Addiction to video games falls under the WHO International Classification of Diseases

The video game They have become a regular member in the lives of the smallest of the house. Like everything, this form of digital leisure has ended up becoming a problem since some children and young people have ended up developing a dependence on these products. A situation that led to the World Health Organization, WHO, decided to include this addiction in its International Classification of Diseases.

Now, addiction to video game It is already part of the WHO International Classification of Diseases. An inclusion that occurs in the review of this compendium and which includes new features such as the addition of traditional medicine, which although used by millions of people had never had a presence in this publication.


Addiction disorders

The inclusion of videogame dependency is done within the addiction disorders section of the International Classification of Diseases. As it was said at the time, the WHO considers that this problem appears when a child has the need to make a recurrent and regular use of these products without finding another way to have fun.

The intention of this inclusion is to make professionals from all over the world recognize the possible consequences of video game abuse and establish a action protocol. A tool with which in the first place to be able to differentiate between the normal use and the dependence of the same and secondly to know how to proceed before these problems that did not exist a few decades ago did not exist.


This revision of the International Classification of Diseases will be presented at the World Health Assembly in May 2019 for adoption by the Member States, and the January 1, 2022. In this way the different countries of the globe will be able to establish strategies to be able to fight against these health problems that have appeared along with the new technologies.

Symptoms of addiction

WHO also offers a series of symptoms that make up a behavior pattern in the dependents of video games. These actions must be repeated over time, at least for 12 months, and be quite evident and persistent.

- Lack of control over the video game. The person is not able to manage the time spent on video games or impose limits, so he fails in other responsibilities.


- Priority over video games. Touch activity always comes second when it comes to video games. Housework, homework, sports, staying with friends, are just some examples of what is relegated in favor of this form of entertainment.

- Disregard of warnings. The child knows the consequences and still continues to use video games in this way.

Damián Montero

Video: Inside America's First Video Game Addiction Rehab (HBO)


Interesting Articles

8 natural remedies to fight the symptoms of the cold

8 natural remedies to fight the symptoms of the cold

Winter is a time of year when it is very common to get colds and flu. Although both have common symptoms, they differ in that the cold is accompanied by discharge and nasal congestion, sore throat,...

Bright students also like physical education

Bright students also like physical education

A stereotype It is an idea or perception that is repeated frequently in the minds of people and that tells them what certain aspects of life are like ... even if it is not always real. Thus, for...

The schools, reluctant to admit cases of bullying

The schools, reluctant to admit cases of bullying

The bullying It is defined as intimidation and mistreatment among schoolchildren repeatedly and maintained over time, almost always far from the eyes of adults, with the intention of humiliating and...

Die Abhängigkeit von Videospielen fällt unter die Internationale Klassifikation der Krankheiten der WHO

Die Videospiele Sie sind zu einem festen Mitglied im Leben des Kleinsten des Hauses geworden. Wie alles ist diese Form der digitalen Freizeit zu einem Problem geworden, seit einige Kinder und Jugendliche eine Abhängigkeit von diesen Produkten entwickelt haben. Eine Situation, die zur Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO geführt hat, hat beschlossen, diese Sucht in ihre internationale Klassifikation der Krankheiten aufzunehmen.

Nun Sucht nach Videospiele Es ist bereits Teil der Internationalen Klassifikation der Krankheiten der WHO. Eine Einbeziehung, die bei der Überprüfung dieses Kompendiums eintritt, und die neue Funktionen enthält, wie die Hinzufügung der traditionellen Medizin, die, obwohl sie von Millionen von Menschen verwendet wurde, in dieser Veröffentlichung noch nie vertreten war.


Suchtstörungen

Die Einbeziehung der Abhängigkeit von Videospielen wird im Abschnitt Suchtstörungen der Internationalen Klassifikation der Krankheiten vorgenommen. Wie damals gesagt, ist die WHO der Ansicht, dass dieses Problem auftritt, wenn ein Kind diese Produkte regelmäßig wiederverwenden muss, ohne einen anderen Weg zu finden viel spaß.

Die Absicht dieser Einbeziehung besteht darin, Fachleute aus der ganzen Welt die möglichen Folgen eines Missbrauchs von Videospielen zu erkennen und zu etablieren Aktionsprotokoll. Ein Werkzeug, mit dem es erstens möglich ist, zwischen der normalen Nutzung und der Abhängigkeit derselben zu unterscheiden und zweitens zu wissen, wie man vor diesen Problemen vor einigen Jahrzehnten vorgeht, gab es nicht.


Diese Überarbeitung der Internationalen Klassifikation der Krankheiten wird auf der Weltgesundheitsversammlung im Mai 2019 den Mitgliedstaaten zur Annahme vorgelegt 1. Januar 2022. Auf diese Weise können die verschiedenen Länder der Erde Strategien entwickeln, um gegen diese Gesundheitsprobleme anzugehen, die mit den neuen Technologien aufgetaucht sind.

Symptome der Sucht

Die WHO bietet auch eine Reihe von Symptomen an, aus denen a Verhaltensmuster in den abhängigen von videospielen. Diese Maßnahmen müssen im Laufe der Zeit mindestens für 12 Monate wiederholt werden und müssen eindeutig und ausdauernd sein.

- Mangelnde Kontrolle über das Videospiel. Die Person ist nicht in der Lage, die Zeit, die für Videospiele aufgewendet wird, zu verwalten oder Grenzen festzulegen, so dass sie andere Verantwortlichkeiten nicht erfüllt.


- Priorität gegenüber Videospielen. Die Touch-Aktivität steht bei Videospielen immer an zweiter Stelle. Hausarbeit, Hausaufgaben, Sport, Aufenthalt bei Freunden sind nur einige Beispiele dafür, was zugunsten dieser Form der Unterhaltung verbannt wird.

- Missachtung von Warnungen. Das Kind kennt die Konsequenzen und verwendet Videospiele auf diese Weise weiter.

Damián Montero

Video: Computerspielsucht als Krankheit


Interessante Artikel

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Koffer, Taschen, Toilettenartikel und Sport, alle bereit, noch einen Sommer in Urlaub zu fahren, und viele werden es im Familienauto tun. Wir haben sehr darauf geachtet, nichts Notwendiges zu...