This summer, be careful with your head!

Launching head to the pool is just one of the causes that, during the summer, increases the number of serious head injuries and traumatic spinal injuries in Spain. The Brain Foundation points out the importance of taking measures to prevent this type of blunt wounds. So this Summer, watch your head!

Summer arrives and with it, there are more cases of serious traumatic brain injury (CET) and spinal cord injuries due, in most cases, to traffic accidents and sports activities.

"In summer, when road trips increase, when the use of protective helmets or other safety measures is neglected due to heat and the practice of sports and, above all, aquatic sports is increased, it is when a greater number of accidents related to bruises to the head"explains Jesús Porta Etessam, director of the Brain Foundation.


Every year, 100,000 cases of TBI occur in Spain. 15% of those affected die, and another 15% are disabled when receiving a strong impact on the head. This is the first cause of death in children under 45, in developed countries.

Profile of those affected by traumatisms

The majority of those affected by this type of head injury during the summer are young people under 30 years of age. The 50% of spinal cord injuries and TCE that occur each year are due to traffic accidents and almost 40% to accidents at work and sports.


Children and adolescents are usually the ones who suffer the most TCE, due, in many cases, to imprudence at the time of getting into the water, either in the pool or on the beach. The excitement caused by the start of the pool season is also a must, as 44% of serious spinal cord injuries occur during the first visit to a pool.

Beyond the water activities and traffic accidents, the TBI caused in children and young adults by other sports seem to increase also in summer. "Accidents related to cycling or riding are also frequent at this time and can be serious."

Keys to accident prevention

The essential is protect our head of any external aggression. This implies, in the case of moving by car, always use the seat belt and have the headrests well placed. And, to take care of the little ones, "children should always travel in special chairs for the car," says Porta.


When it comes to sports, we must make sure that our children always wear a helmet on their head when they use the bicycle, the scooter, ride a horse, etc. In addition, it is necessary to avoid practicing activities that require a high degree of technical difficulty, if adequate preparation or previous training is not available.

Regarding water activities, Porta recommends "checking that there are no obstacles and the depth of the area in which our children or we are going to dive, and watching the children carefully while they are in the water. especially cautious with slides and jet skis, and use the life jacket if you use a boat. "

It is also useful to use the arms as protection if we throw ourselves head to the water, because "the spinal cord injuries during summer dives represent 6% of the total annual cases and do not stop increasing years after years".

Toxic substances

Another factor that can favor the occurrence of TCE is the consumption of substances such as alcohol and drugs before engaging in any sport or leisure activity. "Not only do people get into the water from a great height, accidents occur, but also because many times these practices are associated with the consumption of alcohol or other substances," says Porta.

For this reason, the consumption of these substances should be avoided, especially when going to carry out aquatic activities.

How to act before a traumatic brain injury

In the case of an accident with a traumatic brain injury, in which it is suspected that the damage is serious or unknown, it is necessary to call 112 as soon as possible. It is also advisable not to move the patient, as this may worsen their situation.

Isabel López Vásquez

Video: Be careful Who You Allow To Touch The Crown of Your Head


Interesting Articles

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Say no It can be complicated for many people. If you often answer yes to demands of friendships or work, even if you really know you do not want to do it, if you have a hard time saying no and you...

This develops the baby's sense of balance

This develops the baby's sense of balance

The sense of balance it provides us with a permanent orientation in the three dimensions of space. For this, he uses different structures such as the vestibular apparatus, the eyes and the cutaneous...

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

How is life in general going? An OECD study has measured the 11 dimensions of well-being today. Among its conclusions, it shows that the OECD countries follow different patterns with respect to their...

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Love in youth is of the utmost importance, since the first couple relationships build the sentimental parameters of the people, that is, if at that age a person lives a healthy love, their subsequent...

Seien Sie in diesem Sommer vorsichtig mit Ihrem Kopf!

Das Starten des Schwimmbeckens ist nur eine der Ursachen, die im Sommer die Anzahl schwerer Kopfverletzungen und traumatischer Wirbelsäulenverletzungen in Spanien erhöht. Die Brain Foundation weist darauf hin, dass Maßnahmen ergriffen werden müssen, um diese Art von stumpfen Wunden zu verhindern. Also das hier Sommer, pass auf deinen Kopf auf!

Der Sommer kommt und damit gibt es mehr Fälle von schweren traumatischen Hirnverletzungen (MEZ) und Rückenmarksverletzungen, die in den meisten Fällen darauf zurückzuführen sind Verkehrsunfälle und sportliche Aktivitäten.

"Im Sommer, wenn die Fahrten zunehmen, wenn der Gebrauch von Schutzhelmen oder anderen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen aufgrund von Hitze und der Ausübung des Sports und vor allem des Wassersports zugenommen wird, ist es eine größere Anzahl von Menschen Unfälle im Zusammenhang mit Blutergüsse am Kopf"erklärt Jesús Porta Etessam, Direktor der Brain Foundation.


Jedes Jahr treten in Spanien 100.000 TBI-Fälle auf. 15% der Betroffenen sterben, und weitere 15% sind beim Empfang von a deaktiviert starke Wirkung auf den Kopf. Dies ist die erste Todesursache bei Kindern unter 45 Jahren in Industrieländern.

Profil der Betroffenen

Die Mehrheit der Betroffenen, die im Sommer von dieser Kopfverletzung betroffen sind, sind Jugendliche unter 30 Jahren. Die 50% der Verletzungen des Rückenmarks und TCE, die jedes Jahr auftreten, sind auf Verkehrsunfälle und fast 40% auf Unfälle bei der Arbeit und beim Sport zurückzuführen.


Kinder und Jugendliche leiden in der Regel am stärksten von der TCE, häufig aufgrund von Unvorsichtigkeit beim Einstieg ins Wasser, entweder im Pool oder am Strand. Die Aufregung durch den Beginn der Poolsaison ist ebenfalls ein Muss, denn 44% der schweren Rückenmarksverletzungen treten beim ersten Besuch eines Pools auf.

Über die Wasseraktivitäten und Verkehrsunfälle hinaus scheint das durch andere Sportarten verursachte TBI bei Kindern und jungen Erwachsenen auch im Sommer zuzunehmen. "Unfälle im Zusammenhang mit Radfahren oder Reiten sind zu dieser Zeit ebenfalls häufig und können schwerwiegend sein."

Schlüssel zur Unfallverhütung

Das Wesentliche ist Schütze unseren Kopf jeder äußeren Aggression. Dies bedeutet, wenn Sie mit dem Auto fahren, verwenden Sie immer den Sicherheitsgurt und die Kopfstützen müssen gut positioniert sein. Um sich um die Kleinen zu kümmern, "sollten Kinder immer in speziellen Stühlen für das Auto reisen", sagt Porta.


Wenn es um Sport geht, müssen wir dafür sorgen, dass unsere Kinder immer einen Helm auf dem Kopf tragen, wenn sie Fahrrad, Roller, Pferdereiten usw. benutzen. Darüber hinaus ist es notwendig, Tätigkeiten zu vermeiden, die einen hohen technischen Schwierigkeitsgrad erfordern, wenn keine angemessene Vorbereitung oder vorherige Schulung verfügbar ist.

In Bezug auf die Wasseraktivitäten empfiehlt Porta, "zu überprüfen, dass keine Hindernisse vorhanden sind und in welcher Tiefe unsere Kinder oder wir tauchen wollen, und die Kinder aufmerksam zu beobachten, während sie im Wasser sind. Seien Sie besonders vorsichtig bei Rutschen und Jet-Skis und verwenden Sie die Schwimmweste, wenn Sie ein Boot benutzen. "

Es ist auch nützlich, die Arme als Schutz zu verwenden, wenn wir uns mit dem Kopf ins Wasser werfen, weil "die Rückenmarksverletzungen bei Sommertauchgängen 6% der jährlichen Gesamtfälle ausmachen und Jahre nach Jahren nicht zunehmen".

Giftstoffe

Ein weiterer Faktor, der das Auftreten von TCE begünstigen kann, ist der Konsum von Substanzen wie Alkohol und Drogen vor Sport- oder Freizeitaktivitäten. "Nicht nur Menschen kommen aus großer Höhe ins Wasser, es kommt zu Unfällen, sondern auch, weil diese Praktiken oft mit dem Konsum von Alkohol oder anderen Substanzen in Verbindung gebracht werden", sagt Porta.

Aus diesem Grund sollte der Verzehr dieser Substanzen vermieden werden, insbesondere wenn Wasseraktivitäten ausgehen.

Wie vor einer traumatischen Hirnverletzung zu handeln

Bei einem Unfall mit einer traumatischen Hirnverletzung, bei dem der Verdacht besteht, dass der Schaden schwerwiegend oder unbekannt ist, ist es erforderlich, die 112 so schnell wie möglich anzurufen. Es ist auch ratsam, den Patienten nicht zu bewegen, da dies die Situation verschlimmern kann.

Isabel López Vásquez

Video: Joyce Ilg als verrückte Kassiererin | Verstehen Sie Spaß?


Interessante Artikel

Wie man den Kindern die Karwoche erklärt

Wie man den Kindern die Karwoche erklärt

Die liturgischen Feiern und die Prozessionen, die heutzutage die Straßen überqueren, sind eine gute Gelegenheit, um mit unseren Kindern über wichtige Themen zu sprechen. Ob wir Gläubige sind oder...

Die enormen Vorteile des Lesens

Die enormen Vorteile des Lesens

"Nein, Mom, schick mich nicht zum Lesen, lass mich bitte fernsehen." Es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass viele Eltern ähnliche Sätze gehört haben. Haben sie gegeben? Diese Zeilen richten sich an...