Why it's more rewarding how easy it is for children (and do not try hard)

What's going on? Traditionally, the second childhood has been a period of illusions, a moment of happiness, when the child discovers himself (self-concept) and realizes how many things he is capable of doing, thinking and feeling for himself (self-esteem). If you feel that the effort is worth it, you go on to complain about a job that "costs them" and the "easy" seems much more rewarding.

It is eight o'clock in the afternoon. Alberto, 10, arrives home after a "strenuous" day at school, in swimming and in English. The professor has called his attention several times and to top it all, he asked him to go to the blackboard just when it was time to solve the problem that he did not understand. He has left the school enraged, just wanted to get home, lock himself in his room and never return to school.


But when he arrived, he found that his mother had already returned. She has started to explain her problem but while she was checking the mail she told him to go to her room soon, if she wants to play with the video game console or watch television and then start doing homework.

In fact, Alberto has gone to his room, thinking it was a disaster, he has turned on the video game console and of course he has spent the rest of the afternoon playing; At least here he wins, and if not with restarting the game, the matter is fixed and also no one will scold him.

Two types of children in relation to the effort

According to a joint study of the universities of Chicago and Stanford, led by psychologist Carol Dweck, exist two types of children based on their attitude to the effort. The first type, belong those children who think that the success of their achievements depends directly on their skills, intelligence and talent, and the second, those who know that there is no success without work, effort and perseverance.


This is the reason why for some children it is more rewarding how easy, specifically, especially for the first group. So children who think that their achievements of their abilities when something does not go well with the first or the second, usually let it run. While those children who do not give up until they do well, they will try again and again until they get it.

However, the study goes further analyzing the state of mind of each of the groups of children. The group of children who think that success depends on their innate intelligence or their talent was more elusive to accept challenges because they thought they were not going to achieve them. These children also showed a low tolerance for frustration, not fitting their mistakes well.

In contrast, the group of children who know that their success depends on work and effort were more optimistic when accepting new challenges. Their constancy and perseverance make them see the apprenticeship as an endless road.


Lack of illusion and childish pessimism

Both in the classrooms and in the consultations, it is possible to find sad, disillusioned, "unmotivated" children, who from the age of seven say phrases like these: "Why am I going to try it? This is very bad for me "," I do not serve at all "" often roll, this is very tired "...

The tendency of some children to pessimism, low self-esteem, little eagerness to overcome, low tolerance to frustration, lack of social skills, are often motivated by several factors:

1. Pessimism can have a physical origin: poor diet, lack of sleep, sensory deficiencies, diseases are important reasons for pessimism. There may also be some psychological factors that lead the child to this state (certain character traits, imbalances or psychological changes ...).

2. Pessimism can have a social origin: The current hedonistic culture that only values ​​immediate pleasure, materialism, individualism, incessant competitiveness can mark a personality that has yet to be developed. Likewise, the affective deficiencies in the home can come to make a deep dent in the character of a boy of this age.

3. Pessimism may have a family origin: more specifically in the educational style of parents, in the rhythm of life that we impose on children from a very young age (excess of activities, of very high expectations, little time in the open air, solitude ...) It seems that sometimes, Parents lose sight of the fact that the goal of our children's education should be to help them be happy people. But true happiness is the one that does not depend on external things or events, but the one that is inside us and helps us to interpret that reality in terms of optimism and illusion.

In search of children's happiness

Motivating and encouraging the illusion in children is fundamental to cultivate in them the culture of effort. Precisely, the ideal age to do it is to start from the second childhood, that is, between 6 and 10 years.With enthusiasm and strong self-esteem children are able to strive to achieve what they want and at the same time set new goals and objectives without sparing work.

And to assess that the effort is worthwhile, children should be happy and should not fall into pessimism, discouragement or laziness. To make children happy, parents need to reflect on the educational style we are printing on our family. The most usual thing is that parents are permissive. However, in the words of Professor Aquilino Polaino: "The permissive style in education has already given of itself everything that had in it and its fruits have been bitter." We must "return" to a style that does not confuse permissiveness, letting do and comfort With love or with freedom, child happiness requires the safety of the child, and this security supposes a style of their own in education, a style that goes through balanced and appropriate employment according to the child's age and personality, discipline and freedom and for the measureless expression of love, of a human love that is, half necessary rigidity and half infantile tenderness ".

Marisol Nuevo Espín

It may interest you:

- The value of effort in early childhood education

- Consequences of the praise of effort in children

- 30 ideas of commissions for your children

- Educate in the culture of effort

Video: Work Hard In Silence, Let Success Make The Noise - Study Motivation


Interesting Articles

5 tricks for a perfect snack

5 tricks for a perfect snack

There is a misconception about the need to distribute the meals in five takes to guarantee energy for the whole day. However, this distribution has other benefits, such as avoiding chopping between...

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

The Postpartum girdles are, like the 'normal' strips, products that They serve to stylize the figure of women, in this case after the changes produced in your belly after delivery. Beyond the pros...

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

Most young people would like to have a magical recipe or a crystal ball to ver the future and be able to decide what career to study after finishing Baccalaureate. And we would like to provide it to...

Why you should not use baby walker

Why you should not use baby walker

When the babies they start to walk Many parents may consider the need for cBuy a walker. That object that many will have had when they were children and that allowed children to "walk" while...

Warum es lohnender ist, wie einfach es für Kinder ist (und nicht hart versuchen)

Was ist los Traditionell war die zweite Kindheit eine Zeit der Illusionen, ein Moment des Glücks, in dem das Kind sich selbst entdeckt (Selbstverständnis) und erkennt, wie viele Dinge er für sich selbst tun, denken und fühlen kann (Selbstwertgefühl). Wenn Sie der Meinung sind, dass sich die Mühe lohnt, beschweren Sie sich über einen Job, der "sie kostet", und das "einfache" scheint viel lohnender zu sein.

Es ist acht Uhr nachmittags. Alberto, 10, kommt nach einem "anstrengenden" Schultag, beim Schwimmen und auf Englisch nach Hause. Der Professor hat seine Aufmerksamkeit mehrmals auf sich aufmerksam gemacht. Um alles zu krönen, bat er ihn, an die Tafel zu gehen, als es an der Zeit war, das Problem zu lösen, das er nicht verstand. Er hat die Schule wütend verlassen, wollte nur nach Hause, sich in seinem Zimmer einschließen und niemals in die Schule zurückkehren.


Als er ankam, stellte er fest, dass seine Mutter bereits zurückgekehrt war. Sie hat angefangen, ihr Problem zu erklären, aber während sie die Post abfragte, sagte sie ihm, sie solle bald in ihr Zimmer gehen, wenn sie mit der Videospielkonsole spielen oder fernsehen und dann Hausaufgaben machen wolle.

Tatsächlich ist Alberto in sein Zimmer gegangen und dachte, es sei eine Katastrophe, er hat die Videospielkonsole eingeschaltet und natürlich den Rest des Nachmittags damit verbracht, zu spielen; Zumindest hier gewinnt er, und wenn nicht mit dem Neustart des Spiels, ist die Angelegenheit behoben und auch niemand wird ihn schimpfen.

Zwei Arten von Kindern in Bezug auf die Anstrengung

Laut einer gemeinsamen Studie der Universitäten von Chicago und Stanford unter Leitung der Psychologin Carol Dweck, es gibt zwei Arten von Kindern aufgrund ihrer Einstellung zur Anstrengung. Der erste Typ gehört zu den Kindern, die glauben, dass der Erfolg ihrer Leistungen direkt von ihren Fähigkeiten, Intelligenz und Talent abhängt, und der zweite ist derjenige, der weiß, dass es ohne Arbeit, Anstrengung und Ausdauer keinen Erfolg gibt.


Dies ist der Grund warum Für manche Kinder ist es lohnender, wie einfachspeziell für die erste Gruppe. Kinder, die der Meinung sind, dass ihre Erfolge ihrer Fähigkeiten, wenn etwas mit dem ersten oder dem zweiten nicht übereinstimmt, dies meistens zulassen. Während die Kinder, die nicht aufgeben, bis es ihnen gut geht, werden sie es immer wieder versuchen, bis sie es bekommen.

Die Studie geht jedoch weiter auf die Analyse des Geisteszustandes der einzelnen Kindergruppen ein. Die Gruppe von Kindern, die glauben, dass der Erfolg von ihrer angeborenen Intelligenz oder ihrem Talent abhängt, war schwieriger, Herausforderungen anzunehmen, weil sie glaubten, sie würden sie nicht erreichen. Diese Kinder zeigten auch eine geringe Toleranz gegenüber Frustration und passten nicht gut zu ihren Fehlern.

Im Gegensatz dazu war die Gruppe der Kinder, die wissen, dass ihr Erfolg von Arbeit und Anstrengung abhängt, optimistischer, wenn sie neue Herausforderungen annehmen. Ihre Beständigkeit und Ausdauer lassen sie die Lehre als endlosen Weg sehen.


Fehlende Illusion und kindlicher Pessimismus

Sowohl in den Klassenräumen als auch in den Beratungen ist es möglich, traurige, desillusionierte, "unmotivierte" Kinder zu finden, die ab dem Alter von sieben Jahren Sätze wie diese sagen: "Warum werde ich es versuchen? Das ist sehr schlecht für mich "," Ich serviere gar nicht "" rollen oft, das ist sehr müde "...

Die Neigung mancher Kinder zu Pessimismus, geringes Selbstwertgefühl, wenig Überwindungsgeist, geringe Frustrationstoleranz und mangelnde soziale Fähigkeiten werden oft durch mehrere Faktoren verursacht:

1. Pessimismus kann einen physischen Ursprung haben: Schlechte Ernährung, Schlafmangel, Sensibilitätsmängel, Krankheiten stellen einen wichtigen Grund für Pessimismus dar. Einige psychologische Faktoren können das Kind in diesen Zustand versetzen (bestimmte Charaktereigenschaften, Ungleichgewichte oder psychologische Veränderungen ...).

2. Pessimismus kann einen sozialen Ursprung haben: Die gegenwärtige hedonistische Kultur, die nur unmittelbare Lust, Materialismus, Individualismus und unablässige Konkurrenzfähigkeit schätzt, kann eine Persönlichkeit kennzeichnen, die noch entwickelt werden muss. Ebenso können die affektiven Mängel in der Wohnung den Charakter eines Jungen dieses Alters stark beeinträchtigen.

3. Pessimismus kann familiären Ursprung haben: Genauer gesagt im Bildungsstil der Eltern, im Rhythmus des Lebens, den wir Kindern in sehr jungen Jahren auferlegen (zu viele Aktivitäten, sehr hohe Erwartungen, wenig Zeit unter freiem Himmel, Einsamkeit ...). Eltern verlieren die Tatsache aus den Augen, dass es das Ziel der Ausbildung unserer Kinder sein sollte, ihnen zu helfen, glückliche Menschen zu sein. Aber wahres Glück ist das, das nicht von äußeren Dingen oder Ereignissen abhängt, sondern das in uns ist und uns hilft, diese Realität in Form von Optimismus und Illusion zu interpretieren.

Auf der Suche nach dem Glück der Kinder

Die Illusion von Kindern zu motivieren und zu fördern, ist von grundlegender Bedeutung, um die Kultur der Anstrengung zu kultivieren. Das ideale Alter dafür ist es, von der zweiten Kindheit an, dh zwischen 6 und 10 Jahren, zu beginnen.Mit Begeisterung und starkem Selbstwertgefühl können Kinder danach streben, das zu erreichen, was sie wollen, und gleichzeitig neue Ziele und Ziele zu setzen, ohne Arbeit zu sparen.

Um zu beurteilen, dass sich die Anstrengung lohnt, sollten Kinder glücklich sein und nicht in Pessimismus, Entmutigung oder Faulheit verfallen. Um Kinder glücklich zu machen, müssen Eltern über den Bildungsstil unserer Familie nachdenken. Das Üblichste ist, dass Eltern freizügig sind. In den Worten von Professor Aquilino Polaino heißt es jedoch: "Der freizügige Erziehungsstil hat schon alles gegeben, was in ihm steckte, und seine Früchte waren bitter." Wir müssen zu einem Stil zurückkehren, der Freizügigkeit, Wirken und Trost nicht verwechselt Mit Liebe oder Freiheit erfordert Kinderglück die Sicherheit des Kindes, und diese Sicherheit setzt einen eigenen Stil in der Bildung voraus, einen Stil, der eine ausgewogene und angemessene Beschäftigung nach Alter, Persönlichkeit, Disziplin und Disziplin des Kindes durchmacht Freiheit und für den unermesslichen Ausdruck der Liebe, einer menschlichen Liebe, die zur Hälfte notwendige Starrheit und halb infantile Zärtlichkeit ist. "

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Der Wert der Anstrengung in der frühkindlichen Bildung

- Folgen des Lobes der Anstrengung bei Kindern

- 30 Provisionsvorschläge für Ihre Kinder

- In der Kultur der Anstrengung erziehen

Video: 2016 Lecture 01 Maps of Meaning: Introduction and Overview


Interessante Artikel

Mundgeruch Ratschläge gegen Mundgeruch

Mundgeruch Ratschläge gegen Mundgeruch

Die Mundgeruch es ist nur der unangenehme Geruch, der aus Ihrem Mund kommt, das heißt, Mundgeruch. Dies kann sowohl für diejenigen, die darunter leiden, als auch für diejenigen, die an ihrer Seite...

Fahrradtouren: Sicherheitsschlüssel

Fahrradtouren: Sicherheitsschlüssel

In einem gesunden Lebensstil und beim Gehen ist das Trainieren wichtig Fahrrad Sie sind eine gute Option, wenn sie als Familie gemacht werden. Das Fahrrad hört jedoch nicht auf, ein Fahrzeug zu sein,...

Sitze für Badewannen: Die Gefahr des Vertrauens

Sitze für Badewannen: Die Gefahr des Vertrauens

Obwohl sie a priori eine große Hilfe beim Waschen von Babys sind, Sitze für Badewannen Sie beinhalten mehr Risiken, als sie erscheinen. Es ist wahr, dass sie dem Kind helfen, sich während dieser...