Learning to manage emotions: how to teach children

As adults, we must understand that all emotions, even the negatives, have a value and a teaching. Therefore, we must use our own emotions as an opportunity to teach our children to manage theirs and develop their emotional intelligence.

The Emotions are sensations and feelings that develop in our interior every day. As adults, we have learned to manage them, although not always correctly. However, if we want our children to develop a healthy emotional intelligence, we have to teach them how to express and control them in the best possible way.

There is a wide range of emotions. Although some make us feel better than others, they all contribute something to our life and personality. Emotional intelligence is learning to manage those emotions that are harder to deal with, such as anger and sadness.


"Identifying them, in the first place, to manage them later is the basis of emotional learning for children." We can begin to teach children to name emotions from around age 3. And one of the best methods to convey the keys to the emotional management of our children is through the example, "says Begoña Ibarrola, a psychologist and an expert in emotional education.

Emotional management for families

With the intention of protecting our children, adults tend to hide those events that we know can harm children. One of the things we hide the most is our emotions.

There is a belief that you always have to appear strong to appear before our children as superheroes who can do everything. But to insist on this makes us lose a great opportunity to teach our children to manage their emotions. Sometimes, vulnerability is much more valuable than any fortress.


In this sense, we should not repress negative emotions, but give them the value they deserve and the appropriate place within our day to day. Instead of hiding what we feel to prevent our children from becoming sad or angry with us, we should take these moments as "a wonderful opportunity to share an emotion with them", says Ibarrola.

Children learn a lot through example, by imitating model figures such as parents. Therefore, we must use situations such as the death of a relative to show our children how to deal with sadness, for example. The psychologist Begoña Ibarrola states that "in circumstances like these, it is natural that we are emotionally affected, there is no reason to hide this from the children, but we must share it with them and teach them strategies to get out of sadness or other difficult emotions."


5 tips to help our children manage emotions

Emotional intelligence is acquired, that is, it can be learned and taught. There are even experts who talk about emotional coefficient as a measure of emotional abilities. These are the tips that Begoña Ibarrola gives us to teach our children to manage emotions:

1. Help him express and talk about his emotions. Putting emotions out loud is a way for your child to learn to recognize them. Encourage him to tell you what he feels and try together to discover the source of that emotion.

2. Recognize the emotions of others. To develop emotional intelligence, your children should practice empathy. That is part of the importance of not hiding our own emotions from our children. Through practice, children will be able to identify facial expressions, body language and other traits that allow them to interact better with other people and build deep and beneficial relationships.

3. One method for each. Each child is different, and expresses and manages their emotions in a different way. It is important that we identify what is best for our children when managing negative emotions: listening to music, coloring, going to a quiet place, etc.

4. Emotions and learning. As we mentioned earlier, each emotion brings something into a person's life. Discuss with your children to discover together what they learned after experiencing some emotion.

5. Write and create stories. Together with your children, encourage yourself to write stories that reflect how different characters manage their emotions. Sometimes it is easier for children to understand emotions through the experiences of the protagonists of the story. Remember these stories to your children when you notice that it costs to manage an emotional situation.

Through simple tips like these and serving as an example to our children we can guide them in the management of their emotions and guide them to deal with them correctly, in the case that they are negative. Because, after all, as Ibarrola mentions, "it is very easy to enter into an emotion, that is why what you have to teach them is to get out of it".

Isabel López Vasquez
Advice: Begoña Ibarrola, psychologist and writer

Video: Feeling and Emotion for kids| How to manage emotion


Interesting Articles

Menorca as a family, a different destination

Menorca as a family, a different destination

The island of Menorca, located north of the Balearic archipelago, is one of the most beautiful paradises in the western Mediterranean. Thanks to being protected by UNESCO since 1993 as a Biosphere...

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

Copper is an essential mineral for health that helps to preventfetal malformations, anemia, growth problems or birth weight losses. For this reason, the pregnancy and lactation These are two periods...

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The trinkets, sweets and pastries are part of the children's routine, but your intake can be very harmful to your health and the one of the majors since they contain great amounts of sugar and...

Mit Emotionen umgehen lernen: Wie man Kinder unterrichtet

Als Erwachsene müssen wir das alles verstehen EmotionenSelbst die Negativen haben einen Wert und eine Lehre. Deshalb müssen wir unsere eigenen Emotionen als eine Gelegenheit nutzen, um unseren Kindern beizubringen, mit ihnen umzugehen und ihre emotionale Intelligenz zu entwickeln.

Die Emotionen sind Empfindungen und Gefühle die sich in unserem Inneren jeden Tag entwickeln. Als Erwachsene haben wir gelernt, mit ihnen umzugehen, wenn auch nicht immer richtig. Wenn wir jedoch möchten, dass unsere Kinder eine gesunde emotionale Intelligenz entwickeln, müssen wir ihnen beibringen, wie sie sie am besten ausdrücken und kontrollieren können.

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Emotionen. Obwohl sich manche bei uns besser fühlen als bei anderen, tragen alle etwas zu unserem Leben und unserer Persönlichkeit bei. Emotionale Intelligenz lernt, mit Emotionen umzugehen, die schwieriger zu handhaben sind, wie Ärger und Trauer.


„Die Identifizierung von ihnen ist in erster Linie die Grundlage für das spätere Management der Basis für das emotionale Lernen von Kindern.“ Wir können Kindern das Benennen von Emotionen ab einem Alter von 3 Jahren beibringen. Und eine der besten Methoden, um die Schlüssel zu vermitteln Das emotionale Management unserer Kinder geschieht durch das Beispiel ", sagt Begoña Ibarrola, Psychologin und Experte für emotionale Erziehung.

Emotionales Management für Familien

Mit der Absicht, unsere Kinder zu schützen, neigen Erwachsene dazu, die Ereignisse zu verbergen, von denen wir wissen, dass sie Kindern schaden können. Am meisten verbergen wir unsere Emotionen.

Es besteht die Überzeugung, dass Sie immer stark erscheinen müssen, um vor unseren Kindern als Superhelden zu erscheinen, die alles können. Aber wenn wir darauf bestehen, verlieren wir eine großartige Gelegenheit, unseren Kindern beizubringen, mit ihren Emotionen umzugehen. Manchmal ist Verwundbarkeit viel wertvoller als jede Festung.


In diesem Sinne sollten wir negative Emotionen nicht verdrängen, sondern ihnen den Wert geben, den sie verdienen, und den geeigneten Platz in unserem Alltag. Anstatt zu verbergen, was wir fühlen, damit unsere Kinder nicht traurig oder wütend auf uns werden, sollten wir diese Momente als "eine wunderbare Gelegenheit nutzen, um eine Emotion mit ihnen zu teilen", sagt Ibarrola.

Kinder lernen viel durch Beispiel, indem sie Modellfiguren wie Eltern imitieren. Deshalb müssen wir Situationen wie den Tod eines Angehörigen nutzen, um unseren Kindern zum Beispiel den Umgang mit Traurigkeit zu zeigen. Der Psychologe Begoña Ibarrola erklärt: "Es ist natürlich, dass wir unter Umständen wie diesen emotional betroffen sind, es gibt keinen Grund, dies vor den Kindern zu verbergen, aber wir müssen es mit ihnen teilen und ihnen Strategien beibringen, um aus der Traurigkeit oder anderen schwierigen Emotionen herauszukommen."


5 Tipps für unsere Kinder beim Umgang mit Emotionen

Emotionale Intelligenz wird erworben, das heißt, sie kann gelernt und gelehrt werden. Es gibt sogar Experten, die über den emotionalen Koeffizienten als Maß für die emotionalen Fähigkeiten sprechen. Dies sind die Tipps, die uns Begoña Ibarrola gibt, um unseren Kindern den Umgang mit Emotionen beizubringen:

1. Helfen Sie ihm, seine Gefühle auszudrücken und zu sprechen. Wenn Sie Ihre Gefühle laut ausdrücken, können Sie Ihr Kind lernen, diese zu erkennen. Ermutigen Sie ihn, Ihnen zu sagen, was er fühlt und versuchen Sie gemeinsam, die Quelle dieser Emotion zu entdecken.

2. Erkennen Sie die Emotionen anderer. Um emotionale Intelligenz zu entwickeln, sollten Ihre Kinder Empathie üben. Das ist ein Teil der Wichtigkeit, unsere eigenen Emotionen nicht vor unseren Kindern zu verbergen. Durch Übung können Kinder Gesichtsausdrücke, Körpersprache und andere Merkmale erkennen, die es ihnen ermöglichen, besser mit anderen Menschen zu interagieren und tiefe und vorteilhafte Beziehungen aufzubauen.

3. Eine Methode für jeden. Jedes Kind ist anders und drückt und steuert seine Emotionen auf andere Weise. Es ist wichtig, dass wir herausfinden, was für unsere Kinder das Beste ist, wenn sie mit negativen Emotionen umgehen: Musik hören, malen, zu einem ruhigen Ort gehen usw.

4. Emotionen und Lernen. Wie bereits erwähnt, bringt jede Emotion etwas in das Leben einer Person. Diskutieren Sie mit Ihren Kindern, um gemeinsam herauszufinden, was sie nach einigen Emotionen gelernt haben.

5. Schreiben und erstellen Sie Geschichten. Ermutigen Sie sich zusammen mit Ihren Kindern, Geschichten zu schreiben, die zeigen, wie verschiedene Charaktere mit ihren Emotionen umgehen. Manchmal ist es für Kinder leichter, Emotionen durch die Erfahrungen der Protagonisten der Geschichte zu verstehen. Erinnern Sie sich diese Geschichten an Ihre Kinder, wenn Sie feststellen, dass die Bewältigung einer emotionalen Situation Kosten verursacht.

Durch einfache Tipps wie diese und als Beispiel für unsere Kinder können wir sie beim Umgang mit ihren Emotionen leiten und sie dazu anleiten, richtig mit ihnen umzugehen, falls sie negativ sind. Denn schließlich, wie Ibarrola erwähnt, "ist es sehr einfach, auf eine Emotion einzugehen, deshalb müssen Sie ihnen beibringen, aus ihr herauszukommen".

Isabel López Vasquez
Hinweis: Begoña Ibarrola, Psychologe und Schriftsteller

Video: Wenn Kinder zur Herausforderung werden: ADHS und Co


Interessante Artikel

Hast du die Erlaubnis deine Kinder anzuschreien?

Hast du die Erlaubnis deine Kinder anzuschreien?

Viele Eltern haben beschlossen, ihre Kinder großzuziehen ohne schreien, ohne strafen und ohne peitschen. Sie haben sich dafür entschieden, die Kontrolle nicht zu verlieren und Konflikte möglichst...

10 Modelle der Freundschaft zwischen Kindern

10 Modelle der Freundschaft zwischen Kindern

Soziale Beziehungen und das Konzept der Freundschaft als solches entstehen erst nach einem bestimmten Alter. Kinder als soziale Wesen neigen, da sie sehr jung sind, zu anderen Kindern. Sie müssen in...