The benefits of unstructured play for children

Game and childhood go hand in hand. These activities entertain the little ones, allow parents to approach their children and strengthen the bond with them and also grant several benefits to children. By participating in these moments, children use their imagination and know the world around them.

Ways to to play There are many, not only for the options that range from the practice of a sport to the emulation of a kitchen. Also the way in which these activities are carried out influences the development of the child through these activities. An example is the unstructured game, that is, free participation and without established rules allowing the child to let his imagination fly.


What is unstructured play

What is the unstructured game? This question is answered by Milagros María Campins and Marcela Hidalgo from the University of San Andrés, Argentina, who have worked to see how these activities can benefit the development of the youngest members of the household. These practices are understood as those formulas that make the little ones get out of their comfort zone.

Children are given different objects but they have to choose how to use them and not receive instructions on their use. In this way it is intended to stimulate your imagination and encourage research into the possibilities that these objects offers them.


Among the objects that were offered in this work stand out common elements such as corks, rings, fabrics of different colors, etc. Those responsible for this study highlight how the concentration of children grew when they had to discover all the possibilities offered by these materials. The little ones paid attention to the characteristics of what they had and how they could use it.

In this way the children were able to spend hours and hours playing while discovering the possibilities. It was also remarkable how the children communicated with their classmates and discovered their experiences with these objects and the uses they had found to enjoy.

Physical and mental benefits

The work done by the University of San Andrés is not the only one that highlights the benefits of unstructured games. The Public Health Service of Canada Other positive effects that can be used by children who bet on these activities are highlighted:


- Better management of emotional health. The unstructured games promote a better image of the child and this will improve their self-esteem by being able to solve a problem as simple as having fun with what is at hand. In addition, participating in these activities will reduce your anxiety by staying busy and distracted.

- Physical and motor apparatus improvements. Unstructured play also encourages children to leave sedentary lifestyles and experiment. If these activities are done outside the home, the little ones can let their imagination run wild as they move outside their four walls.

- Improvement of resilience. Unstructured play means facing a problem: there are no rules or a plan to have fun. The child has to manage in this adversity, a skill that will help them as they grow up and face different problems.

Damián Montero

Video: How to Encourage Play: 7 Benefits of Unstructured Play


Interesting Articles

4 consequences of working sitting 6 hours a day

4 consequences of working sitting 6 hours a day

To be sitting six hours a day, something that we do during the school phase between classes and study hours, as well as at work, since most people who work in offices or with new technologies must...

8 refreshing water games for summer

8 refreshing water games for summer

With summer comes the heat and the desire to find cool plans to have fun with children. During the holidays, visiting places like beaches and pools allow us to get closer to that feeling of freshness...

Die Vorteile von unstrukturiertem Spiel für Kinder

Spiel und Kindheit gehen Hand in Hand. Diese Aktivitäten unterhalten die Kleinen, ermöglichen es Eltern, sich ihren Kindern zu nähern, die Bindung zu ihnen zu stärken und Kindern verschiedene Vorteile zu gewähren. Durch die Teilnahme an diesen Momenten nutzen Kinder ihre Vorstellungskraft und kennen die Welt um sie herum.

Formen von spielen Es gibt viele, nicht nur für die Optionen, die von der Ausübung eines Sports bis zur Nachahmung einer Küche reichen. Auch die Art und Weise, wie diese Aktivitäten ausgeführt werden, beeinflusst durch diese Aktivitäten die Entwicklung des Kindes. Ein Beispiel ist das unstrukturierte Spiel, dh freie Teilnahme und ohne festgelegte Regeln, die es dem Kind erlauben, seiner Fantasie freien Lauf zu lassen.


Was ist unstrukturiertes Spiel

Was ist das unstrukturierte Spiel? Diese Frage wird von Milagros María Campins und Marcela Hidalgo von der Universität von San Andrés, Argentinien, beantwortet, die daran gearbeitet haben, zu sehen, wie diese Aktivitäten der Entwicklung der jüngsten Mitglieder des Haushalts zugute kommen können. Diese Praktiken werden als Formeln verstanden, die die Kleinen dazu bringen, aus ihren herauszukommen Komfortzone.

Kinder erhalten verschiedene Gegenstände, müssen sich jedoch entscheiden, wie sie verwendet werden sollen, und keine Anweisungen für ihre Verwendung erhalten. Auf diese Weise soll Ihre Fantasie angeregt und die Erforschung der Möglichkeiten dieser Objekte angeregt werden bietet sie an.


Unter den Objekten, die in dieser Arbeit angeboten wurden, fallen auf gemeinsame Elemente wie Korken, Ringe, Stoffe in verschiedenen Farben usw. Die Verantwortlichen dieser Studie zeigen auf, wie die Konzentration der Kinder gewachsen ist, als sie alle Möglichkeiten entdecken mussten, die diese Materialien bieten. Die Kleinen achteten auf die Eigenschaften ihres Wesens und wie sie es nutzen konnten.

Auf diese Weise konnten die Kinder stundenlang spielen, während sie das Internet entdeckten Möglichkeiten. Es war auch bemerkenswert, wie die Kinder mit ihren Klassenkameraden kommunizierten und ihre Erfahrungen mit diesen Objekten und den Nutzen entdeckten, die sie gefunden hatten.

Körperliche und geistige Vorteile

Die Arbeit der Universität von San Andrés ist nicht die einzige, die die Vorteile unstrukturierter Spiele hervorhebt. Die Öffentlicher Gesundheitsdienst von Kanada Andere positive Effekte, die von Kindern genutzt werden können, die auf diese Aktivitäten wetten, werden hervorgehoben:


- Besseres Management der emotionalen Gesundheit. Die unstrukturierten Spiele fördern ein besseres Image des Kindes. Dies verbessert das Selbstwertgefühl, da es in der Lage ist, ein Problem zu lösen, das so einfach ist wie Spaß an dem, was gerade zur Verfügung steht. Darüber hinaus verringert die Teilnahme an diesen Aktivitäten Ihre Angst, indem Sie beschäftigt und abgelenkt bleiben.

- Verbesserungen an physischen und motorischen Apparaten. Unstrukturiertes Spiel ermutigt Kinder auch dazu, sitzende Lebensstile zu verlassen und zu experimentieren. Wenn diese Aktivitäten außerhalb des Hauses durchgeführt werden, können die Kleinen ihrer Fantasie freien Lauf lassen, wenn sie sich außerhalb ihrer vier Wände bewegen.

- Verbesserung der Widerstandsfähigkeit. Unstrukturiertes Spiel bedeutet, sich einem Problem zu stellen: Es gibt keine Regeln oder einen Plan, um Spaß zu haben. Das Kind muss in dieser Notlage zurechtkommen, eine Fähigkeit, die ihm beim Aufwachsen und bei unterschiedlichen Problemen helfen wird.

Damián Montero

Video: Dokumentarfilm - Die Neuvermessung der Welt Arte Doku 2016 HD


Interessante Artikel

Was ist das beste Alter, um zu bezahlen?

Was ist das beste Alter, um zu bezahlen?

Ab welchem ​​Alter wird empfohlen, diesen wöchentlichen Lohn zu zahlen? Wann kann das Kind mit dieser wirtschaftlichen Autonomie ausgestattet werden, um seine Ausgaben zu bezahlen? Diese Entscheidung...