Emotional intelligence: its importance today

The emotional intelligence It is a very recent discipline. Not long ago the management of emotions was an element that was not given too much importance in education. However, today, numerous theories have emerged that highlight the importance of emotions in the learning of our children.

At present, there are numerous studies and theories about emotional intelligence. Learning to manage emotions has become an essential element in the education of our children. But it has not always been this way. Not long ago, this was a subject that was quite unknown on a scientific and psychological level.

Begoña Ibarrola, an expert psychologist in Emotional Intelligence, highlights that a process of "literacy" related to emotional intelligence has been implemented. "There are more and more elements that can help us to understand the world of emotions, there are more and more books, research on neuroscience that provides information with very curious data, teachers interested in transmitting this is the classroom" he says.


This has happened because it has been discovered that emotional intelligence is key to learning, conditions it. Emotions direct attention, influence memory and motivation. "The whole field of neuroscience research is giving referendums and scientific support that demonstrate the importance of emotions today."

Where emotions arise

"Emotions are lived in the body," says Ibarrola. Feel an emotion it is something that is reflected both physically and mentally. In the first place, it is the body that detects, serves as a receiver and perceives the effects of an emotion. Even, physiological changes are generated that go beyond visible reactions such as crying or laughing. Every time we feel an emotion, for example, the composition of our blood changes.


Second, our mind identifies emotion, names it and regulates it. It is in this aspect that emotional intelligence intervenes, because it is at this level that we must learn to manage our emotions.

It is true that there are involuntary bodily reactions, which we can not control when we feel an emotion. But, as rational beings, we are able to understand the emotion and its cause, and determine what is the best way to act before it. This is something that "we can learn since we are very small, specifically from the age of three", highlights Ibarrola.

Studies on the brain

In the 1990s, a series of research on the brain began to be carried out, partly due to the interest generated by diseases such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's. In addition, the development of new technologies in the area of ​​medicine, allows a deeper study of the human mind.


From these investigations, one also begins to inquire into the more subjective world of emotions. Authors such as Coleman discover the importance of emotional intelligence and the social dimension of the person. These discoveries will motivate parents and educators to include emotional management in the education of their children and students.

Currently, studies related to the brain and emotional education are seen as usual. "Today we see in hospitals with normality how they put some electrodes and they can see if we have got a joke or not, simply because of my brain response," says Ibarrola.

Emotional intelligence for happiness

By opening a window to the brain and observing it, we have managed to obtain a series of tools to thoroughly understand emotional intelligence and rescue its importance for society. In the end, we have realized that being aware of our emotions allows us to build healthier brains. A healthier brain and mind will make us have a higher level of well-being and happiness.

Isabel López Vasquez

Video: What is Emotional Intelligence?


Interesting Articles

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Say no It can be complicated for many people. If you often answer yes to demands of friendships or work, even if you really know you do not want to do it, if you have a hard time saying no and you...

This develops the baby's sense of balance

This develops the baby's sense of balance

The sense of balance it provides us with a permanent orientation in the three dimensions of space. For this, he uses different structures such as the vestibular apparatus, the eyes and the cutaneous...

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

How is life in general going? An OECD study has measured the 11 dimensions of well-being today. Among its conclusions, it shows that the OECD countries follow different patterns with respect to their...

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Love in youth is of the utmost importance, since the first couple relationships build the sentimental parameters of the people, that is, if at that age a person lives a healthy love, their subsequent...

Emotionale Intelligenz: ihre Bedeutung heute

Die emotionale Intelligenz Es ist eine sehr junge Disziplin. Vor nicht allzu langer Zeit war der Umgang mit Emotionen ein Element, das in der Bildung nicht allzu wichtig war. Heute sind jedoch zahlreiche Theorien aufgetaucht, die die Bedeutung von Emotionen beim Lernen unserer Kinder unterstreichen.

Derzeit gibt es zahlreiche Studien und Theorien über emotionale Intelligenz. Zu lernen, mit Emotionen umzugehen, ist zu einem wesentlichen Element in der Ausbildung unserer Kinder geworden. Dies war jedoch nicht immer der Fall. Vor nicht allzu langer Zeit war dieses Thema auf wissenschaftlicher und psychologischer Ebene völlig unbekannt.

Begoña Ibarrola, ein erfahrener Psychologe in emotionaler Intelligenz, betont, dass ein Prozess der "Alphabetisierung" im Zusammenhang mit emotionaler Intelligenz implementiert wurde. "Es gibt mehr und mehr Elemente, die uns helfen können, die Welt der Emotionen zu verstehen. Es gibt immer mehr Bücher, Forschungen im Bereich der Neurowissenschaften, die Informationen mit sehr kuriosen Daten liefern.


Dies ist geschehen, weil entdeckt wurde, dass emotionale Intelligenz der Schlüssel zum Lernen ist, bedingt dies. Emotionen lenken die Aufmerksamkeit, beeinflussen das Gedächtnis und die Motivation. "Das gesamte Feld der neurowissenschaftlichen Forschung bietet Referenden und wissenschaftliche Unterstützung, die die Bedeutung von Emotionen heute demonstrieren."

Wo Emotionen entstehen

"Emotionen werden im Körper gelebt", sagt Ibarrola. Fühle eine Emotion es ist etwas, das sich sowohl physisch als auch mental widerspiegelt. Erstens ist es der Körper, der erkennt, als Empfänger dient und die Auswirkungen einer Emotion wahrnimmt. Sogar physiologische Veränderungen werden erzeugt, die über sichtbare Reaktionen wie Weinen oder Lachen hinausgehen. Jedes Mal, wenn wir eine Emotion spüren, ändert sich die Zusammensetzung unseres Blutes.


Zweitens identifiziert unser Geist Emotionen, benennt sie und reguliert sie. In diesem Aspekt greift die emotionale Intelligenz ein, denn auf dieser Ebene müssen wir lernen handhaben unsere emotionen.

Es ist wahr, dass es unwillkürliche körperliche Reaktionen gibt, die wir nicht kontrollieren können, wenn wir eine Emotion fühlen. Aber als vernünftige Wesen sind wir in der Lage, die Emotion und ihre Ursache zu verstehen und zu bestimmen, wie man am besten vorgehen kann. "Wir können lernen, da wir sehr klein sind, insbesondere ab dem Alter von drei Jahren", betont Ibarrola.

Studien über das Gehirn

In den 1990er Jahren begann eine Reihe von Forschungen über das Gehirn, teilweise aufgrund des Interesses, das durch Krankheiten wie Alzheimer und Parkinson hervorgerufen wurde. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Entwicklung neuer Technologien auf dem Gebiet der Medizin ein tieferes Studium des menschlichen Geistes.


Aus diesen Untersuchungen beginnt man auch, die subjektivere Welt der Gefühle zu untersuchen. Autoren wie Coleman entdecken die Bedeutung emotionaler Intelligenz und die soziale Dimension der Person. Diese Entdeckungen motivieren Eltern und Erzieher, emotionales Management in die Bildung ihrer Kinder und Schüler einzubeziehen.

Derzeit werden Studien, die sich auf das Gehirn und die emotionale Bildung beziehen, als üblich angesehen. "Heute sehen wir in Krankenhäusern mit Normalität, wie sie Elektroden anlegen, und sie können sehen, ob wir einen Witz gemacht haben oder nicht, einfach aufgrund meiner Gehirnreaktion", sagt Ibarrola.

Emotionale Intelligenz für Glück

Durch das Öffnen eines Fensters zum Gehirn und dessen Beobachtung ist es uns gelungen, eine Reihe von Instrumenten zu erhalten, um die emotionale Intelligenz gründlich zu verstehen und ihre Bedeutung für die Gesellschaft zu retten. Am Ende haben wir erkannt, dass wir durch das Bewusstsein unserer Emotionen gesündere Gehirne bauen können. Ein gesünderes Gehirn und ein gesünder Geist werden uns ein höheres Maß an Wohlbefinden und Glück bringen.

Isabel López Vasquez

Video: Die spirituelle Dimension psychischer Erkrankungen


Interessante Artikel

7 Tipps, um die Sicht während des Lesens zu beachten

7 Tipps, um die Sicht während des Lesens zu beachten

Ob zur Arbeit oder zum Vergnügen, wir verbringen jedes Mal mehr Zeit mit dem Lesen. Fortschritte haben das klassische Format in die Rolle von Büchern verwandelt, und obwohl es immer noch der Favorit...

6 Tasten zum Interpretieren von Kinderzeichnungen

6 Tasten zum Interpretieren von Kinderzeichnungen

Durch die Zeichnungen von Kindern Wir können einige Merkmale seiner Persönlichkeit oder seiner emotionalen Situationen erkennen, die in diesem Moment durchlaufen, wobei stets zu berücksichtigen ist,...