is lower in each element which does not allow addressing more complicated or abstract issues or challenges.

Isabel López Vasquez

Video: Multitasking.wmv


Interesting Articles

Say NO to teenagers: how to handle their provocations

Say NO to teenagers: how to handle their provocations

Say no It is one of the great skills we have to teach our children, especially because it is difficult and necessary. Just remember some stiuaciones in which in the end we have not dared. However,...

Allergies in schools, decalogue of action

Allergies in schools, decalogue of action

The return to school unleashes the concern of parents about the issue of attention to allergic children in schools. According to data from the Spanish Society of Clinical Immunology, Allergology and...

A good diet helps prevent heart failure

A good diet helps prevent heart failure

Photo: ISTOCK Enlarge photoThere are many reasons for eat well everyday. But if the importance of maintaining a balanced diet has not yet been clear, each day groups of researchers focus their work...

3 Risiken des digitalen Multitaskings für Kinder

Es ist nicht ungewöhnlich, dass unsere Kinder ihre Hausaufgaben auf ihrem Laptop erledigen, während sie sich eine Serie auf dem Tablet ansehen und ihre sozialen Netzwerke überprüfen. Die Multitasking und der Einsatz digitaler Werkzeuge ist bei jüngeren Kindern und Jugendlichen bereits üblich. Wie beeinflusst dies jedoch Ihre akademische Leistung und die Art und Weise, wie sich Ihr Gehirn verhält?

In seinem Buch Hyperverbundene und glückliche Teenager, Sein Autor Antonio Milán analysiert einige Auswirkungen der Technologie auf das Gehirn von Kindern und Jugendlichen und auf ihre akademischen Leistungen. Einerseits ist es unbestreitbar, dass es zahlreiche Vorteile gebracht hat, wie z. B. sofortige Kommunikation, uneingeschränkter Zugriff auf Informationen, Vereinfachung von Aufgaben, die Möglichkeit, unerwartete Orte zu kennen.


Der Einsatz neuer Technologien im Unterricht und bei Hausaufgaben wird alltäglich, und eines der herausragenden Merkmale digitaler Werkzeuge ist das Multitasking. So viele technologische Fortschritte können jedoch einen großen Einfluss auf die Funktionsweise des Gehirns unserer Kinder und damit auf ihre akademischen Leistungen haben.

Moderation ist der Schlüssel zur Vermeidung von Multitasking-Risiken

Dem jüngsten PISA-Bericht 2015 zufolge wird bekräftigt, dass sowohl das mangelnde Wissen als auch die missbräuchliche Nutzung des Internets die akademischen Leistungen von Jugendlichen beeinträchtigen können. Das bedeutet, dass junge Menschen, die täglich neue Technologien auf moderate Art und Weise einsetzen, in der Regel bessere Noten erhalten als diejenigen, die diese digitalen Tools nicht verwenden oder missbrauchen.


Diese Studie besagt auch, dass Schüler, die mit Aktivitäten wie Lesen von E-Mails, Chatten, Lesen von Online-Nachrichten und Erforschung von Enzyklopädien im Internet vertraut sind, mit gedruckten Texten über größere Lesefähigkeiten verfügen.

Bezüglich der Nutzung sozialer Netzwerke gibt es keine schlüssigen Daten, die massive Nutzung kann jedoch zu einer Verschlechterung der akademischen Leistung führen. Die meisten jungen Menschen im schulpflichtigen Alter mit mehr als einem Profil in einem sozialen Netzwerk erkennen an, dass diese Aktivitäten die Zeit für das Lernen verkürzen.

Risiken des digitalen Multitaskings für Kinder

Obwohl das Multitasking, an das Jugendliche gewöhnt sind, grundsätzlich positiv erscheint, ist die Realität anders. Das Gehirn ist ein Organ mit begrenzten Fähigkeiten, das extrem störanfällig ist. Durch das Mischen mehrerer Aufgaben, die unsere Aufmerksamkeit gleichzeitig erfordern, sind Fehler unvermeidlich.


1. Müdigkeit Inwieweit das Gehirn eines Kindes im Laufe der Zeit dem Multitasking standhalten kann und welche Auswirkungen dies auf lange Sicht haben kann, ist nicht bekannt. Es besteht jedoch kein Zweifel, dass der gleichzeitige Umgang mit zahlreichen Reizen Müdigkeit hervorruft, was es jungen Menschen nicht erlaubt, die von ihnen ausgeübten Aktivitäten wirklich zu nutzen.

2. Ablenkung. Der Neurologe und Neurowissenschaftler Facundo Manes sagt, "es gibt wissenschaftliche Beweise dafür, dass Menschen, die in Multitasking-Modalität arbeiten, sich immer mehr zerstreuen, wenn sie von einer Aktivität zur anderen gehen.

3. Überschätzen Sie die Fähigkeiten. Oft glauben wir, dass wir in der Lage sind, mehrere Dinge gleichzeitig mit derselben Konzentration zu tun, aber das stimmt nicht. Unsere Konzentration ist bei jedem Element geringer, was es nicht erlaubt, kompliziertere oder abstraktere Probleme oder Herausforderungen anzusprechen.

Isabel López Vasquez

Video: Ständig vor der Glotze: Screenager


Interessante Artikel

Was sollte mein früherer Sohn wissen?

Was sollte mein früherer Sohn wissen?

Wenn sie älter werden, müssen unsere Kinder zu Hause neue Aufgaben übernehmen. Um 9 oder 10 Jahre alt, sind dies einige der tägliche Aufgaben das sollten sie für sich selbst tun können.8 Fähigkeiten,...