Forcing children to try new dishes can have serious consequences, according to a study

There are many flavors in the world and a lot of dishes are waiting to be tasted. Gastronomy is one of those pleasures that can be enjoyed as a family and share great moments among all to know this festival for the taste buds. However, facing this activity may be somewhat shocking to the More smalls of the house.

A new dish It can cause rejection on the part of the smallest ones, either because of the ingredients that compose it, its presentation or simply because the personality of the child is not so daring as to live this experience. Should parents force their children to taste these flavors, or simply invite them to this pleasure? A new study conducted by the University of Michigan warns parents of the danger of forcing young children to try them.


Try new dishes yes, but without putting pressure

After analyzing 244 children Between 21 and 33 months, the researchers found that those families who had forced their children to try new foods had not succeeded in changing their eating habits. As indicated by those responsible for this study, pressure is not a good mechanism to change any habit in people.

Children who refuse a meal further increase their repudiation against this dish in question. While it is necessary to offer children the opportunity to try new flavors, pressure is not a good mechanism to change the Feeding Habits of the kids. Julie Lumeng, member of the team in charge of carrying out this research, indicates that, as in a shy child, forcing him to relate to other people, in the case of new flavors, it will have a similar result.


Lumeng suggests that pressure from parents to try New flavors it is seen as an attempt at parental control. Hence the rejection of an imposition, may even appear problems in the mechanisms of food intake even closing the esophagus or causing vomiting to receive the spoonful of the dish.

The alternative? Those responsible for the study suggest the dialogue, the presentation of these dishes as something beneficial and attractive instead of an obligation for the little ones in the house. Neither do you have to resort to negotiation and offer a tasty dessert in exchange for eating the dish in question.

Motivate to try new flavors

As has been said, motivation is always better than imposition. The mission of the parents will be to present these new foods as something attractive and never as an obligation for the little ones:


- Lead by example. The children always take note of what their parents do. If they do not see that they eat vegetables, fruits or the dish they must try, their rejection will grow even more.

- Explain the benefits they have for health. Who does not like to be healthy and in good shape? Letting the little ones know that fruits and vegetables will bring them great health benefits will motivate them to continue enjoying these foods.

- Share the kitchen. Another good mechanism for children to try new dishes is to involve them in the preparation process to motivate them to try what they have cooked with their parents.

- Avoid punishments. Punishing for not eating vegetables or fruits is a bad idea since it will cause a greater rejection of this fact that can cause a bad experience in him.

Damián Montero

- 10 false myths about feeding - How to fight childhood obesity Baubles in children: how and when

Video: 10 Foods You Should Never Eat


Interesting Articles

Schools adapt teaching to digital platforms

Schools adapt teaching to digital platforms

A large number of schools in Spain is doing the effort to adapt teaching to digital platforms. To adapt to new technologies now use digital whiteboards that replace the traditional green or black...

How to take advantage of trips to educate

How to take advantage of trips to educate

If summer is synonymous with holidays, talking about this free time also means referring travels. These moments of rest are taken advantage of to know other places, either because of the leisure...

Depression in adolescents: how to detect and treat it

Depression in adolescents: how to detect and treat it

The Spanish Association of Pediatrics, AEP, estimates that around the 4% of adolescents in our country suffer from some type of depressive process. Depression has serious effects on the life of the...

Ready to be parents: fears and doubts

Ready to be parents: fears and doubts

Many parents are overwhelmed with the many decisions they must make regarding the education and health of their newborn child. And fears arise. Have you felt the vertigo of motherhood? Did you feel...

Kinder dazu zu zwingen, neue Gerichte auszuprobieren, können laut einer Studie schwerwiegende Folgen haben

Es gibt viele Geschmacksrichtungen auf der Welt und viele Gerichte warten darauf, probiert zu werden. Die Gastronomie ist eine der Freuden, die man als Familie genießen kann und großartige Momente miteinander verbindet, um dieses Festival für die Gaumen der Gaumen zu kennen. Dies kann jedoch etwas schockierend sein kleiner des Hauses

A neues Gericht Es kann zur Ablehnung der Kleinsten führen, entweder aufgrund der Zutaten, aus denen es besteht, seiner Präsentation oder einfach, weil die Persönlichkeit des Kindes diese Erfahrung nicht so gewagt hat. Sollten Eltern ihre Kinder zwingen, diese Aromen zu kosten oder einfach zu diesem Vergnügen einladen? Eine neue Studie der University of Michigan warnt Eltern vor der Gefahr, dass junge Kinder dazu gezwungen werden.


Probieren Sie neue Gerichte aus, aber ohne Druck auszuüben

Nach der Analyse 244 Kinder Zwischen 21 und 33 Monaten stellten die Forscher fest, dass es den Familien, die ihre Kinder gezwungen hatten, neue Lebensmittel auszuprobieren, nicht gelungen waren, ihre Essgewohnheiten zu ändern. Wie die Verantwortlichen für diese Studie gezeigt haben, ist Druck kein guter Mechanismus, um die Gewohnheit der Menschen zu ändern.

Kinder, die eine Mahlzeit ablehnen, verstärken ihre Ablehnung gegen das fragliche Gericht noch weiter. Zwar ist es notwendig, Kindern die Möglichkeit zu geben, neue Geschmacksrichtungen zu probieren, aber Druck ist kein guter Mechanismus, um den Geschmack zu ändern Essgewohnheiten von Kindern. Julie Lumeng, Mitglied des Teams, das mit dieser Forschung betraut ist, weist darauf hin, dass es wie bei einem schüchternen Kind, das ihn zwingt, mit anderen Menschen in Verbindung zu treten, bei neuen Geschmacksrichtungen ein ähnliches Ergebnis hat.


Lumeng schlägt den Druck der Eltern vor, es zu versuchen neue Aromen es wird als Versuch der elterlichen Kontrolle gesehen. Daher kann die Ablehnung einer Auferlegung sogar Probleme in den Mechanismen der Nahrungsaufnahme erscheinen, selbst wenn die Speiseröhre geschlossen wird oder Erbrechen verursacht wird, um den Löffel der Schüssel zu erhalten.

Die alternative? Die für die Studie Verantwortlichen schlagen das vor DialogDie Präsentation dieser Gerichte ist etwas Nützliches und Attraktives, nicht eine Verpflichtung für die Kleinen im Haus. Sie müssen auch nicht auf Verhandlungen zurückgreifen und ein schmackhaftes Dessert anbieten, um das betreffende Gericht zu essen.

Motiviere neue Geschmacksrichtungen

Wie gesagt, ist die Motivation immer besser als die Auferlegung. Die Aufgabe der Eltern besteht darin, diese neuen Nahrungsmittel als etwas zu präsentieren attraktiv und niemals als Verpflichtung für die Kleinen:


- Predigen am Beispiel. Die Kinder beachten immer, was ihre Eltern tun. Wenn sie nicht sehen, dass sie Gemüse, Obst oder das Gericht essen, das sie probieren müssen, wird ihre Ablehnung noch größer.

- Erläutern Sie den Nutzen für die Gesundheit. Wer ist nicht gerne gesund und in guter Verfassung? Wenn die Kleinen wissen lassen, dass Obst und Gemüse ihnen große gesundheitliche Vorteile bringen, werden sie motiviert, diese Lebensmittel weiterhin zu genießen.

- Teilen Sie die Küche. Ein weiterer guter Mechanismus für Kinder, um neue Gerichte auszuprobieren, besteht darin, sie in den Vorbereitungsprozess einzubinden, um sie zu motivieren, das zu probieren, was sie mit ihren Eltern gekocht haben.

- Vermeiden Sie Strafen. Die Bestrafung, nicht Gemüse oder Obst zu essen, ist eine schlechte Idee, da dies eine stärkere Ablehnung dieser Tatsache zur Folge hat, was zu einer schlechten Erfahrung bei ihm führen kann.

Damián Montero

- 10 falsche Mythen über das Füttern - Wie bekämpft man Fettleibigkeit bei Kindern? Kugeln bei Kindern: wie und wann

Video: HÄXAN (1922) [Swedish Film Institute print] FULL MOVIE


Interessante Artikel

9 Schlüssel, um Familiengeschichten zu genießen

9 Schlüssel, um Familiengeschichten zu genießen

Die Ankunft der Feiertage ist eine gute Zeit, um dem Jüngsten des Hauses die Gewohnheit vorzulesen, Geschichten zu lesen oder zu erzählen. Heutzutage ist es möglich, ein breites Spektrum zu finden,...

Neue App zum Stillen

Neue App zum Stillen

Wenn es während der Schwangerschaft viele Zweifel gibt, die sich für Mütter ergeben, insbesondere für Erstmütter, wird das Stillen nicht geringer sein. Neue Technologien sind dabei eine große Hilfe:...

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Die Depression Es ist eine der schlimmsten Situationen, die eine Person durchmachen kann. Ein ständiges Gefühl der Traurigkeit, das scheinbar kein Ende zu haben scheint und diejenigen, die diese...