Tips to start breastfeeding in the best way possible

Although motherhood is one of the most beautiful processes that exists in the life of every woman, it is not without doubts. Questions that begin long before children arrive in this world and that last after the birth of their children. An example can be the lactation, feeding process that although it may seem simple, presents some difficulties for mothers.

To resolve these doubts, from Medela a practical guide to initiation in the lactation for those mothers who face this new path. A compendium of tips that will ensure that the little ones receive this important food in their development during the first months of life.


Breastfeeding, first days

Breastfeeding is a process that begins with the hormones of pregnancy. After the birth of the baby, this production begins and the child starts to suckle. In these moments, the body of the mother receives the signal to continue producing this food to sustain the developing of the little one

These are some concepts that the mother should know about the beginnings of breastfeeding:

- In the first weeks of lactation, the baby will need to feed 8 to 12 times every 24 hours.

- The duration of breastfeeding sessions may vary. Do not be afraid of this irregularity.

- Do not breastfeed following strict schedules, but when your baby seems hungry or demand the breast.


- Both the frequency and duration of breastfeeding sessions will continue to change as the baby grows.

The process of breastfeeding requires a little practice. Sometimes babies take time to get used to the new world around them. The first milk that is produced the first days after birth is called colostrum. It is a thick, yellowish milk with a large amount of antioxidants, as well as protective and growth factors necessary for the baby.

How to know if the baby is full

How to recognize the signs of satiety in the smallest? A simple method is to observe the diapers of the baby and recognize the following signs:

- Wet diapers. After the first week, the baby should wet at least 6 diapers every 24 hours, indicating that he is taking enough fluid.


- Dirty diapers. The baby's bowel movements will change color and go from very dark and sticky (meconium) to yellow and soft during the first 4 to 5 days of life, which indicates that your baby digests breast milk. On the fifth day, the child must perform at least 3 large yellow deposits, from soft to liquid, every 24 hours. It is normal for some babies to evacuate each time they are breastfed.

Use of breast pumps

Another doubt that may arise in the minds of mothers is the use of breast pump. Performing this act can help maintain production when the mother has to move away from her baby. Before incorporating the bottle, the ideal is to breastfeed for 3 to 4 weeks.

In the event that the mother must return to work or to the school, it is advisable to start expressing milk at least 1 to 2 weeks before. This will allow you to create a routine, accumulate a reserve of breast milk and accustom the baby to drink from the bottle.

Damián Montero

Video: 5 Breastfeeding Tips That Made Life Easier For Me


Interesting Articles

How to get children to eat vegetables

How to get children to eat vegetables

One of the oldest battles between parents and children is one in which the former want the latter to eat vegetables. A necessary confrontation since these foods have to be very present in the diet of...

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Knowing, understanding, valuing and appreciating the different manifestations of art is an invaluable source of enjoyment and personal enrichment. For this, parents can accustom their children from...

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Years ago I wrote a book about marriage that I dedicated To my wife, that charming and eternal mystery. We had just celebrated the silver jubilee and thought I could string together some ideas that...

Tipps, um das Stillen so gut wie möglich zu beginnen

Obwohl Mutterschaft einer der schönsten Prozesse ist, die im Leben jeder Frau existieren, ist sie nicht ohne Zweifel. Fragen, die lange vor der Ankunft von Kindern auf dieser Welt beginnen und die nach der Geburt ihrer Kinder andauern. Ein Beispiel kann das sein LaktationEin Fütterungsprozess, der zwar einfach erscheint, aber für Mütter einige Schwierigkeiten bereitet.

Um diese Zweifel aufzulösen, ab Medela eine praktische Anleitung zur Einweihung in der Laktation für die Mütter, die sich diesem neuen Weg stellen. Eine Zusammenstellung von Tipps, die sicherstellen, dass die Kleinen in den ersten Lebensmonaten dieses wichtige Nahrungsmittel in ihrer Entwicklung erhalten.


Stillen, erste Tage

Stillen ist ein Prozess, der mit den Hormonen der Schwangerschaft beginnt. Nach der Geburt des Babys beginnt diese Produktion und das Kind beginnt zu säugen. In diesen Momenten erhält der Körper der Mutter das Signal, diese Nahrung weiter zu produzieren, um die Nahrung aufrecht zu erhalten Entwicklung des Kleinen

Dies sind einige Konzepte, die die Mutter über den Beginn des Stillens wissen sollte:

- In den ersten Laktationswochen muss das Baby alle 24 Stunden 8 bis 12 Mal ernährt werden.

- Die Dauer der Stillzeit kann variieren. Fürchten Sie sich nicht vor dieser Unregelmäßigkeit.

- Stillen Sie nicht nach strengen Zeitplänen, sondern wenn Ihr Baby hungrig zu sein scheint oder die Brust fordert.


- Sowohl die Häufigkeit als auch die Dauer der Stillzeit ändern sich mit dem Wachstum des Babys.

Der Stillvorgang erfordert etwas Übung. Manchmal brauchen Babys Zeit, sich an die neue Welt zu gewöhnen. Die erste Milch, die in den ersten Tagen nach der Geburt produziert wird, wird als Kolostrum bezeichnet. Es ist eine dicke, gelbliche Milch mit einer großen Menge an Antioxidantien sowie Schutz- und Wachstumsfaktoren, die für das Baby notwendig sind.

Wie kann ich wissen, ob das Baby voll ist?

Wie erkennt man die Anzeichen von Sättigung im Kleinsten? Eine einfache Methode ist, die Windeln des Babys zu beobachten und die folgenden Anzeichen zu erkennen:

- Nasse Windeln. Nach der ersten Woche sollte das Baby alle 24 Stunden mindestens 6 Windeln nass machen, was darauf hinweist, dass es ausreichend Flüssigkeit zu sich nimmt.


- Schmutzige Windeln. Die Stuhlgänge des Babys ändern sich in den ersten 4 bis 5 Tagen des Lebens von sehr dunkel und klebrig (Mekonium) bis gelb und weich. Am fünften Tag muss das Kind alle 24 Stunden mindestens drei große gelbe Einlagen von weich bis flüssig durchführen. Es ist normal, dass manche Babys jedes Mal, wenn sie gestillt werden, evakuieren.

Verwendung von Milchpumpen

Ein weiterer Zweifel, der bei Müttern aufkommen kann, ist der Gebrauch von Milchpumpe. Die Durchführung dieses Vorgangs kann dazu beitragen, die Produktion aufrechtzuerhalten, wenn sich die Mutter von ihrem Baby entfernen muss. Vor dem Einsetzen der Flasche ist es ideal, 3 bis 4 Wochen zu stillen.

Für den Fall, dass die Mutter zur Arbeit zurückkehren muss oder in die SchuleEs ist ratsam, die Milch mindestens 1 bis 2 Wochen vorher mit dem Abpumpen zu beginnen. So können Sie eine Routine erstellen, eine Reserve für Muttermilch aufbauen und das Baby daran gewöhnen, aus der Flasche zu trinken.

Damián Montero

Video: Nützliche Tipps & Praktische Produkte für ein angenehmes Wochenbett


Interessante Artikel

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

Sicherlich hatten Sie während Ihrer Schulzeit einen Partner, der immer Hausaufgaben verließ, keine unterschriebenen Prüfungen mitbrachte, Bücher verlor, im Unterricht redete oder oft in den...