Up to 18 months children should not start using screens

Television is one of the companions of every family, almost a member of the household. Among its broadcasts are from interesting documentaries to educational series for the little ones. But, from what age should the relationship between children and this appliance begin? Both in the case of this device, as in tablets, computers or smartphones, pediatricians recommend postponing this moment until the 18 months.

And is that as indicated by the Spanish Society of Out-of-Home Pediatrics and Primary Care, SEPEAP, the relationship between young people and the screens is something that worries from the years in which the cinema began. An attention that has increased in recent times before the increase of addictions to new technologies.


90% of young people use digital devices

Televisions, tablets, smartphones, these are just some of the examples of technologies present in the day to day of all people. Around 44% of children use computers, a percentage that rises to 90% in the case of adolescents. While you can not deny the benefits of using these devices by children, you must also take into account the risks that can lead to misuse.

Among the problems to be highlighted are the following: hinder intrafamilial communication and subtract time for others activitiesexpose minors to false information, or inappropriate content, in addition to exposing them to compromise their privacy. They can also see their dream altered and encourage a sedentary lifestyle.


In its study Addictive Internet Conduct, the European consortium EU Net ADB, defines these problems as "a pattern of behavior characterized by the lost of control about its use, which gradually leads to the isolation and neglect of social relationships, academic and recreational activities, as well as health and personal hygiene. "

Tips for the use of screens in children's development

At what age does each screen correspond? SEPEAP offers the following tips about the use of new technologies for years:

- Until 18 months, avoid exposure to screens.

- From 18 to 24 months, start the viewing of quality programs in the company of parents.

- From 2 to 5 years, vision of quality content, accompanied by parents and maximum one hour a day.

- From age 6 you should look for the balance between the use of screens and other activities typical of their ages.


- Screens should be avoided during meals, study hours and before bedtime.

- The existence of devices in the bedroom should be avoided and ensure that the child practices sufficient physical exercise and has the necessary hours of rest at night.

Damián Montero

Video: Screen time and children


Interesting Articles

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Have you been a mother and a worker? Did you continue with your full-time job while you were pregnant? This question has been asked in the United States, finding that thes women who work during...

September exams will be in June

September exams will be in June

Are we going to say goodbye to the September exams? The Education Departments of the different Autonomous Communities are now preparing the school calendar for the next academic year, 2016-2017. One...

How to become a leader

How to become a leader

In today's society, there are many situations that require people willing to decide, to set guidelines and to commit to some objectives. Definitely, leaders are needed. Society also needs people who...

How to teach them to accept their failures?

How to teach them to accept their failures?

Before Christmas arrives, we have to overcome an important annual procedure: the arrival of the school's grades. And they are not always good, sometimes they are darn bad or, at least, worse than...

Kinder bis zu 18 Monaten sollten nicht anfangen, Bildschirme zu verwenden

Das Fernsehen ist einer der Gefährten jeder Familie, fast ein Mitglied des Haushalts. Zu seinen Sendungen gehören interessante Dokumentarfilme bis hin zu Bildungsserien für die Kleinen. Ab welchem ​​Alter sollte die Beziehung zwischen Kindern und diesem Gerät beginnen? Sowohl bei diesem Gerät, als auch bei Tablets, Computern oder Smartphones, empfehlen Kinderärzte, diesen Moment auf den Zeitpunkt zu verschieben 18 Monate

Und ist dies, wie von der spanischen Gesellschaft für Pädiatrie und Pflege außerhalb des Zuhauses angedeutet, SEPEAPDie Beziehung zwischen den Jugendlichen und den Bildschirmen ist etwas beunruhigend aus den Jahren, in denen das Kino begann. Eine Aufmerksamkeit, die in letzter Zeit vor der Zunahme der Sucht nach neuen Technologien zugenommen hat.


90% der Jugendlichen nutzen digitale Geräte

Fernseher, Tablets, Smartphones, dies sind nur einige Beispiele für Technologien, die Tag für Tag von allen Menschen eingesetzt werden. Um 44% Kinder nutzen Computer, ein Prozentsatz, der bei Jugendlichen auf 90% steigt. Sie können die Vorteile der Verwendung dieser Geräte durch Kinder nicht bestreiten, müssen jedoch auch die Risiken berücksichtigen, die zu Missbrauch führen können.

Zu den Problemen, die hervorgehoben werden sollen, gehören die folgenden: Behinderungen der intrafamilialen Kommunikation und Abzug der Zeit für andere AktivitätenSetzen Sie Minderjährige falschen Informationen oder unangemessenen Inhalten aus und setzen Sie sie auch der Gefährdung ihrer Privatsphäre aus. Sie können auch ihren Traum verändert sehen und einen sesshaften Lebensstil fördern.


Das europäische Konsortium EU Net ADB definiert diese Probleme in seiner Studie "Addictive Internet Conduct" als "Verhaltensmuster, das durch das Internet - Verhaltensforschungsverfahren gekennzeichnet ist Kontrollverlust über seine Nutzung, die nach und nach zur Isolation und Vernachlässigung sozialer Beziehungen, zu akademischen und Freizeitaktivitäten sowie zu Gesundheits- und Körperhygiene führt. "

Tipps für den Einsatz von Bildschirmen in der Kinderentwicklung

In welchem ​​Alter stimmt jeder Bildschirm überein? SEPEAP bietet folgendes an Tipps über den Einsatz neuer Technologien seit Jahren:

- Vermeiden Sie bis 18 Monate die Einwirkung von Bildschirmen.

- Beginnen Sie mit 18 - 24 Monaten die Anzeige von Qualitätsprogrammen in Begleitung von Eltern.

- Von 2 bis 5 Jahren, Vision des Qualitätsinhalts, begleitet von den Eltern und maximal eine Stunde pro Tag.

- Ab dem Alter von 6 Jahren sollten Sie auf die Balance zwischen der Verwendung von Bildschirmen und anderen für ihr Alter typischen Aktivitäten achten.


- Bildschirme sollten während der Mahlzeiten, Lernzeiten und vor dem Schlafengehen vermieden werden.

- Das Vorhandensein von Geräten im Schlafzimmer sollte vermieden werden und sicherstellen, dass das Kind ausreichend körperliche Bewegung ausübt und nachts die nötigen Ruhezeiten hat.

Damián Montero

Video: Hebron, die Geisterstadt: Breaking the Silence - Jung & Naiv: Folge 389


Interessante Artikel

Was machst du um alles zu bekommen?

Was machst du um alles zu bekommen?

Das Thema Frauenarbeit hat viel mit der Fähigkeit zu tun, persönlich und verantwortungsbewusst das Gute zu wählen und die Konsequenzen dieser Entscheidung mit einem Zusammenhalt zu akzeptieren. Und...

Die Mehrheit der Wohnungen besteht aus 2,5 Personen

Die Mehrheit der Wohnungen besteht aus 2,5 Personen

Das Leben und Zusammenleben als Familie ist nach wie vor die häufigste Zeit, wie aus der 2015 durchgeführten Haushaltsumfrage des National Institute of Statistics (INE) hervorgeht, die dies belegtDie...

Die 10 besten Babynahrungsthermen

Die 10 besten Babynahrungsthermen

Eine der größten Freuden der Vaterschaft ist, dass Sie Zeit mit Ihren Kindern verbringen und mehr, wenn Sie nicht zu Hause sind. Für einen Familienausflug sind jedoch mehrere Vorbereitungen...