Alcohol consumption during lactation alters the cognitive development of the child

The lactation It has a very important role in the development of every child. Not only because thanks to it ensures proper nutrition during the first months of life in babies, but also because it helps prevent numerous health problems in children and also helps to promote a strong bond between mother and child.

For this reason, precautions must be taken to ensure that this process reports the greatest possible amount of benefits to the youngest children. This also means paying attention to what the mother eats, drinks or her lifestyle while breastfeeding her children. An example is the intake of alcohol during lactation, which can cause an alteration in the cognitive development of children.


Alcohol in breast milk

This warning comes from the study published in the journal Pediatrics where it is indicated that the exposure to alcohol through breast milk has remarkable consequences in the development of the smallest. Proof of this is that in the group of babies analyzed, when 6-7 years they had a lower cognitive capacity.

Another proof of how alcohol was responsible for this reduction in cognitive abilities was the fact that in those mothers who did not breastfeed their children, the aforementioned problems were not detected. That is to say, in the absence of transmission of breast milk, alcohol does not reach the smallest and therefore does not produce this disturbance in this field.


This study is not the first to warn of the risks of alcohol consumption during the period of lactation. From the Association for the Promotion and Scientific and Cultural Research of Breastfeeding the ethyl substances are qualified as "unsafe"and they assign a" somewhat risk "to breastfeeding.

From this entity it is ensured that the consumption of alcohol can cause sedation, detriment, irritability and psychomotor retardation in the infant. In the event that the intake of these substances occurs, it is advisable to allow a minimum time of 2-3 hours to ensure that these drinks have disappeared from the bloodstream of the mothers and do not reach the baby's body.

Recommendations during lactation

The aforementioned study warns of the consequences of alcohol consumption while breastfeeding. A way to know what is not to do in this period, but what is recommended? From the Breastfeeding Committee of the Spanish Association of Pediatrics The following tips are offered:


- Breastfeeding from the first moment. Unless the doctors indicate another criterion, the best thing is that after the birth and the first encounter between baby and mother, the little one is placed on the woman's breast so that her instinct makes her start on her own to breastfeed.

- Chest on demand. It will be the child who decides when he wants to take the breast. The mission of the mother will be to be attentive to these claims in order to feed her son. It will also be necessary to take note of the hours that must pass between intake and intake to ensure that the child is well nourished.

- Exclusive breastfeeding until 6 months. AEP recommends exclusive breastfeeding until 6 months and with adequate complementary feeding, up to two years of life or more. Up to half a year of age, breast milk provides all the necessary nutrients and the earlier introduction of other foods can cause problems.

Damián Montero

Video: Drinking alcohol while breastfeeding could affect child's development study finds


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Alkoholkonsum während der Stillzeit verändert die kognitive Entwicklung des Kindes

Die Laktation Es hat eine sehr wichtige Rolle in der Entwicklung jedes Kindes. Nicht nur, weil es in den ersten Lebensmonaten bei Säuglingen die richtige Ernährung gewährleistet, sondern auch, weil es zahlreichen gesundheitlichen Problemen bei Kindern vorbeugt und auch eine starke Bindung zwischen Mutter und Kind fördert.

Aus diesem Grund müssen Vorkehrungen getroffen werden, um sicherzustellen, dass dieser Prozess den jüngsten Kindern den größtmöglichen Nutzen bringt. Dies bedeutet auch, darauf zu achten, was die Mutter beim Stillen ihrer Kinder isst, trinkt oder ihren Lebensstil. Ein Beispiel ist die Einnahme von Alkohol während Laktation, was zu einer Veränderung der kognitiven Entwicklung von Kindern führen kann.


Alkohol in der Muttermilch

Diese Warnung stammt aus der in der Zeitschrift Pediatrics veröffentlichten Studie, in der darauf hingewiesen wird, dass die Exposition gegenüber Alkohol durch die Muttermilch bemerkenswerte Auswirkungen auf die Entwicklung der kleinsten hat. Ein Beweis dafür ist, dass in der untersuchten Gruppe von Babys wann 6-7 Jahre Sie hatten eine geringere kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit.

Ein weiterer Beweis dafür, dass Alkohol für diese Verringerung der kognitiven Fähigkeiten verantwortlich war, war die Tatsache, dass bei den Müttern, die ihre Kinder nicht stillten, die zuvor genannten Probleme nicht erkannt wurden. Das heißt, in Abwesenheit der Übertragung von Muttermilch erreicht Alkohol nicht das kleinste und produziert dieses daher nicht Änderung in diesem Bereich.


Diese Studie warnt nicht als erste vor den Risiken des Alkoholkonsums in der Stillzeit. Von der Vereinigung für die Förderung und wissenschaftliche und kulturelle Forschung des Stillens werden die Ethylsubstanzen als "unsicher"und sie weisen dem Stillen ein" etwas Risiko "zu.

Von dieser Entität aus ist sichergestellt, dass der Konsum von Alkohol Sedierung, Beeinträchtigung, Reizbarkeit und psychomotorische Retardierung des Säuglings verursachen kann. Für den Fall, dass die Einnahme dieser Substanzen eintritt, ist es ratsam, eine Mindestzeit von 2-3 Stunden um sicherzustellen, dass diese Getränke aus dem Blutstrom der Mütter verschwunden sind und nicht den Körper des Babys erreichen.

Empfehlungen während der Stillzeit

Die vorstehende Studie warnt vor den Folgen des Alkoholkonsums während des Stillens. Ein Weg zu wissen, was in dieser Zeit nicht zu tun ist, aber was wird empfohlen? Aus dem Stillkomitee der spanischen Vereinigung für Pädiatrie Folgende Tipps werden angeboten:


- Stillen vom ersten Moment an. Wenn die Ärzte kein anderes Kriterium angeben, ist das Beste, dass nach der Geburt und dem ersten Zusammentreffen zwischen Baby und Mutter der Kleine auf die Brust der Frau gelegt wird, so dass sein Instinkt dazu führt, dass er alleine zum Stillen beginnt.

- Brust auf Anfrage. Es ist das Kind, das entscheidet, wann es die Brust nehmen soll. Die Mission der Mutter wird sein, auf diese Behauptungen aufmerksam zu sein, um ihren Sohn zu ernähren. Es ist auch notwendig, die Stunden zu beachten, die zwischen Einnahme und Einnahme vergehen müssen, um sicherzustellen, dass das Kind gut genährt wird.

- Exklusives Stillen bis 6 Monate. AEP empfiehlt ausschließliches Stillen bis zu 6 Monaten und bei ausreichender Ergänzungsfütterung bis zu zwei Jahren oder mehr. Muttermilch liefert bis zu einem halben Jahr alle notwendigen Nährstoffe, und die frühere Einführung anderer Lebensmittel kann zu Problemen führen.

Damián Montero

Video: Alkoholkinder - Behinderung durch Alkohol in der Schwangerschaft | WDR Doku


Interessante Artikel

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Das An- und Ausziehen Ihres Babys ist eine Aufgabe, die Sie fast mit geschlossenen Augen erledigen müssen. Zu Beginn kann es jedoch kompliziert sein, vor allem wenn Sie ein neues Elternteil sind. Die...