Benefits of probiotics, prebiotics and symbiotics for health, according to WHO

It is increasingly common to hear about probiotics, prebiotics and symbiotics in pediatricians and nutritionists' consultations, as well as their benefits for human health and nutrition. But, really, do we know what they are, why they are so beneficial to health and in what foods can we find them?

In this sense, both the World Health Organization (WHO) As the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), in view of the growing number of scientific studies on the beneficial role of probiotics, prebiotics and synbiotics in immune, digestive and respiratory functions, they have decided to endorse the benefits of these for health. And yet, according to a recent study conducted by Danone Nutricia Early Life Nutrition, 65% of Spaniards admit not knowing what they are. probiotics, prebiotics and symbiotics.


What are probiotics, prebiotics and symbiotics?

Probiotics, prebiotics and symbiotics support, in general, the healthy balance of intestinal flora, improve some Gastrointestinal disorders and help improve the immune system of children and adults.

However, 57% of Spanish parents do not know what probiotics really are. These are live microorganisms that are found in some foods and when they are administered in adequate amounts they report numerous benefits for the present and future health of the baby.

Probiotics are not just in dairy

There are many foods with probiotics, especially in dairy products, such as yogurt or kefir, but they are also present in sauerkraut and dark chocolate. However, you can also provide probiotics to babies through medicines and pediatric formulas, and adults in food supplements.


Prebiotics are not digestible

The prebiotics are even more unknown. As the survey reveals almost 60% admit not knowing what they are exactly and 63% of respondents do not know the difference between these and probiotics.

The Prebiotics are non-digestible substances of foods that promote the growth and activity of beneficial bacteria for the intestine. In this way, they differ from probiotics in that they are live bacteria, while prebiotics are lifeless substances that favor the growth of these bacteria by providing them with different substrates.

Prebiotics are mainly found in foods of vegetable origin, such as garlic, onion or artichokes, among others, and in breast milk. But also, and as in the case of probiotics, can also be provided through pediatric formula milk, food supplements or medications; a clinical practice that is becoming more common.


Symbiotics combine probiotics and symbiotics

Symbiotics are the great unknown, since 79% of Spaniards say they do not know what they are. The sImbiotics are functional foods that combine probiotics and prebiotics. A source of symbiotic food in nature is breast milk, so it has a very important role on the colonization of healthy intestinal flora of the digestive tract of the newborn.

Health benefits of probiotics, prebiotics and symbiotics

Probiotics, prebiotics and symbiotics have a very beneficial role directly linked with the intestinal microbiota or intestinal flora, that is, on the set of microorganisms that they live in a normal way in the different parts of our body, especially in our small intestine.

The intestinal flora is responsible for important functions, such as the production of growth factors and vitamins (such as Vitamin K, essential for coagulation, and some vitamins of Group B), as well as for the stimulation of the immune system or the barrier effect against pathogenic germs, among others. Therefore, it is essential to have a healthy and balanced intestinal flora or microbiota and probiotics, prebiotics and symbiotics help.

The intestinal flora begins to form in the birth canal, when the baby comes in contact with millions of maternal bacteria that begin to colonize the intestine. From here and during lactation until about two years of age, your intestinal flora will continue to form and diversify until it stabilizes.

Therefore, a correct development of the intestinal flora is fundamental in the smallest, mainly due to the close relationship between the microbiota and the development of the immune system."Proper feeding through breast milk, or in the event that it is not possible, through pediatric formulas with probiotics, prebiotics or synbiotics, is essential, especially during the first 1000 days of life, including 9 months of gestation, which determine in an important way the future health of the baby, "says Dr. Mónica Rodríguez Sangrador, Manager Iberia of Danone Nutricia Early Life Nutrition.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Advice: the Dr. Mónica Rodríguez Sangrador, Healthcare Nutrition Science Manager Iberia by Danone Nutricia Early Life Nutrition

Video: The Health Benefits of Probiotics, Prebiotics, Symbiotics


Interesting Articles

Schools adapt teaching to digital platforms

Schools adapt teaching to digital platforms

A large number of schools in Spain is doing the effort to adapt teaching to digital platforms. To adapt to new technologies now use digital whiteboards that replace the traditional green or black...

How to take advantage of trips to educate

How to take advantage of trips to educate

If summer is synonymous with holidays, talking about this free time also means referring travels. These moments of rest are taken advantage of to know other places, either because of the leisure...

Depression in adolescents: how to detect and treat it

Depression in adolescents: how to detect and treat it

The Spanish Association of Pediatrics, AEP, estimates that around the 4% of adolescents in our country suffer from some type of depressive process. Depression has serious effects on the life of the...

Ready to be parents: fears and doubts

Ready to be parents: fears and doubts

Many parents are overwhelmed with the many decisions they must make regarding the education and health of their newborn child. And fears arise. Have you felt the vertigo of motherhood? Did you feel...

Nutzen von Probiotika, Präbiotika und Symbiotika für die Gesundheit, laut WHO

Es wird immer häufiger von Probiotika, Präbiotika und Symbiotika in der Beratung von Kinderärzten und Ernährungsberatern sowie von deren Nutzen für die menschliche Gesundheit und Ernährung gesprochen. Aber wissen wir wirklich, was sie sind, warum sie für die Gesundheit so vorteilhaft sind und in welchen Nahrungsmitteln können wir sie finden?

In diesem Sinne ist sowohl das Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) Als Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen (FAO) haben sie sich angesichts der zunehmenden Anzahl wissenschaftlicher Studien über die vorteilhafte Rolle von Probiotika, Präbiotika und Synbiotika für Immun-, Verdauungs- und Atmungsfunktionen entschlossen, die Vorteile von zu unterstützen diese für die Gesundheit. Laut einer kürzlich von Danone Nutricia Early Life Nutrition durchgeführten Studie geben 65% der Spanier zu, nicht zu wissen, was sie sind. Probiotika, Präbiotika und Symbiotika.


Was sind Probiotika, Präbiotika und Symbiotika?

Probiotika, Präbiotika und Symbiotika unterstützen im Allgemeinen die gesundes Gleichgewicht der Darmflora, einige verbessern Magen-Darm-Probleme und helfen, das zu verbessern Immunsystem von Kindern und Erwachsenen.

Allerdings wissen 57% der spanischen Eltern nicht, was Probiotika wirklich sind. Hierbei handelt es sich um lebende Mikroorganismen, die in einigen Lebensmitteln vorkommen, und wenn sie in ausreichenden Mengen verabreicht werden, weisen sie zahlreiche Vorteile für die gegenwärtige und zukünftige Gesundheit des Babys auf.

Probiotika sind nicht nur in der Molkerei

Es gibt viele Nahrungsmittel mit Probiotika, vor allem in Milchprodukten wie Joghurt oder Kefir, aber auch in Sauerkraut und dunkler Schokolade. Sie können Babys aber auch Probiotika durch Medikamente und Formulierungen für Kinder sowie Erwachsene in Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln zur Verfügung stellen.


Präbiotika sind nicht bekömmlich

Die Präbiotika sind noch unbekannter. Wie die Umfrage zeigt, geben fast 60% an, nicht genau zu wissen, was sie sind, und 63% der Befragten kennen den Unterschied zwischen diesen und Probiotika nicht.

Die Präbiotika sind unverdauliche Substanzen von Nahrungsmitteln, die das Wachstum und die Aktivität von nützlichen Bakterien für den Darm fördern. Auf diese Weise unterscheiden sie sich von Probiotika darin, dass es sich um lebende Bakterien handelt, während Präbiotika leblose Substanzen sind, die das Wachstum dieser Bakterien fördern, indem sie sie mit unterschiedlichen Substraten versorgen.

Präbiotika finden sich vor allem in Lebensmitteln pflanzlichen Ursprungs wie Knoblauch, Zwiebeln oder Artischocken und in der Muttermilch. Aber auch, und wie bei Probiotika, kann es auch durch pädiatrische Rezeptmilch, Nahrungsergänzungsmittel oder Medikamente verabreicht werden; eine klinische Praxis, die immer häufiger wird.


Symbiotika kombinieren Probiotika und Symbiotika

Symbiotika sind das große Unbekannte, da 79% der Spanier sagen, dass sie nicht wissen, was sie sind. Die sImbiotika sind funktionelle Lebensmittel, die Probiotika und Präbiotika kombinieren. Eine Quelle für symbiotische Nahrung in der Natur ist Muttermilch, daher spielt sie eine wichtige Rolle bei der Besiedlung der gesunden Darmflora des Verdauungstraktes des Neugeborenen.

Nutzen für die Gesundheit von Probiotika, Präbiotika und Symbiotika

Probiotika, Präbiotika und Symbiotika haben eine sehr vorteilhafte Rolle, die direkt mit der Darmmikrobiota oder Darmflora, dh den Mikroorganismen, zusammenhängt leben auf normale Weise in den verschiedenen Teilen unseres Körpers, vor allem in unserem Dünndarm.

Die Darmflora ist für wichtige Funktionen verantwortlich, wie zum Beispiel für die Produktion von Wachstumsfaktoren und Vitaminen (wie Vitamin K, das für die Gerinnung benötigt wird, und einige Vitamine der Gruppe B) sowie für die Stimulierung des Immunsystems oder die Barrierewirkung gegen pathogene Keime, unter anderem. Daher ist es wichtig, eine gesunde und ausgewogene Darmflora oder Mikrobiota zu haben. Probiotika, Präbiotika und Symbiotika helfen dabei.

Die Darmflora beginnt sich im Geburtskanal zu bilden, wenn das Baby mit Millionen mütterlicher Bakterien in Kontakt kommt, die den Darm besiedeln. Von hier und während der Stillzeit bis zum Alter von etwa zwei Jahren wird sich Ihre Darmflora weiter bilden und diversifizieren, bis sie sich stabilisiert.

Daher ist eine korrekte Entwicklung der Darmflora von grundlegender Bedeutung, vor allem aufgrund der engen Beziehung zwischen der Mikrobiota und der Entwicklung des Immunsystems."Die ordnungsgemäße Fütterung durch Muttermilch oder, falls dies nicht möglich ist, durch pädiatrische Formeln mit Probiotika, Präbiotika oder Synbiotika, ist besonders in den ersten 1000 Lebenstagen, einschließlich 9 Monaten, von wesentlicher Bedeutung Schwangerschaft, die auf eine wichtige Weise die zukünftige Gesundheit des Babys bestimmen ", sagt Dr. Mónica Rodríguez Sangrador, Manager Iberia von Danone Nutricia Early Life Nutrition.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Hinweis: die Dr. Mónica Rodríguez Sangrador, Healthcare Nutrition Science Manager Iberia von Danone Nutricia Early Life Nutrition

Video: Darm und Immunsystem


Interessante Artikel

9 Schlüssel, um Familiengeschichten zu genießen

9 Schlüssel, um Familiengeschichten zu genießen

Die Ankunft der Feiertage ist eine gute Zeit, um dem Jüngsten des Hauses die Gewohnheit vorzulesen, Geschichten zu lesen oder zu erzählen. Heutzutage ist es möglich, ein breites Spektrum zu finden,...

Neue App zum Stillen

Neue App zum Stillen

Wenn es während der Schwangerschaft viele Zweifel gibt, die sich für Mütter ergeben, insbesondere für Erstmütter, wird das Stillen nicht geringer sein. Neue Technologien sind dabei eine große Hilfe:...

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Die Depression Es ist eine der schlimmsten Situationen, die eine Person durchmachen kann. Ein ständiges Gefühl der Traurigkeit, das scheinbar kein Ende zu haben scheint und diejenigen, die diese...