Infantile convulsions: blocked by crying

The seizures they constitute, at any age, one of the most alarming and spectacular clinical manifestations. They usually occur in children of clear nervous constitution because of a punishment, a refusal, an unfulfilled desire or, also, because of febrile processes.

It is called convulsion to the abrupt and involuntary contraction of a muscle group. Generally, it is caused by an electrical discharge from the central nervous system, from the brain, and the contraction can be limited to a few muscles like those of the face or those of a limb, although it is more usual to generalize by appearing shakes of the whole body.


A generalized seizure is usually accompanied by the relaxation of the urinary and digestive sphincters so the patient has an involuntary emission of urine and feces. Also, and due to the contracture of the muscles of the throat, the saliva leaves the outside.

In almost all cases of generalized seizure There is simultaneously a loss of consciousness that can last for a longer or shorter period even after the muscle convulsion has ceased.

Crying spasms

The spasms of crying are very frequent in childhood, although there are in them several degrees that it is necessary to know. When the process is complete, its development is like this: the child, usually under five years and of clear nervous constitution, begins to cry for any cause, a blow, a punishment, a desire or dissatisfied caprice.


In a few moments he expels all the air and remains momentarily without breathing; is what grandmothers often describe as the child "gets enchanted" or "it is deprived". Usually after a few seconds, which can be eternal for the relatives who witness the access, the child recovers the breath with a deep inspiratory movement.

But at other times, lack of breathing is prolonged enough to affect the brain; in those cases the child shows purple lips and begins to have jerks of arms and legs, which is the real spasm. In any case, the recovery is almost immediate and the child returns to normal activity as if nothing had happened and never presented any sequelae of such a spectacular episode.

Tranquility first of all

The first paternal action, perhaps the most difficult one, must be to maintain an atmosphere of tranquility in the home, because it is well demonstrated that most of these children belong to families in which there are one or more parents of nervous constitution.


The second consists of do not let yourself be "blackmailed" for the child and his crises. The child, instinctively or consciously, perceives the dominance exercised over their parents and will henceforth use the simple threat of crying to get whatever they want from them.

Once the crying has started, if the child "gets enchanted", he should be stimulated with gentle strokes on the back or by wetting his face with cold water or blowing on it. If, however, the seizure is reached, the child will be placed in a comfortable place where he can not hit himself with any object. The crisis lasts only a few seconds.

It is not an epilepsy

When the seizures are repeated in any period of time we can speak of epilepsy although to give this qualifying diagnosis it is necessary to confirm that there is a zone of the brain, or all of it, that periodically performs those abnormal electric discharges.

Precisely the lack of this information in the main seizures that occur during childhood-febrile convulsions and spasms of crying or sob-is what makes them not included among epileptic disorders.

How to act in the face of a seizure

In both typical and atypical seizures, two general measures have to be taken during their appearance:

- Place the child in a comfortable place and avoid being hurt with violent shaking: undoing the clothes, inserting between the teeth some object that prevents the bite of the tongue by the mandibular contracture.

- Lower the temperature, either by physical means - compresses of cold water or alcohol on the forehead, extremities and in the folds and folds of these - or antipyretic medications.

José Ignacio de Arana. Doctor of medicine and surgery. Specialist in Pediatrics and Childcare

Video: Psychogenic Seizures — What are They, How Can They be Diagnosed and Treated?


Interesting Articles

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Have you been a mother and a worker? Did you continue with your full-time job while you were pregnant? This question has been asked in the United States, finding that thes women who work during...

September exams will be in June

September exams will be in June

Are we going to say goodbye to the September exams? The Education Departments of the different Autonomous Communities are now preparing the school calendar for the next academic year, 2016-2017. One...

How to become a leader

How to become a leader

In today's society, there are many situations that require people willing to decide, to set guidelines and to commit to some objectives. Definitely, leaders are needed. Society also needs people who...

How to teach them to accept their failures?

How to teach them to accept their failures?

Before Christmas arrives, we have to overcome an important annual procedure: the arrival of the school's grades. And they are not always good, sometimes they are darn bad or, at least, worse than...

Kindliche Krämpfe: durch Weinen blockiert

Die Anfälle Sie sind in jedem Alter eine der alarmierendsten und spektakulärsten klinischen Manifestationen. Sie treten in der Regel bei Kindern mit klarer nervöser Konstitution auf, wenn eine Strafe, eine Ablehnung, ein unerfüllter Wunsch oder auch aufgrund von Fieberprozessen die Folge sind.

Es heißt Anfall zur abrupten und unwillkürlichen Kontraktion einer Muskelgruppe. Im Allgemeinen wird es durch eine elektrische Entladung aus dem zentralen Nervensystem und aus dem Gehirn hervorgerufen, und die Kontraktion kann auf einige Muskeln wie die des Gesichts oder die eines Gliedes beschränkt sein, obwohl es üblicher ist, durch Erschütterungen des Ganzen zu generalisieren Körper


Ein generalisierter Anfall geht in der Regel mit einer Entspannung der Harn- und Verdauungsschließmuskeln einher, so dass der Patient unwillkürlich Harn und Kot abgibt. Auch und aufgrund der Kontraktion der Halsmuskulatur verlässt der Speichel die Außenseite.

In fast allen Fällen von generalisierter Anfall Gleichzeitig kommt es zu einem Bewusstseinsverlust, der länger oder kürzer dauern kann, auch nachdem die Muskelkonvulsion beendet ist.

Weinende Krämpfe

Die Krämpfe des Weins sind in der Kindheit sehr häufig, obwohl in ihnen mehrere Grade vorhanden sind, die es zu wissen gilt. Wenn der Prozess abgeschlossen ist, sieht seine Entwicklung folgendermaßen aus: normalerweise das Kind unter fünf Jahren und von klarer nervöser Konstitution fängt es an zu weinen aus irgendeinem Grund, einem Schlag, einer Strafe, einem Verlangen oder einer unzufriedenen Laune.


In wenigen Augenblicken stößt er die Luft aus und bleibt vorübergehend ohne zu atmen; ist das, was Großmütter oft beschreiben, wenn das Kind "verzaubert" wird oder "es wird beraubt". In der Regel nach einigen Sekunden, die für die Angehörigen, die den Zugang beobachten, ewig sein kann, erholt sich das Kind mit einer tiefen inspiratorischen Bewegung.

In anderen Fällen ist der Atemmangel jedoch so lang, dass er das Gehirn beeinträchtigt. in diesen Fällen die Kind zeigt lila Lippen und beginnt mit Rucken an Armen und Beinen, was der eigentliche Krampf ist. In jedem Fall ist die Genesung fast sofort und das Kind kehrt zu normaler Aktivität zurück, als ob nichts passiert wäre, und hatte nie irgendwelche Folgen einer solch spektakulären Episode.

Ruhe zuerst

Die erste väterliche Aktion, vielleicht die schwierigste, muss die Aufrechterhaltung einer ruhigen Atmosphäre in der Wohnung sein, denn es ist gut bewiesen, dass die meisten dieser Kinder zu Familien gehören, in denen ein oder mehrere Eltern mit nervöser Konstitution leben.


Der zweite besteht aus lass dich nicht "erpresst" werden für das Kind und seine Krisen. Das Kind nimmt instinktiv oder bewusst die Dominanz über seine Eltern wahr und wird fortan die einfache Drohung des Schreiens nutzen, um das zu bekommen, was sie von ihm wollen.

Sobald das Weinen beginnt, wird das Kind, wenn es "verzaubert" wird, mit sanften Rückenschlägen oder durch Benetzen seines Gesichtes mit kaltem Wasser oder Blasen darauf stimuliert. Wenn der Anfall jedoch erreicht ist, wird das Kind an einem bequemen Ort abgestellt, an dem es sich mit keinem Gegenstand selbst treffen kann. Die Krise dauert nur wenige Sekunden.

Es ist keine Epilepsie

Wenn sich die Anfälle in einem beliebigen Zeitraum wiederholen, können wir von Epilepsie sprechen. Um diese qualifizierende Diagnose zu stellen, muss jedoch bestätigt werden, dass es eine Zone des Gehirns gibt, die alle diese abnormen elektrischen Entladungen periodisch durchführt.

Gerade das Fehlen dieser Informationen bei den wichtigsten Anfällen, die während der Kindheit auftreten - fieberhafte Krämpfe und Krämpfe von Weinen oder Schluchzen - macht sie nicht zu den epileptischen Erkrankungen.

Wie man sich angesichts eines Anfalls verhält

Bei typischen und atypischen Anfällen müssen zwei allgemeine Maßnahmen während ihres Erscheinens getroffen werden:

- Platzieren Sie das Kind an einem bequemen Ort und vermeiden Sie Verletzungen mit heftigem Schütteln: Ziehen Sie die Kleidung auf, und setzen Sie zwischen die Zähne einen Gegenstand, der das Biss der Zunge durch die Unterkieferkontraktur verhindert.

- die Temperatur senken, entweder durch physikalische Mittel - Kompressen von kaltem Wasser oder Alkohol auf der Stirn, den Extremitäten und in den Falten und Falten dieser - oder fiebersenkende Medikamente.

José Ignacio de Arana. Arzt in Medizin und Chirurgie. Spezialist für Pädiatrie und Kinderbetreuung

Video: A Show of Scrutiny | Critical Role | Campaign 2, Episode 2


Interessante Artikel

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Das An- und Ausziehen Ihres Babys ist eine Aufgabe, die Sie fast mit geschlossenen Augen erledigen müssen. Zu Beginn kann es jedoch kompliziert sein, vor allem wenn Sie ein neues Elternteil sind. Die...