Social networks and depression, a very common duo in adolescents

The new technologies are here to stay and with them a lot of new features. The social networks They are part of these tools that have appeared with the expansion of the internet. Platforms where you can display photographs and share them with friends, with whom you can also chat. A space that initially serves to promote interpersonal relationships through a digital world.

However, a study conducted by the Royal Society of Public Health has served as a basis to warn about the risk of depression that entails social networks in some teenagers. This has been stated in the XVII Lundbeck seminar, which on this occasion has taken the title 'Millennials and Generation Z'.

Depression and abuse of networks

Marina Díaz Marsá, Head of Psychiatry of the San Carlos Clinical Hospital of Madrid and President of the Psychiatric Society of Madrid, explained during her visit to this seminar that the abuse of social networks is associated with cases of depression in the young. How do these disorders relate to the use of these tools that in theory should bring people closer?


The study by the Royal Society of Public Health showed that two thirds of the young people surveyed believed that the use of these technologies favored cases of cyber bullying and the consequences derived from it. On the other hand, it also highlights the feedback between one world and another.

The cases of social networks cause evils such as insomnia. These hours without sleep are used in social networks. In this way young people believe that these platforms are solving their problems, but in reality that false sensation of welfare derives in a dependency of these webs. A situation that only worsens the disorder that the adolescent is going through.


Dr. Marsá also criticizes, in relation to cyberbullying, the impunity of stalker. Some photographs that vex the victim instead of being criticized by some colleagues, applaud this behavior and laugh these jokes so humiliating for minors.

Consequences of depression

During the celebration of this seminar the speakers also warned of the consequences of depression in young people. Dr. Marsá points out that the symptoms derived from this problem "translate into a decrease in capacity to concentrate, indecision, lack of motivation, negative perspectives on their future and low expectations that hinder academic performance. "

The relationships They are also affected by the symptoms of depression, such as apathy or hypersensitivity to criticism that ends up isolating young people.


To prevent this situation from getting worse, Silvia López Chamón, Family Physician and Secretary of the Mental Health group SEMERGEN, recommends that when faced with a suspicion of depression, "more than seeking diagnosis and treatment, young people come to the clinic to ask for help to overcome a circumstance they do not know how to handle".

Damián Montero

Video: 2014 - Brave New Voices (Finals) - "Somewhere in America" by Los Angeles Team


Interesting Articles

8 natural remedies to fight the symptoms of the cold

8 natural remedies to fight the symptoms of the cold

Winter is a time of year when it is very common to get colds and flu. Although both have common symptoms, they differ in that the cold is accompanied by discharge and nasal congestion, sore throat,...

Bright students also like physical education

Bright students also like physical education

A stereotype It is an idea or perception that is repeated frequently in the minds of people and that tells them what certain aspects of life are like ... even if it is not always real. Thus, for...

The schools, reluctant to admit cases of bullying

The schools, reluctant to admit cases of bullying

The bullying It is defined as intimidation and mistreatment among schoolchildren repeatedly and maintained over time, almost always far from the eyes of adults, with the intention of humiliating and...

Soziale Netzwerke und Depressionen, ein sehr häufiges Duo bei Jugendlichen

Die neuen Technologien werden bleiben und mit ihnen viele neue Funktionen. Die soziale Netzwerke Sie sind Teil dieser Tools, die mit der Erweiterung des Internets entstanden sind. Plattformen, auf denen Sie Fotos anzeigen und mit Freunden teilen können, mit denen Sie auch chatten können. Ein Raum, der zunächst zur Förderung der zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen in einer digitalen Welt dient.

Eine von der Royal Society of Public Health durchgeführte Studie diente jedoch als Grundlage, um vor dem Risiko einer Depression zu warnen soziale Netzwerke bei einigen Teenagern. Dies wurde im XVII. Seminar von Lundbeck festgestellt, das bei dieser Gelegenheit den Titel "Millennials und Generation Z'.

Depression und Missbrauch von Netzwerken

Marina Díaz Marsá, Leiterin der Psychiatrie des San Carlos Clinical Hospital in Madrid und Präsident der Psychiatrischen Gesellschaft von Madrid, erklärte während ihres Besuchs in diesem Seminar, dass der Missbrauch sozialer Netzwerke mit Fällen verbunden ist Depression bei jungen Menschen In welcher Beziehung stehen diese Störungen zum Einsatz dieser Werkzeuge, die theoretisch die Menschen näher bringen sollen?


Die Studie der Royal Society of Public Health hat gezeigt, dass zwei Drittel der befragten Jugendlichen der Ansicht sind, dass der Einsatz dieser Technologien Fälle begünstigt Cybermobbing und die daraus abgeleiteten Konsequenzen. Auf der anderen Seite hebt es auch das Feedback zwischen einer Welt und der anderen hervor.

Die Fälle sozialer Netzwerke verursachen Übel wie Schlaflosigkeit. Diese Stunden ohne Schlaf werden in sozialen Netzwerken verwendet. Auf diese Weise glauben junge Leute, dass diese Plattformen ihre Probleme lösen, in Wirklichkeit aber falsche Empfindung Wohlstand ergibt sich aus einer Abhängigkeit dieser Netze. Eine Situation, die nur die Störung verschlimmert, die der Jugendliche durchmacht.


Dr. Marsá kritisiert im Zusammenhang mit Cybermobbing auch die Straflosigkeit von Stalker. Einige Fotos, die das Opfer ärgern, anstatt von einigen Kollegen kritisiert zu werden, begrüßen dieses Verhalten und lachen diese für Minderjährige erniedrigenden Witze.

Folgen einer Depression

Während der Feier dieses Seminars warnten die Referenten auch vor den Folgen von Depressionen bei Jugendlichen. Dr. Marsá weist darauf hin, dass die von diesem Problem abgeleiteten Symptome "in eine Abnahme von Kapazität Unkonzentriertheit, Unentschlossenheit, mangelnde Motivation, negative Perspektiven auf ihre Zukunft und geringe Erwartungen, die die akademische Leistung behindern. "

Die zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen Sie sind auch von Depressionssymptomen betroffen, wie Apathie oder Überempfindlichkeit gegen Kritik, die zur Isolation junger Menschen führt.


Silvia López Chamón, Familienarzt und Sekretärin der Gruppe für psychische Gesundheit, verhindert, dass sich diese Situation verschlimmert SEMERGENempfiehlt, bei einem Verdacht auf Depressionen "junge Leute in die Klinik zu kommen, um nach Hilfe zu suchen, um einen Umstand zu überwinden, mit dem sie nicht umgehen können".

Damián Montero

Video: Socio-Political Activist, Fifth Grandson of Mahatma Gandhi: Arun Manilal Gandhi Interview


Interessante Artikel

Das schwarze Schaf der Familie

Das schwarze Schaf der Familie

Sei der schwarze Schafe der Familie es bedeutet, innerhalb einer homogenen Familiengruppe unterschiedlich zu sein. Die Unterschiede der betrachteten schwarzen Schafe der Familie sind in der Regel...

Die Gefahren des Missbrauchs von Videospielen

Die Gefahren des Missbrauchs von Videospielen

Mit dem Ausbau neuer Technologien Netzwerk-Videospiele Sie waren auch in den meisten Häusern präsent. Diese Form der digitalen Freizeit ermöglicht es unseren Kindern, einige Fähigkeiten zu erwerben....