6 tips to dose the technology with the return to school

Technology has become an essential tool in our day-to-day life and that of our children. But abusing it can be harmful. Because of that, we offer you six practices that you can adopt so that your children can measure their use of digital media and increase your academic performance in this back to school.

There is a return to school and many parents find themselves in the difficult position of determining whether the use of technology by children is more harmful than beneficial, or vice versa. Undoubtedly, technology is fundamental to enhance children's learning and intellectual capacities, but the abuse of electronic devices has its risks.


To find a healthy balance in the use of technology it is necessary to understand the effects that the use of electronic devices has on our nervous system and on that of our children. Dr. Manuel Antonio Fernández, a specialist in Pediatric Neurology explains that "being rewarding, immediate and repetitive, technology generates an insatiable effect on children, something that affects their school performance."

The cryptonite of the smallest

The use of new technologies by children can produce changes in brain structure and functioning. The new devices have a series of features that stimulate our reward system at the brain level. "How?, Giving him what he asks and making him insatiable," says Dr. Fernandez. These are the three types of response that technologies generate in our nervous system:


1. Reward gratifying. The number of options, their omnipresence and easy access to media such as mobile, computer and Tablet make children and young people have an answer to their will without the need for effort.

2. Immediate response. The electronic devices are immediate, so they stimulate in an intense and direct way our cerebral reward mechanism.

3. Repetitive or unlimited response. It is the one that produces the most dependence. The contents of the applications and the web are unlimited and can be repeated as many times as we want.

Practices to increase academic performance

Hyperfocalization and dependence on devices limits our capacity for attention, which directly affects learning and study. "It is not about relegating the role of electronics to a secondary level, but the 'dosing' of technology should not be a temporary or exceptional measure, the objective is for children to learn how to manage it and give it the right use," says the Dr. Fernández.


These are six practices that will help your children improve their academic performance:

1. If you study, the technology is out of reach. Interruptions and distractions caused by the mobile, for example, produce a drop in performance.

2. Minimize and relativize the feeling of loss. By leaving technology aside, a sense of loss and anxiety can occur in young people. To correct this, it is necessary that, as parents, we talk about the subject rationally with our children, thus educating their emotional intelligence.

3. Moments for everything, and each one for his own. Setting specific schedules is a good way to educate children about the use of technology. Having to perform their duties, for example, before using the Tablet, will make them experience the effort and reward of having done everything.

4. Encourage the effort as a rewarding response. "It is based on the explanation to the children of the importance that as a parent is given to the effort over the results, for example, valuing the time dedicated to the study over the results and rewarding the first versus the second", explains Dr. Fernandez.

5. Development of waiting tolerance. A good idea for this is to establish a reward program with points, which can then be exchanged for bonuses. Thus, the positive response is delayed in exchange for the expectations of achieving them, enhancing the effort.

6. And if you use technology, better shared. The social use of technology has less negative repercussions than the individual.

Isabel López Vásquez
Advice:Dr. Manuel Antonio Fernández, Specialist in Pediatric Neurology of TopDoctors.

Video: Ellen Introduces Kids to the Technology of Yesterday


Interesting Articles

Your feet in good hands: keys to child chiropody

Your feet in good hands: keys to child chiropody

The health of our feet is an essential part of our body. ¿Why is it so important? What are the basic cares that we should always keep in mind? When are we going to take the kids to the podiatrist?...

Green light helps to ease the pain of migraine

Green light helps to ease the pain of migraine

Few sensations are more annoying than the pain caused by migraine. The discomfort that is felt because of these headaches ends up making us dizzy and even giving us the urge to vomit. Very few are...

6 Tipps zur Dosierung der Technologie bei Rückkehr in die Schule

Technologie ist zu einem unverzichtbaren Werkzeug in unserem täglichen Leben und dem unserer Kinder geworden. Aber Missbrauch kann schädlich sein. Deshalb bieten wir Ihnen an sechs Praktiken, die Sie anwenden können, damit Ihre Kinder die Verwendung digitaler Medien messen können und steigern Sie Ihre akademischen Leistungen zurück in die schule.

Es gibt eine Rückkehr in die Schule, und viele Eltern finden sich in der schwierigen Lage herauszufinden, ob der Einsatz von Technologie durch Kinder schädlicher ist als von Vorteil oder umgekehrt. Zweifellos ist Technologie von grundlegender Bedeutung, um das Lernen und die intellektuellen Fähigkeiten von Kindern zu verbessern, aber der Missbrauch elektronischer Geräte birgt Risiken.


Um ein gesundes Gleichgewicht im Umgang mit Technologie zu finden, ist es notwendig zu verstehen, welche Auswirkungen der Einsatz elektronischer Geräte auf unser Nervensystem und auf das unserer Kinder hat. Dr. Manuel Antonio Fernández, Spezialist für Pädiatrische Neurologie, erklärt, dass "Technologie, die lohnend, unmittelbar und repetitiv ist, eine unersättliche Wirkung auf Kinder hat, was sich auf ihre Schulleistungen auswirkt."

Der Kryptonit des Kleinsten

Der Einsatz neuer Technologien bei Kindern kann Veränderungen in der Gehirnstruktur und -funktion bewirken. Die neuen Geräte verfügen über eine Reihe von Funktionen, die unser Belohnungssystem auf Gehirnebene stimulieren. "Wie ?, ihm geben, was er fragt, und ihn unersättlich machen", sagt Dr. Fernandez. Dies sind die drei Arten von Reaktionen, die Technologien in unserem Nervensystem erzeugen:


1. Belohnung erfreulich. Die Vielzahl der Optionen, ihre Omnipräsenz und der einfache Zugriff auf Medien wie mobile Geräte, Computer und Tablet sorgen dafür, dass Kinder und Jugendliche ohne Anstrengung eine Antwort auf ihren Willen finden.

2. Sofortige Antwort. Die elektronischen Geräte sind sofort verfügbar, sodass sie unseren zerebralen Belohnungsmechanismus intensiv und direkt stimulieren.

3. Wiederholte oder unbegrenzte Antwort. Es ist derjenige, der die größte Abhängigkeit erzeugt. Die Inhalte der Anwendungen und des Internets sind unbegrenzt und können beliebig oft wiederholt werden.

Praktiken zur Steigerung der akademischen Leistung

Hyperfokalisierung und Abhängigkeit von Geräten schränkt unsere Aufmerksamkeitsfähigkeit ein, was sich direkt auf das Lernen und Lernen auswirkt. "Es geht nicht darum, die Rolle der Elektronik auf eine sekundäre Ebene zu verlagern, aber die" Dosierung "der Technologie sollte keine vorübergehende oder außergewöhnliche Maßnahme sein, sondern das Ziel ist, dass Kinder lernen, wie sie damit umgehen und sie richtig einsetzen können", sagt der Dr. Fernández.


Diese sechs Praktiken helfen Ihren Kindern, ihre schulischen Leistungen zu verbessern:

1. Wenn Sie studieren, ist die Technologie unerreichbar. Unterbrechungen und Ablenkungen, die beispielsweise vom Mobiltelefon verursacht werden, führen zu einem Leistungsabfall.

2. Minimieren und relativieren Sie das Verlustgefühl. Wenn man die Technologie beiseite lässt, kann bei jungen Menschen ein Gefühl von Verlust und Angst auftreten. Um dies zu korrigieren, ist es notwendig, dass wir als Eltern mit unseren Kindern rational über das Thema sprechen und so ihre emotionale Intelligenz erziehen.

3. Momente für alles und jeden für sich. Das Festlegen bestimmter Zeitpläne ist eine gute Möglichkeit, Kinder über den Einsatz von Technologie zu informieren. Wenn Sie zum Beispiel vor der Verwendung des Tablets ihre Pflichten erfüllen müssen, werden sie die Mühe und die Belohnung erfahren, wenn Sie alles getan haben.

4. Ermutigen Sie die Anstrengung als lohnende Antwort. "Es basiert auf der Erklärung für die Kinder, wie wichtig es ist, dass der Aufwand für die Ergebnisse der Eltern als Eltern verwendet wird, beispielsweise die Zeit, die der Studie gewidmet ist, über die Ergebnisse zu bewerten und die erste gegen die zweite zu belohnen", erklärt Dr. Fernandez.

5. Entwicklung der Wartezeittoleranz. Eine gute Idee ist, ein Belohnungsprogramm mit Punkten aufzustellen, das dann gegen Prämien eingetauscht werden kann. Daher verzögert sich die positive Reaktion im Gegenzug für die Erwartungen, diese zu erreichen, was den Aufwand erhöht.

6. Und wenn Sie Technologie nutzen, besser geteilt. Die soziale Nutzung von Technologie hat weniger negative Auswirkungen als der Einzelne.

Isabel López Vásquez
Hinweis:Dr. Manuel Antonio Fernández, Facharzt für pädiatrische Neurologie von TopDoctors.

Video: Prenez le départ sur la route des vacances l Les aventures du Slip


Interessante Artikel