Pediatricians warn of the dangers of neck floats

A summer in family is synonymous with great memories. There are many activities that can be done together, including visits to beaches, pools or lakes where you can enjoy a refreshing swim. The elderly who know how to defend themselves in this environment have it easy not to fall victim to accidents because they do not know how to swim, but the younger ones have to make use of Security elements.

The floats They are one of the items that most accompany families during their summer trips to all these locations. Some products that prevent the risk of submerging in these environments without security elements, proof of this are the 70 to 150 children who die every year in the water. However, not all floats are recommended as such and warned by the Spanish Association of Pediatrics, AEP.


Security and supervision

The first thing parents should keep in mind is that when infants or young children are in or around water they should be within reach and supervised by an experienced adult. By what is surveillance be adequate, the distance to the child should be less than the length of the caregiver's arm, that is to say, it must be within reach.

The simple use of floats or inflatable hoses are not effective protection. While these can be an element that allows contact with water to learn to swim, around 4 years. In recent times, floats have been marketed around the neck to be used by babies.


At present, there are no studies that show that the use of floaters in the neck produces any benefit in babies. On the one hand, the use of inflatable devices It can produce a wrong sense of security. The safest form of bathroom for babies is in the arms of an adult and always subject and supervised.

Publications such as the one made by STA Baby Swimming Tutor It indicates that using these floaters that keeps the neck upright can be counterproductive to development. Babies that are held vertically in the water with their heads supported by a semi-rigid structure, especially the smaller ones, may receive compression of their neck and strain their ligaments and muscles.

Water safety

From the American Association of Pediatrics the following are given security advice so that the little ones can enjoy the activities in the water:


- In places like beaches, parents should be aware of the waves that can knock children down and submerge them. In the case of swimming pools, attention should be paid to depth.

- Children who already swim, even in a shallow pool for small children, should always be observed by an adult, providing "supervision where they can grab" when infants or toddlers fall.

- Publicize safety rules and enforce them in the water.

- Do not allow children to use inflatable toys or mattresses as if they were life jackets.

- Adults should not consume alcoholic beverages when they swim. It presents a danger to them as well as to any children they may be supervising.

Damián Montero

Video: Concussion / Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)


Interesting Articles

How to get children to eat vegetables

How to get children to eat vegetables

One of the oldest battles between parents and children is one in which the former want the latter to eat vegetables. A necessary confrontation since these foods have to be very present in the diet of...

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Knowing, understanding, valuing and appreciating the different manifestations of art is an invaluable source of enjoyment and personal enrichment. For this, parents can accustom their children from...

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Years ago I wrote a book about marriage that I dedicated To my wife, that charming and eternal mystery. We had just celebrated the silver jubilee and thought I could string together some ideas that...

Kinderärzte warnen vor den Gefahren von Halsschwimmen

Ein Sommer in der Familie steht für großartige Erinnerungen. Es gibt viele Aktivitäten, die gemeinsam durchgeführt werden können, einschließlich Besuche an Stränden, Pools oder Seen, wo Sie ein erfrischendes Bad genießen können. Ältere Menschen, die wissen, wie sie sich in dieser Umgebung verteidigen können, haben es leicht, keinen Unfällen zum Opfer zu fallen, weil sie nicht schwimmen können, aber die jüngeren müssen Gebrauch machen Sicherheitselemente.

Die schwimmt Sie sind eines der Elemente, die Familien während ihrer Sommerreisen zu all diesen Orten am meisten begleiten. Einige Produkte, die das Risiko des Eintauchens in diese Umgebungen ohne Sicherheitselemente verhindern, beweisen die 70 bis 150 Kinder, die jedes Jahr im Wasser sterben. Es werden jedoch nicht alle Schwimmkörper als solche empfohlen und vom spanischen Verband für Pädiatrie (AEP) gewarnt.


Sicherheit und Überwachung

Das erste, was Eltern beachten sollten, ist, dass Säuglinge oder Kleinkinder in oder in der Nähe von Wasser in Reichweite und von einem erfahrenen Erwachsenen beaufsichtigt werden sollten. So dass das Überwachung ausreichend sein, sollte der Abstand zum Kind weniger als die Armlänge der Pflegeperson sein, das heißt, es muss in Reichweite sein.

Die einfache Verwendung von schwimmt oder aufblasbare Schläuche sind kein wirksamer Schutz. Diese können zwar ein Element sein, das den Kontakt mit Wasser ermöglicht, um schwimmen zu lernen, etwa 4 Jahre. In der letzten Zeit wurden Schwimmkörper um den Hals für Babys vermarktet.


Derzeit gibt es keine Studien, die belegen, dass die Verwendung von Schwimmern im Nacken bei Babys einen Nutzen bringt. Zum einen die Verwendung von aufblasbare Geräte Es kann ein falsches Sicherheitsgefühl entstehen. Die sicherste Form des Badezimmers für Babys liegt in den Armen eines Erwachsenen und ist immer Gegenstand und Aufsicht.

Publikationen wie die von STA Babyschwimmlehrer Es zeigt an, dass die Verwendung dieser Schwimmkörper, die den Hals aufrecht halten, die Entwicklung kontraproduktiv sein kann. Babys, die senkrecht im Wasser gehalten werden, wobei der Kopf von einer halbstarren Struktur unterstützt wird, insbesondere die kleineren, können eine Kompression des Halses erfahren und die Bänder und Muskeln belasten.

Wasser sicherheit

Von der American Association of Pediatrics werden die folgenden angegeben Sicherheitstipps damit die Kleinen die Aktivitäten im Wasser genießen können:


- An Orten wie an Stränden sollten sich die Eltern der Wellen bewusst sein, durch die Kinder niedergeschlagen und unter Wasser gesetzt werden können. Bei Schwimmbädern sollte auf die Tiefe geachtet werden.

- Kinder, die bereits in einem flachen Pool für kleine Kinder schwimmen, sollten immer von einem Erwachsenen überwacht werden und "beaufsichtigen, wo sie greifen können", wenn Säuglinge oder Kleinkinder fallen.

- Machen Sie die Sicherheitsregeln bekannt und setzen Sie sie im Wasser durch.

- Erlauben Sie Kindern nicht, aufblasbare Spielzeuge oder Matratzen als Schwimmwesten zu verwenden.

- Erwachsene sollten beim Schwimmen keine alkoholischen Getränke zu sich nehmen. Es stellt eine Gefahr für sie sowie für alle Kinder dar, die sie beaufsichtigen können.

Damián Montero

Video: Mehre Kinder mit schweren Pilzvergiftungen – Kinderärzte warnen vor der Gefahr


Interessante Artikel

Zurück zur Schule: 10 Bücher, um Kinder zu erziehen

Zurück zur Schule: 10 Bücher, um Kinder zu erziehen

Die Aufklärung unserer Kinder ist eine ständige Herausforderung, der wir uns jeden Tag stellen, aber wir denken besonders darüber nach, wenn wir mit der Rückkehr in die Schule beginnen. Genau in...

# SomosUnoMásEnLaFamilia

# SomosUnoMásEnLaFamilia

Dies ist die Geschichte der Reise einer spanischen Familie nach Ghana, wo sie die zwei Kinder, die Patenschaften übernommen haben, und die gesamte Gemeinschaft, die sich um sie kümmert, kennenlernte....