Spend time outdoors to prevent myopia

The state of health of the smallest is a concern of every parent. The prevention of any problem is a mission of the parents, for it they take care in different aspects, from taking care of the feeding of their children until avoiding the exposure to agents that can make them get sick.

Spending time outdoors is an excellent decision when it comes to keeping away problems such as overweight or joint pain. If these were not enough reasons, the Zhongshan ophthalmic center in Guangzhou offers one more: keep the myopia. A recommendation made from an essay published in the journal JAMA.


Forty minutes outside

A total of 1,903 students of 12 schools with uncorrected visual acuity values ​​in their students were the study sample. Students from some of these centers participate in a mandatory forty-minute outdoor class at the end of each school day. At the same time, parents were advised to also increase outdoor activity outside academic hours.

Of the 1,903 children enrolled, 1,579 underwent an evaluation of results after three years. At the beginning of the investigation, at least 2% of the children in each group had myopia. At the conclusion of this work, the prevalence of myopia was lower in the group that had participated in outdoor activities.


In particular, the 30,4% of children who had done outdoor activities had these problems compared to 39.5% of the other group, the authors report. Although the reduction is less than 50%, a percentage that had been theorized by the researchers, this is an important result. "Young children who develop myopia early are more likely to progress to high myopia (6 or more diopters), which increases the risk of pathological myopia," the authors explain.

Treatment of myopia

Although the results of this research open a new path in the prevention of myopia, today there is no efficient formula to keep this problem away. The best in cases where this situation is detected is to start a good treatment like the one offered by the American Academy of Ophthalmology.


The most common treatment is the use of glasses or contact lenses for the correction of the symptoms of myopia. East mechanism It helps to reorient the rays of light on the retina, compensating the shape of your eye. They can also help protect your eyes from harmful ultraviolet (UV) rays. A lens coating that repels ultraviolet rays is available.

In many cases, people can choose to correct myopia with a surgical intervention. These surgeries are used to correct or improve your vision by reshaping the cornea, or the front surface of the eye, effectively adjusting the focus ability of the eye.

Damián Montero

Video: Outdoor Activity Prevents Myopia AND Longer School Lunches Lead to Healthier Eating


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Verbringen Sie Zeit im Freien, um Kurzsichtigkeit zu verhindern

Der Gesundheitszustand der Kleinsten ist ein Anliegen aller Eltern. Die Vermeidung von Problemen ist eine Aufgabe der Eltern, denn sie kümmern sich in verschiedenen Aspekten um die Ernährung ihrer Kinder bis zur Vermeidung der Einwirkung von Erregern, die sie dazu bringen können krank werden.

Zeit im Freien zu verbringen, ist eine ausgezeichnete Entscheidung, um Probleme wie Übergewicht oder Gelenkschmerzen fernzuhalten. Wenn dies nicht genug Gründe waren, bietet das Zhongshan Augenzentrum in Guangzhou noch einen weiteren an: Halten Sie das Kurzsichtigkeit. Eine Empfehlung aus einem in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichten Aufsatz JAMA.


Vierzig Minuten draußen

Insgesamt 1.903 Studenten Von 12 Schulen mit unkorrigierten Visuswerten bei ihren Schülern wurde die Stichprobe genommen. Schüler aus einigen dieser Zentren nehmen am Ende eines jeden Schultages an einem obligatorischen 40-minütigen Outdoor-Kurs teil. Gleichzeitig wurde den Eltern geraten, die Aktivität im Freien außerhalb der Unterrichtsstunden zu erhöhen.

Von den 1.903 Kindern wurden 1.579 nach drei Jahren einer Ergebnisbewertung unterzogen. Zu Beginn der Untersuchung hatten mindestens 2% der Kinder in jeder Gruppe Kurzsichtigkeit. Nach Abschluss dieser Arbeit war die Prävalenz von Kurzsichtigkeit in der Gruppe, die an Outdoor-Aktivitäten teilgenommen hatte, niedriger.


Insbesondere die 30,4% Nach Angaben der Autoren hatten Kinder, die im Freien aktiv waren, diese Probleme, verglichen mit 39,5% der anderen Gruppe. Obwohl der Rückgang weniger als 50% beträgt, was von den Forschern theoretisch angenommen wurde, ist dies ein wichtiges Ergebnis. "Bei kleinen Kindern, die frühzeitig Myopie entwickeln, steigt die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass sie zu einer hohen Myopie (6 oder mehr Dioptrien) führen, was das Risiko einer pathologischen Myopie erhöht", erklären die Autoren.

Behandlung von Kurzsichtigkeit

Obwohl die Ergebnisse dieser Forschung einen neuen Weg in der Prävention von Kurzsichtigkeit eröffnen, gibt es heute keine wirksame Formel, um dieses Problem abzuwenden. In Fällen, in denen diese Situation erkannt wird, ist es am besten, eine gute Behandlung zu beginnen, wie sie von der angeboten wird Amerikanische Akademie für Augenheilkunde.


Die häufigste Behandlung ist die Verwendung von Brillen oder Kontaktlinsen zur Korrektur der Myopiesymptome. Dieser hier Mechanismus Es hilft, die Lichtstrahlen auf der Netzhaut neu auszurichten und die Form Ihres Auges auszugleichen. Sie können auch dazu beitragen, Ihre Augen vor schädlichen UV-Strahlen zu schützen. Eine Linsenbeschichtung, die ultraviolette Strahlen abweist, ist verfügbar.

In vielen Fällen können die Menschen die Myopie durch einen chirurgischen Eingriff korrigieren. Diese Operationen werden zur Korrektur von oder verwendet verbessern sie ihre vision durch Umformen der Hornhaut oder der Vorderfläche des Auges, wodurch die Fokussierfähigkeit des Auges effektiv eingestellt wird.

Damián Montero

Video: Dominion (2018) - full documentary [Official]


Interessante Artikel

Das schwarze Schaf der Familie

Das schwarze Schaf der Familie

Sei der schwarze Schafe der Familie es bedeutet, innerhalb einer homogenen Familiengruppe unterschiedlich zu sein. Die Unterschiede der betrachteten schwarzen Schafe der Familie sind in der Regel...

Die Gefahren des Missbrauchs von Videospielen

Die Gefahren des Missbrauchs von Videospielen

Mit dem Ausbau neuer Technologien Netzwerk-Videospiele Sie waren auch in den meisten Häusern präsent. Diese Form der digitalen Freizeit ermöglicht es unseren Kindern, einige Fähigkeiten zu erwerben....