The detection of learning problems in children as a solution to school failure

Eurostat data makes it clear, Spain is the second country in the European Union with the highest rate of school failure. Only Malta exceeds the figures of our country in this field. During 2017, within our borders, 18.3% of young people between 18 and 24 years old abandoned their studies prematurely, having completed the first cycle of Secondary Education.

Given this situation, there are many organizations that focus on alleviating these effects and trying to remedy this context. This is the case of the Alisio Foundation and the Dexeus University Hospital, who have launched a program with which they intend to recognize the first symptoms that may cause the school failure and in this way treat them.


Learning difficulties

Among the symptoms that are intended to detect include learning disorders such as dyslexia or dyscalculia; language disorders or other neuropsychological disorders such as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity (ADHD) which, if added to complex socioeconomic situations, dysfunctional families etc. they can damage the growth personl and educational of the child.

"The objective of this project is to help children with complicated cognitive conditions through the identification and shock treatment of the disorder but also to train educators to follow the child's evolution once the project is finished," explains the president of the Alisio Foundation, Pablo Garriga.


This program has already been launched during the course 2017-2018 with a total of 44 students from a Barcelona school. This pilot test has had different phases, the first of which has paid attention to the characteristics of each child and detect possible disorders that result in learning difficulties.

After detecting these problems, parents were informed about the situation of the children and the second phase of this pilot test began. In this part, a group therapy was started for 10 weeks. Pablo Garriga emphasizes that this first test has offered interesting results and could serve to adapt the school itinerary to the needs of children, such as the possibility of performing written exams for students with dyslexia.

Improve school performance

Although disorders such as dyslexia or ADHD can influence school performance, there are many other factors that can also influence this. Here are some tips to prevent the student from failing within his academic life:


1. Inquire and find out the cause of the poor performance. Observing the child and talking with him can help to find the cause of poor performance: difficulty in seeing, problems with a partner, etc.

2. Create a study routine that contributes to habit consolidation.

3. Educate them to develop their responsibility and their capacity for effort. It is important that from a young age they are taught to be responsible and to strive to achieve their goals.

4. Employ positive discipline and an adequate level of demand.

5. Propose goals that are challenging but affordable. If the student sees that he is capable of meeting certain objectives, he will receive motivation to move forward.

6. Teach them different study techniques and choose those that fit their characteristics.

Damián Montero

Video: How to Recognize ADHD Symptoms in Children


Interesting Articles

How the LOMCE affects teachers

How the LOMCE affects teachers

With the recently released LOMCE Education Law -for the time being applied in the 1st, 3rd and 5th years of Primary Education and Basic Education-, there are many changes in the educational landscape...

To better rest, greater control of the sugar consumed

To better rest, greater control of the sugar consumed

Food and break they are two of the issues that every person must take care of. On the one hand monitor what is eaten and ensure, among many other things not to exceed the consumption of sugar. On the...

Die Erkennung von Lernproblemen bei Kindern als Lösung für Schulversagen

Eurostat-Daten machen deutlich, dass Spanien das zweitgrößte Land der Europäischen Union ist Schulversagen. Nur Malta übertrifft die Zahlen unseres Landes in diesem Bereich. Im Jahr 2017 haben in unseren Grenzen 18,3% der jungen Menschen zwischen 18 und 24 Jahren ihr Studium vorzeitig abgebrochen, nachdem sie den ersten Sekundarbereich abgeschlossen hatten.

Angesichts dieser Situation gibt es viele Organisationen, die sich darauf konzentrieren, diese Auswirkungen zu mildern und versuchen, diesem Zusammenhang abzuhelfen. Dies ist der Fall der Alisio Foundation und des Universitätsklinikums Dexeus, die ein Programm ins Leben gerufen haben, mit dem sie die ersten Symptome erkennen wollen, die die Krankheit verursachen können Schulversagen und auf diese Weise behandeln sie.


Lernschwierigkeiten

Zu den Symptomen, die erkannt werden sollen, gehören Lernstörungen wie Dyslexie oder Dyskalkulie; Sprachstörungen oder andere neuropsychologische Störungen wie die Aufmerksamkeitsdefizitsyndrom mit oder ohne Hyperaktivität (ADHS), die bei komplexen sozioökonomischen Situationen, dysfunktionellen Familien usw. hinzukommen. Sie können das beschädigen Wachstumspersonl und lehrreich des kindes.

"Das Ziel dieses Projekts ist es, Kindern mit komplizierten kognitiven Bedingungen durch Identifizierung und Schockbehandlung der Erkrankung zu helfen, aber auch Erzieher darin zu schulen, die Entwicklung des Kindes zu verfolgen, sobald das Projekt abgeschlossen ist", erklärt der Präsident von die Alisio-Stiftung, Pablo Garriga.


Dieses Programm wurde bereits während des Kurses gestartet 2017-2018 mit insgesamt 44 Schülern einer Barcelona-Schule. Dieser Pilotversuch hat verschiedene Phasen durchlaufen, von denen die erste die Besonderheiten jedes Kindes berücksichtigt und mögliche Störungen, die zu Lernschwierigkeiten führen, aufdeckt.

Nach dem Erkennen dieser Probleme wurden die Eltern über das Internet informiert Situation der Kinder und die zweite Phase dieses Pilotversuchs begann. In diesem Teil wurde für 10 Wochen eine Gruppentherapie begonnen. Pablo Garriga betont, dass dieser erste Test interessante Ergebnisse gebracht hat und dazu dienen könnte, den Schulweg an die Bedürfnisse von Kindern anzupassen, beispielsweise die Möglichkeit, schriftliche Prüfungen für Schüler mit Dyslexie durchzuführen.

Verbesserung der Schulleistung

Obwohl Störungen wie Legasthenie oder ADHS die Schulleistung beeinflussen können, gibt es viele andere Faktoren, die dies ebenfalls beeinflussen können. Hier sind einige Tipps, um zu verhindern, dass der Student in seinem akademischen Leben versagt:


1. Erkundigen Sie sich und ermitteln Sie die Ursache für die schlechte Leistung. Wenn Sie das Kind beobachten und mit ihm sprechen, können Sie die Ursache für schlechte Leistungen finden: Schwierigkeiten beim Sehen, Probleme mit einem Partner usw.

2. Erstellen Sie eine Lernroutine, die zur Konsolidierung der Gewohnheit beiträgt.

3. Bilden Sie sie aus, um ihre Verantwortung und ihre Fähigkeit zur Anstrengung zu entwickeln. Es ist wichtig, dass sie von klein auf lernen, dass sie verantwortlich sind und sich bemühen, ihre Ziele zu erreichen.

4. Beschäftigen Sie positive Disziplin und eine angemessene Nachfrage.

5. Ziele vorschlagen, die herausfordernd, aber erschwinglich sind. Wenn der Schüler sieht, dass er bestimmte Ziele erreichen kann, wird er Motivation erhalten, sich vorwärts zu bewegen.

6. Bringen Sie ihnen verschiedene Lerntechniken bei und wählen Sie die aus, die zu ihren Merkmalen passen.

Damián Montero

Video: Schulprojekt "Jedes Kind kann lesen und schreiben lernen"


Interessante Artikel

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Die Schule ist zusammen mit der Familie der zweitwichtigste Ort in der Entwicklung von Kindern. In den Fluren und Klassenzimmern der Schule verbringen die Kleinen Stunden und Stunden damit, Werte zu...