The eyes are the mirror of the soul and now also of your health

It says popular wisdom that The eyes are the mirror of the soul, but now they can also indicate if we suffer from any disease such as diabetes, hypertension, thyroid and liver problems, and some cancers.

And is that beyond the visual diseases that affect the eyes properly, there are others that leave their traces in them. Thus, some silent diseases, those that do not produce symptoms, can be detected during periodic ophthalmological examinations. Therefore, this is one more reason to pay attention to the experts and go periodically to 'review the eyes'.

According to Dr. David Antolín, medical director of Clinilaser, "the eyes are a good window for the detection of diseases for the easy accessibility and innocuousness of the tests to which we can submit them to diagnose them ".


A signal in the eye for each disease

1. What can be seen in the retina? Diabetes, hypertension and cancer
The retina is a very powerful indicator of certain pathologies. Thus, when affected by high levels of sugar, there is probably diabetes. But it can also present hemorrhages and narrowed blood vessels when we have high blood pressure. "And although it is less frequent, we can also detect a lung carcinoma when we see the appearance of a mole or spot on the retina, and when this is the case we ask for studies that confirm the suspicion of finding a choroidal metastasis of the tumor." notes Dr. Antolin.


2. What is detected in adult strabismus? Autoimmune diseases and tumors
People who have not suffered strabismus since childhood and who suffer from this disease for the first time should be done other studies because it is often associated with certain diseases, such as Graves-Basedow disease (autoimmune disease that causes hyperthyroidism), Myasthenia Gravis or tumors of the central nervous system (first symptoms are usually eyelid drooping and double vision).

3. What does an alteration of the optic nerve tell us? Multiple sclerosis
"Demyelinating diseases such as Multiple Sclerosis can be detected by an episode of optic neuritis, it is an inflammation of the optic nerve that sometimes we can not detect them in the fundus, but the alteration of the pupils and in the vision of the colors (dyschromatopsia) ) in addition to mild blurred vision and minimal pain when moving the eyes, can help us to diagnose "indicates the expert.


4. What does a yellow color indicate in the sclera? Liver diseases
More obvious are the symptoms associated with diseases of the liver and even the gallbladder, since the jaundice produced by a high bilirubin stains the sclera yellow. "Even Wilson's disease, difficult to diagnose because of symptoms similar to other liver diseases, can be detected in almost half of those affected by the presence of a ring in the cornea, called Kayser-Fleischer," says the ophthalmologist. This hepato-lenticular degeneration, consequence of a congenital alteration of the copper metabolism, present in our diet, originates a progressive accumulation of this metal in practically all the tissues of the organism, especially in the liver, the brain, the cornea and the kidneys.

5. What is the tremor in one of the eyelids? Stress
Stress can also give the face through the eyes. The tremor in one of our eyelids (involuntary movement of Muller's muscle) or the inflammation of the eyeballs are some of the symptoms. "Even for its cause, we could get to see blurry or distorted and to lose vision in a momentary and sudden way, the reason is due to a central serous choroidopathy, caused by an inflammation of the macula. It requires ophthalmological treatment in most cases, but it warns us that the stress we suffer has reached too high levels and that we should monitor ", explains the Clinilaser expert.

6. What do the inflamed eyes hide? Renal, thyroid or bowel pathologies.
Swollen eyes can also be caused by diseases of the sinuses, thyroid, Crohn's disease, etc. "If the patient comes with a palpebral edema of both eyes or eyeballs in proptosis (protruding eyes), we also associate it with other hormonal disorders or with renal pathologies," concludes Dr. David Antolín.

Marina Berrio
Advice: Dr. David Antolín, ophthalmologist and medical director of Clinilaser

Video: What Lets You See Your Real Self: Pictures or Mirrors?


Interesting Articles

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Say no It can be complicated for many people. If you often answer yes to demands of friendships or work, even if you really know you do not want to do it, if you have a hard time saying no and you...

This develops the baby's sense of balance

This develops the baby's sense of balance

The sense of balance it provides us with a permanent orientation in the three dimensions of space. For this, he uses different structures such as the vestibular apparatus, the eyes and the cutaneous...

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

How is life in general going? An OECD study has measured the 11 dimensions of well-being today. Among its conclusions, it shows that the OECD countries follow different patterns with respect to their...

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Love in youth is of the utmost importance, since the first couple relationships build the sentimental parameters of the people, that is, if at that age a person lives a healthy love, their subsequent...

Die Augen sind der Spiegel der Seele und jetzt auch Ihrer Gesundheit

Das sagt Volksweisheit Die Augen sind der Spiegel der SeeleAber jetzt können sie auch angeben, ob wir an irgendeiner Krankheit wie Diabetes, Bluthochdruck, Schilddrüsen- und Leberproblemen und einigen Krebserkrankungen leiden.

Und ist es, dass jenseits der Sehkrankheiten, die die Augen richtig betreffen, andere ihre Spuren hinterlassen. So können einige stille Krankheiten, die keine Symptome hervorrufen, bei periodischen ophthalmologischen Untersuchungen entdeckt werden. Deshalb ist dies ein weiterer Grund, den Experten Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken und in regelmäßigen Abständen "Augenblick" zu machen.

Laut Dr. David Antolín, Ärztlicher Direktor von Clinilaser, "Die Augen sind ein gutes Fenster für die Erkennung von Krankheiten für die leichte Zugänglichkeit und die Unbedenklichkeit der Tests, denen wir sie zur Diagnose vorlegen können ".


Ein Signal im Auge für jede Krankheit

1. Was ist in der Netzhaut zu sehen? Diabetes, Bluthochdruck und Krebs
Die Netzhaut ist ein sehr starker Indikator für bestimmte Pathologien. Bei hohem Zuckergehalt besteht daher wahrscheinlich Diabetes. Bei Bluthochdruck kann es aber auch zu Blutungen und verengten Blutgefäßen kommen. "Und obwohl es weniger häufig ist, können wir auch ein Lungenkarzinom feststellen, wenn wir das Auftreten eines Flecks oder Flecks auf der Netzhaut sehen, und wenn dies der Fall ist, bitten wir um Studien, die den Verdacht auf eine choroidale Metastasierung des Tumors bestätigen." stellt fest, Dr. Antolin.


2. Was wird im Erwachsenen-Strabismus festgestellt? Autoimmunkrankheiten und Tumoren
Personen, die seit ihrer Kindheit keinen Strabismus erlitten haben und zum ersten Mal an dieser Krankheit leiden, sollten in anderen Studien untersucht werden, da sie häufig mit bestimmten Krankheiten wie der Morbus Basedow (Autoimmunerkrankung, die Hyperthyreose verursacht), Myasthenia Gravis oder Tumoren verbunden ist des Zentralnervensystems (erste Symptome sind in der Regel Augenlider hängen und Doppelsehen).

3. Was sagt uns eine Veränderung des Sehnervs aus? Multiple Sklerose
"Demyelinisierende Erkrankungen wie Multiple Sklerose können durch eine Episode der Sehnervenentzündung festgestellt werden. Es ist eine Entzündung des Sehnervs, dass wir sie manchmal nicht im Fundus erkennen können, sondern die Veränderung der Pupillen und der Farbwahrnehmung (Dyschromatopsie). ) zusätzlich zu mildem verschwommenem Sehen und minimalen Schmerzen beim Bewegen der Augen kann uns die Diagnose helfen ", so der Experte.


4. Was zeigt eine gelbe Farbe in der Sklera an? Erkrankungen der Leber
Offensichtlicher sind die Symptome, die mit Erkrankungen der Leber und sogar der Gallenblase einhergehen, da der durch einen hohen Bilirubin hervorgerufene Ikterus die Sklera gelb färbt. "Selbst die Wilson-Krankheit, die aufgrund von Symptomen, die anderen Lebererkrankungen ähneln, schwer zu diagnostizieren ist, kann bei fast der Hälfte der Betroffenen, die von einem Ring in der Hornhaut betroffen sind, namens Kayser-Fleischer, festgestellt werden", sagt der Augenarzt. Diese hepato-linsenförmige Degeneration, die auf eine angeborene Veränderung des Kupfermetabolismus in unserer Ernährung zurückzuführen ist, führt zu einer fortschreitenden Anhäufung dieses Metalls in praktisch allen Geweben des Organismus, insbesondere in der Leber, dem Gehirn, der Hornhaut und den Nieren.

5. Was ist der Tremor in einem der Augenlider? Stress
Stress kann auch das Gesicht durch die Augen geben. Der Zittern in einem unserer Augenlider (unwillkürliche Bewegung des Muller-Muskels) oder die Entzündung der Augäpfel sind einige der Symptome. "Sogar für seine Ursache könnten wir verschwommen oder verzerrt sehen und auf eine plötzliche und plötzliche Weise das Sehvermögen verlieren. Der Grund liegt in einer zentralen serösen Choroidopathie, die durch eine Entzündung der Makula verursacht wird. In den meisten Fällen ist eine ophthalmologische Behandlung erforderlich, aber es warnt uns, dass der Stress, den wir erleiden, zu hoch geworden ist und dass wir ihn überwachen sollten ", erklärt der Clinilaser-Experte.

6. Was verbergen die entzündeten Augen? Erkrankungen der Nieren, Schilddrüse oder des Darms.
Geschwollene Augen können auch durch Erkrankungen der Nebenhöhlen, Schilddrüse, Morbus Crohn usw. verursacht werden. "Wenn der Patient in Proptose (vorstehende Augen) ein Palpebralödem beider Augen oder Augäpfel hat, assoziieren wir es auch mit anderen hormonellen Störungen oder mit Nierenerkrankungen", schließt Dr. David Antolín.

Marina Berrio
Hinweis: Dr. David Antolín, Augenarzt und medizinischer Direktor von Clinilaser

Video: Augen ~ Spiegel Der Seelen ~ =]


Interessante Artikel

Ford präsentiert das neue Galaxy

Ford präsentiert das neue Galaxy

Die amerikanische Firma Ford hat das Neue vorgestellt Galaxyein Modell, das ein aktualisiertes Design enthält, a großer Innenraum und Nachrichten in Bezug auf technologische Ausrüstung, zusätzlich zu...