Helicopter parents guilty of bad behavior, according to a study

All parents want the best for their children and avoid, as much as they can, the various problems that can affect children. On many occasions, this desire for wellbeing by children is transformed by a strong control of the day to day of the children. A situation that is termed as "helicopter parents", those parents who come to assume responsibilities that do not belong to them.

The helicopter parents They not only prevent their children from learning to make decisions that correspond to them and assume responsibilities that they have. A new study by the University of Minnesota has shown that this style of parenting leads to behavioral problems for children and hinders their emotional development.


Difficulty dealing with problems

A total of 422 children and his parents participated in this study. The researchers took note of the characteristics of the children and the parenting style that the families had bet on. At the same time, the parents had to play together with their children in the same way as they would at home to show how their usual relationship was.

In this way, in the first place, the helicopter parents showed games where they were the ones who decided everything and in which the opinion of the children was not taken into account. Something that ultimately translated into problems so that the children could make decisions for themselves and end up letting themselves be guided by other people's criteria.


At the same time, these children showed more behavior challenging Y apatheticThey also showed attitudes marked by frustration at not being able to develop their personality. "Our research showed that children with helicopter parents have a lower chance of dealing with the challenges they may face in the future," explains Nicole B. Perry, lead author of the study.

Perry also adds that "children who can not regulate their emotions and behavior in an effective way are more likely to show bad behavior in the classroom, to have more difficulties to make friends and fight in school. "

Develop autonomy

While children should not be allowed to face all dangers alone, parents should work on the autonomy of their children. The parents must be able to let the little ones of the house begin to take responsibility in their world, these are some tips that they offer from the Spanish Confederation of Associations of Parents and Mothers, CEAPA:


- Advise, not choose. Children must be able to make their own decisions, except when this responsibility falls directly on the parents. But in situations such as what sweater they want to wear or part of the decoration of their room, they must fall on the little ones.

- Small details. Teach them how to tie their cords, whether they pick up their plates or peel pieces of easy fruit that do not require cutlery. These small details will indicate to the child that he is able to fend for himself in certain circumstances.

- Your space, your responsibility. Some areas such as the school backpack should be the responsibility of the little ones. If a book is forgotten, the child should learn the lesson and be more attentive next time instead of the father resolving this situation.

- Do not avoid conflicts. If a conflict arises with the parents, we should not avoid it but show the children that there is the possibility of resolving it with respect and dialogue.

Damián Montero

Video: 10 Psychology Problems Caused by Parenting Behavior


Interesting Articles

How to get children to eat vegetables

How to get children to eat vegetables

One of the oldest battles between parents and children is one in which the former want the latter to eat vegetables. A necessary confrontation since these foods have to be very present in the diet of...

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Knowing, understanding, valuing and appreciating the different manifestations of art is an invaluable source of enjoyment and personal enrichment. For this, parents can accustom their children from...

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Years ago I wrote a book about marriage that I dedicated To my wife, that charming and eternal mystery. We had just celebrated the silver jubilee and thought I could string together some ideas that...

Laut einer Studie sind Hubschrauber-Eltern des schlechten Verhaltens schuldig

Alle Eltern wollen das Beste für ihre Kinder und vermeiden so viel wie möglich die verschiedenen Probleme, die Kinder betreffen können. In vielen Fällen wird dieser Wunsch nach Wohlbefinden von Kindern durch eine starke Kontrolle des täglichen Lebens der Kinder verändert. Eine Situation, die als "Hubschrauber Eltern", die Eltern, die Verantwortung übernehmen, die ihnen nicht gehören.

Die Hubschrauber Eltern Sie hindern ihre Kinder nicht nur daran zu lernen, Entscheidungen zu treffen, die ihnen entsprechen, und übernehmen die Verantwortung, die sie haben. Eine neue Studie der University of Minnesota hat gezeigt, dass diese Art der Erziehung zu Verhaltensproblemen bei Kindern führt und deren emotionale Entwicklung behindert.


Schwierigkeiten beim Umgang mit Problemen

Insgesamt 422 Kinder und seine Eltern nahmen an dieser Studie teil. Die Forscher nahmen die Besonderheiten der Kinder und den Erziehungsstil, auf den die Familien gewettet hatten, zur Kenntnis. Gleichzeitig mussten die Eltern mit ihren Kindern genauso spielen wie zu Hause, um ihre gewohnte Beziehung zu zeigen.

Auf diese Weise zeigten die Helikopter-Eltern in erster Linie Spiele, bei denen sie alles entschieden haben und bei denen die Meinung der Kinder nicht berücksichtigt wurde. Etwas, das letztendlich übersetzt wurde Probleme damit die Kinder Entscheidungen für sich selbst treffen können und sich am Ende von den Kriterien anderer leiten lassen.


Zur gleichen Zeit zeigten diese Kinder mehr Verhalten herausfordernd und apathischSie zeigten auch Einstellungen, die von Frustration geprägt waren, ihre Persönlichkeit nicht entwickeln zu können. "Unsere Forschung hat gezeigt, dass Kinder mit Hubschraubereltern eine geringere Chance haben, mit den Herausforderungen der Zukunft fertig zu werden", erklärt Nicole B. Perry, Hauptautorin der Studie.

Perry fügt hinzu, dass "Kinder, die ihre Kinder nicht regulieren können Emotionen und ein effektives Verhalten zeigt eher schlechtes Verhalten im Unterricht, mehr Schwierigkeiten, Freunde zu finden und in der Schule zu kämpfen. "

Autonomie entwickeln

Während Kinder nicht allen Gefahren allein ausgesetzt sein dürfen, sollten Eltern an der Autonomie ihrer Kinder arbeiten. Die Eltern müssen in der Lage sein, dass die Kleinen des Hauses Verantwortung in ihrer Welt übernehmen. Dies sind einige Tipps, die sie von der spanischen Vereinigung der Eltern- und Müttervereinigungen anbieten CEAPA:


- beraten, nicht wählen. Kinder müssen ihre eigenen Entscheidungen treffen können, es sei denn, diese Verantwortung liegt direkt bei den Eltern. Aber in Situationen wie dem, was sie tragen wollen oder Teil der Dekoration ihres Zimmers sind, müssen sie auf die Kleinen fallen.

- Kleine Details. Bringen Sie ihnen bei, wie sie ihre Schnüre binden, ob sie ihre Teller aufheben oder Stücke von leichtem Obst schälen, für die kein Besteck erforderlich ist. Diese kleinen Details zeigen dem Kind an, dass es unter bestimmten Umständen für sich selbst sorgen kann.

- Ihr Raum, Ihre Verantwortung. Für einige Bereiche wie den Schulrucksack sollten die Kleinen zuständig sein. Wenn ein Buch vergessen wird, sollte das Kind die Lektion lernen und beim nächsten Mal aufmerksamer sein, anstatt dass der Vater diese Situation löst.

- Vermeiden Sie Konflikte nicht. Wenn ein Konflikt mit den Eltern entsteht, sollten wir ihn nicht vermeiden, sondern den Kindern zeigen, dass die Möglichkeit besteht, diesen mit Respekt und Dialog zu lösen.

Damián Montero

Video: The Choice is Ours (2016) Official Full Version


Interessante Artikel

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Koffer, Taschen, Toilettenartikel und Sport, alle bereit, noch einen Sommer in Urlaub zu fahren, und viele werden es im Familienauto tun. Wir haben sehr darauf geachtet, nichts Notwendiges zu...