How to motivate children to achieve school success

The return to school is already a fact. Students from all over the country sit at their desks to face a new school year where success in the proposed goals is the goal. For this purpose nothing better than motivation daily, give the children a reason and reasons to feel that they must fight until the last day of the course to take the cat to the water.

Understanding school success as the achievement of the objectives set at the beginning of the course and the means to achieve other goals that promote personal fulfillment and empower the autonomy, we must bear in mind that the environment in which the student develops has a great influence.


Motivation at home

From the Spanish Confederation of Associations of Parents of Students, CEAPA, the importance of the motivation to achieve success in any field. Of course, conquering the goals proposed in the study is not an exception. Getting the children to understand the need to achieve the goals and rewards that this entails is a great first step to start the course.

CEAPA defines motivation as the "set of intermediate variables that activate and move the behavior and orient it in a determined direction to achieve an objective". The objective The parents should be to awaken the interest of the children and make them understand the satisfaction of fulfilling their tasks.


You have to know how to separate the motivation from the conquest of external rewards. The achievement of these goals, in this case school success, must be enough for the child to feel well. There are many positive consequences of this fact (good grades). A better perspective of the future of work, seeing that one is able to achieve what is proposed, a better vision of oneself, etc.

These are some keys who participate in the construction of motivation:

- The expectations that parents have about them, that is, if our expectations are positive and adjusted to their abilities.

- Self-esteem and positive self-concept of themselves.

- Attention and social reinforcement.

- Awareness that their personal achievements to their own belong to their own work and not to external factors.

Encourage motivation

Once understood the functioning of motivation and its importance in academic success, we must learn to encourage it within the home. These are some of the tips that are offered from CEAPA:


- Show a positive attitude towards the educational center and the duties of the children. If the parents indicate rejection of these obligations, the children will do the same.

- Be his example. Parents must be the first to fight for their particular goals and that this reward is enough to fight for future ones.

- Expectations adequate to their abilities, with a desire to excel. Excessive expectations generate frustration and despair, lack of confidence, feeling of helplessness. And low expectations, inability, distrust, discouragement, lack of effort maintenance.

- Reinforce their achievements and, especially, their effort in carrying out a task, even if they have not achieved the proposed objective.

Damián Montero

Video: The Importance Of Motivating School Children For A Successful Future


Interesting Articles

How to get children to eat vegetables

How to get children to eat vegetables

One of the oldest battles between parents and children is one in which the former want the latter to eat vegetables. A necessary confrontation since these foods have to be very present in the diet of...

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Knowing, understanding, valuing and appreciating the different manifestations of art is an invaluable source of enjoyment and personal enrichment. For this, parents can accustom their children from...

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Years ago I wrote a book about marriage that I dedicated To my wife, that charming and eternal mystery. We had just celebrated the silver jubilee and thought I could string together some ideas that...

Wie motiviere ich Kinder zum Schulerfolg?

Die Rückkehr in die Schule ist bereits eine Tatsache. Schüler aus dem ganzen Land sitzen an ihren Schreibtischen, um sich einem neuen Schuljahr zu stellen, in dem der Erfolg der vorgeschlagenen Ziele das Ziel ist. Zu diesem Zweck nichts besser als Motivation Geben Sie den Kindern täglich einen Grund und Gründe, um das Gefühl zu haben, dass sie bis zum letzten Tag des Kurses kämpfen müssen, um die Katze zum Wasser zu bringen.

Schulerfolg als das Erreichen der zu Beginn des Kurses gesetzten Ziele und als Mittel zum Erreichen anderer förderlicher Ziele verstehen persönliche Erfüllung Um die Autonomie zu stärken, müssen wir berücksichtigen, dass die Umgebung, in der sich der Schüler entwickelt, einen großen Einfluss hat.


Motivation zu Hause

Aus der spanischen Vereinigung der Elternvereinigungen von Studenten, CEAPA, die Bedeutung der Motivation Erfolg auf jedem Gebiet erzielen. Die Erreichung der in der Studie vorgeschlagenen Ziele ist natürlich keine Ausnahme. Die Kinder dazu zu bringen, die Notwendigkeit zu verstehen, die damit verbundenen Ziele und Belohnungen zu erreichen, ist ein guter erster Schritt, um den Kurs zu beginnen.

CEAPA definiert Motivation als "Menge von Zwischenvariablen, die das Verhalten aktivieren, verschieben und in eine bestimmte Richtung ausrichten, um ein Ziel zu erreichen". Die Ziel Die Eltern sollten das Interesse der Kinder wecken und ihnen die Zufriedenheit bei der Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben vermitteln.


Man muss wissen, wie man die Motivation von der Eroberung von trennt externe Belohnungen. Das Erreichen dieser Ziele, in diesem Fall des Schulerfolgs, muss ausreichend sein, damit sich das Kind gut fühlen kann. Es gibt viele positive Konsequenzen (gute Noten). Eine bessere Perspektive für die Zukunft der Arbeit, indem man sieht, dass man das, was vorgeschlagen wird, erreichen kann, eine bessere Sicht auf sich selbst usw.

Das sind einige Schlüssel die am Aufbau der Motivation teilnehmen:

- Die Erwartungen der Eltern an sie, das heißt, wenn unsere Erwartungen positiv sind und an ihre Fähigkeiten angepasst sind.

- Selbstwertgefühl und positives Selbstverständnis.

- Aufmerksamkeit und soziale Verstärkung.

- das Bewusstsein, dass ihre persönlichen Leistungen zu ihrer eigenen Arbeit gehören und nicht zu externen Faktoren.

Motivation fördern

Wenn wir erst einmal das Funktionieren der Motivation und ihre Bedeutung für den akademischen Erfolg verstanden haben, müssen wir lernen, sie im Haushalt zu fördern. Dies sind einige der Tipps die von CEAPA angeboten werden:


- Zeigen Sie eine positive Einstellung gegenüber dem Bildungszentrum und den Pflichten der Kinder. Wenn die Eltern ablehnen, diese Verpflichtungen abzulehnen, werden die Kinder dasselbe tun.

- Sei sein Beispiel. Eltern müssen die ersten sein, die für ihre besonderen Ziele kämpfen, und dass diese Belohnung ausreicht, um für zukünftige Ziele zu kämpfen.

- Erwartungen, die ihren Fähigkeiten entsprechen, mit dem Wunsch zu übertreffen. Übermäßige Erwartungen erzeugen Frustration und Verzweiflung, mangelndes Vertrauen und Gefühl der Hilflosigkeit. Und niedrige Erwartungen, Unfähigkeit, Misstrauen, Entmutigung, mangelnde Anstrengung.

- Verstärken Sie ihre Erfolge und insbesondere ihre Anstrengungen bei der Durchführung einer Aufgabe, auch wenn sie das vorgeschlagene Ziel nicht erreicht haben.

Damián Montero

Video: Konzentration fördern - Lernen und Fördern mit Spaß! - Elternwissen.com


Interessante Artikel

Rollenspiele: eine Aktivität mit schlechtem Ruf

Rollenspiele: eine Aktivität mit schlechtem Ruf

Es gibt immer noch eine große Unkenntnis darüber, was das ist Rollenspiele und nicht wenige verbinden sie mit düsteren Welten und Todesdrohungen. Wie von der Gesellschaft zur Erforschung von...