The effects of a misuse of new technologies by children

Today, living without new technologies is impossible. Many screens surround the day to day of the smallest, young and adults offering many facilities in the day to day. However, negligent use can also lead to various problems reported by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

This body points out the risks that young people face in the face of negligent use of new technologies. This entity also reminds parents of the importance they have in the development of their children and the example that can be given to the youngest of the house.

Influence on behavior

The American Academy of Pediatrics first recalls the influence that parents have on the behavior of their children. An effect that also occurs in new technologies, the first step is to apply rules of correct use in the home. Nail rules that must be fulfilled by the adults so that the rest have a good example of the figure of authority.


Otherwise, as for example the use of new technologies by parents in family dinners and other events, it indicates to the smallest ones that there is no limit in the use of these devices. Given these abuses of screens begins to generate a process of dependence on young people, as indicated by the University of Castilla-La Mancha in its project for the prevention of addictions:

- Pleasant and comforting behavior is produced for the young person while using these technologies.

- There is an increase in thoughts related to such behavior at times when the person is not involved in it. You miss these activities to feel the same experience.


- The behavior tends to become more and more frequent in the search for this pleasant experience.

- There is an intense desire to carry out the behavior, with very high expectations.

- The behavior (use of new technologies) is no longer the pleasant effect, but the relief of discomfort for not using these screens.

Increase in tension

Faced with this situation, two paths can be taken. On the one hand, that adolescents continue to use new technologies to relieve your discomfort. In this case, the result is that they end up leaving aside other activities that are necessary for their day-to-day life, even isolating them from their daily relationships and ending up developing their social life within the digital environment.

Otherwise, in which parents begin to impose limits in the use of new technologies a separation process occurs where the tension in the home increases:


- Intense impulse to perform conduct in which one is working and that brings with it detrimental effects for the person who executes it.

- Increasing tension by not being able to perform these behaviors that previously reported "pleasure".

- Temporary disappearance of tension until the young person is able to find this satisfaction in other activities.

How to know when the young person needs this help? Experts point out that it is difficult to determine when the use of new technologies becomes inadequate. In the absence of definitions, we could use the criteria of excessive time dedicated to the activity, loss of control over it and interference with the activities of daily life.

Damián Montero

Video: Catherine Steiner-Adair: How Technology Affects Child Development


Interesting Articles

How to get children to eat vegetables

How to get children to eat vegetables

One of the oldest battles between parents and children is one in which the former want the latter to eat vegetables. A necessary confrontation since these foods have to be very present in the diet of...

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Knowing, understanding, valuing and appreciating the different manifestations of art is an invaluable source of enjoyment and personal enrichment. For this, parents can accustom their children from...

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Years ago I wrote a book about marriage that I dedicated To my wife, that charming and eternal mystery. We had just celebrated the silver jubilee and thought I could string together some ideas that...

Die Auswirkungen eines Missbrauchs neuer Technologien durch Kinder

Das Leben ohne neue Technologien ist heute unmöglich. Viele Bildschirme umgeben den Alltag der Kleinsten, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen und bieten viele Einrichtungen im Alltag. Eine fahrlässige Verwendung kann jedoch auch zu verschiedenen Problemen führen, die von der Website gemeldet werden Amerikanische Akademie für Pädiatrie.

Dieses Gremium weist auf die Risiken hin, denen sich junge Menschen gegenübersehen fahrlässiger Gebrauch neuer Technologien. Diese Entität erinnert die Eltern auch an die Bedeutung, die sie für die Entwicklung ihrer Kinder haben, und das Beispiel, das den Jüngsten des Hauses gegeben werden kann.

Einfluss auf das Verhalten

Die American Academy of Pediatrics erinnert zunächst an den Einfluss, den Eltern auf das Verhalten ihrer Kinder haben. Ein Effekt, der auch bei neuen Technologien auftritt, besteht im ersten Schritt darin, Regeln für die korrekte Verwendung im Haushalt anzuwenden. Einige Regeln das muss von den Erwachsenen erfüllt werden, damit der Rest ein gutes Beispiel für die Autorität hat.


Ansonsten, wie zum Beispiel der Einsatz neuer Technologien durch Eltern bei Familienessen und andere Ereignisse, zeigt es den Kleinsten an, dass die Verwendung dieser Geräte unbegrenzt ist. Angesichts dieser Missbräuche von Bildschirmen beginnt sich ein Abhängigkeitsprozess von Jugendlichen zu entwickeln, wie die Universität von Castilla-La Mancha in ihrem Projekt zur Suchtprävention zeigt:

- Beim Einsatz dieser Technologien wird für den Jugendlichen ein angenehmes und beruhigendes Verhalten erzeugt.

- In Zeiten, in denen die Person nicht daran beteiligt ist, nehmen die Gedanken in Bezug auf dieses Verhalten zu. Sie vermissen diese Aktivitäten, um dieselbe Erfahrung zu erleben.


- Bei der Suche nach dieser angenehmen Erfahrung neigt das Verhalten dazu, immer häufiger zu werden.

- Es besteht ein starker Wunsch, das Verhalten mit sehr hohen Erwartungen auszuführen.

- Das Verhalten (Einsatz neuer Technologien) ist nicht mehr die angenehme Wirkung, sondern die Erleichterung der Unbequemlichkeit, wenn diese Bildschirme nicht verwendet werden.

Spannung erhöhen

Angesichts dieser Situation können zwei Wege beschritten werden. Zum einen setzen Jugendliche weiterhin neue Technologien ein lindern Sie Ihre Beschwerden. In diesem Fall haben sie das Ergebnis, dass sie andere Aktivitäten, die für ihren Alltag notwendig sind, beiseite lassen und sie sogar von ihren täglichen Beziehungen isoliert und ihr soziales Leben im digitalen Umfeld entwickelt.

Ansonsten, in dem Eltern anfangen zu zwingen Grenzen Beim Einsatz neuer Technologien kommt es zu einem Trennungsprozess, bei dem die Spannungen im Haushalt zunehmen:


- Intensiver Impuls zur Durchführung eines Verhaltens, in dem man arbeitet und das nachteilige Auswirkungen auf die Person hat, die es ausführt.

- Erhöhte Spannung, da diese Verhaltensweisen, die zuvor als "Vergnügen" bezeichnet wurden, nicht ausgeführt werden konnten.

- Vorübergehendes Verschwinden der Spannung, bis der Jugendliche diese Befriedigung bei anderen Aktivitäten finden kann.

Wie kann man wissen, wann der Jugendliche diese Hilfe benötigt? Experten weisen darauf hin, dass es schwierig ist festzustellen, wann der Einsatz neuer Technologien unzureichend wird. In Ermangelung von Definitionen könnten wir die Kriterien übermäßiger Zeit für die Tätigkeit, Kontrollverlust und Beeinflussung der Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens verwenden.

Damián Montero

Video: Polizei der Zukunft – wenn der Computer Verbrechen vorhersagt | Doku | SRF DOK


Interessante Artikel

Lernen Sie gesunde Gewohnheiten in der Schule

Lernen Sie gesunde Gewohnheiten in der Schule

Nach der Rückkehr in die Schule verbringen Kinder einen Großteil ihrer Schultage mit durchschnittlich 792 Stunden pro Jahr. Aus diesem Grund ist dies der ideale Ort, um Wissen über gesunde...

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Die Depression Es ist eine der schlimmsten Situationen, die eine Person durchmachen kann. Ein ständiges Gefühl der Traurigkeit, das scheinbar kein Ende zu haben scheint und diejenigen, die diese...