Depression in summer, why it occurs and how to avoid affecting the family

It is usual to think of winter as a season of sadness due to fewer hours of light and adverse weather that makes the time at home increase, leaving aside outdoor activities. On the contrary, the summer It is usually related to joy. The vacations arrive and the free time allows to realize numerous plans that remained in vilo the rest of the year.

Beach, swimming pool, walks in the countryside, trips to desired destinations. This is the image that is usually had of the summer, However it is not always so. In fact, there are even cases of depression related to the summer period. The Nexus Psychology Center defines this situation as Seasonal Affective Disorder, APR.


Origin of the TAE

The APR in the autumn and winter seasons is related to the decrease in sun hours. In the case of summer, interestingly, the opposite happens. The amount of daylight increases, what is the cause then? The reasons must be sought not only in human biorhythms, but also in the circumstances surrounding each person.

During the summer, the temperatures and the humidity rises in some areas. The body of people must adapt to a much warmer climate, with more hours of sunshine and in many things. This situation is maintained even during the night, which sometimes means less sleep or a break in conditions where it is more difficult to reconcile.


The TAE in summer can come into play others triggers seen as positive for many people. Light and good weather, good for some, can be bad for others. Also a key factor is the increase in leisure hours that occur when the person takes a vacation and has more free time to think.

Another cause that relates to the APR in summer may be self-esteem. Those with a greater number of complexes are likely to develop anxiety in situations like the pool or the beach, where they should show their bodies. Comparisons with other people can lead to the development of these problems at the psychological level.

Treatment of the TAE

To be able to treat the APR, you have to find the cause that caused it. For example, if lack of sleep is behind this situation, you will have to find the formula to be able to face to the high temperatures and reach a good rest. Use of air conditioners in night mode, fans or changing the room to a cooler area of ​​the house may be a good idea.


In those cases in which the APR is related to a lack of self-esteem, it is recommended to ask for help to start treatments with which to accept one's own image. Be able to recognize the negative thoughts and act accordingly is essential.

It is also essential to work in the domain of techniques against stress. At this point the family can create an environment of comfort Y tranquility for the person who is experiencing these problems.

Damián Montero

Video: The Science of Depression


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Depression im Sommer, warum es auftritt und wie die Familie nicht beeinträchtigt werden kann

Es ist üblich, den Winter als eine Jahreszeit der Trauer zu betrachten, da weniger Stunden Licht und widrige Witterung herrschen, wodurch die Zeit zu Hause zunimmt und Outdoor-Aktivitäten übrig bleiben. Im Gegenteil, die Sommer Es hängt normalerweise mit Freude zusammen. Die Ferien kommen und die Freizeit erlaubt es, zahlreiche Pläne zu verwirklichen, die den Rest des Jahres in Vilo blieben.

Strand, Schwimmbad, Spaziergänge in der Natur, Ausflüge zu den gewünschten Zielen. Dies ist das Bild, das normalerweise von der SommerDies ist jedoch nicht immer der Fall. In der Tat gibt es sogar Fälle von Depressionen im Zusammenhang mit der Sommerperiode. Das Nexus Psychology Center definiert diese Situation als saisonale affektive Störung (APR).


Herkunft der TAE

Der APR in der Herbst- und Wintersaison hängt mit der Abnahme der Sonnenstunden zusammen. Interessanterweise passiert im Sommer das Gegenteil. Die Menge von Tageslicht steigt, was ist dann die Ursache? Die Gründe müssen nicht nur in menschlichen Biorhythmen, sondern auch in den Umständen jeder Person gesucht werden.

Im Sommer ist die Temperaturen und die Luftfeuchtigkeit steigt in einigen Bereichen. Der Körper der Menschen muss sich an ein viel wärmeres Klima, mehr Sonnenstunden und in vielen Dingen anpassen. Diese Situation bleibt auch nachts erhalten, was manchmal weniger Schlaf oder eine Unterbrechung der Bedingungen bedeutet, in denen es schwieriger ist, sich zu versöhnen.


Die TAE im Sommer kann anderen ins Spiel kommen löst aus als positiv für viele Menschen. Licht und gutes Wetter, für manche gut, kann für andere schlecht sein. Ein Schlüsselfaktor ist auch die Zunahme der Freizeit, die auftritt, wenn die Person Urlaub macht und mehr Zeit zum Nachdenken hat.

Eine andere Ursache, die sich auf den effektiven Jahreszins im Sommer bezieht, kann das Selbstwertgefühl sein. Diejenigen mit einer größeren Anzahl von Komplexen werden sich wahrscheinlich entwickeln Angst in Situationen wie dem Pool oder dem Strand, wo sie ihren Körper zeigen sollen. Vergleiche mit anderen Menschen können dazu führen, dass sich diese Probleme auf psychologischer Ebene entwickeln.

Behandlung der TAE

Um den APR behandeln zu können, müssen Sie die Ursache ermitteln, die ihn verursacht hat. Befindet sich zum Beispiel Schlafmangel in dieser Situation, müssen Sie die Formel finden, um dies tun zu können beschäftigen sich mit zu den hohen Temperaturen und erreichen eine gute Erholung. Die Verwendung von Klimaanlagen im Nachtmodus, Ventilatoren oder das Umstellen des Raums in einen kühleren Bereich des Hauses kann eine gute Idee sein.


In Fällen, in denen der APR auf mangelndes Selbstwertgefühl zurückzuführen ist, wird empfohlen, um Hilfe zu bitten, um Behandlungen zu beginnen, bei denen das eigene Image akzeptiert wird. Erkenne das negative Gedanken und dementsprechend handeln ist wesentlich.

Es ist auch wichtig, im Bereich der Techniken gegen Stress zu arbeiten. An diesem Punkt kann die Familie eine Umgebung schaffen Komfort und Ruhe für die Person, die diese Probleme hat.

Damián Montero

Video: Prof. Peter Rowe - "Dysautonomia and Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia"


Interessante Artikel

Das schwarze Schaf der Familie

Das schwarze Schaf der Familie

Sei der schwarze Schafe der Familie es bedeutet, innerhalb einer homogenen Familiengruppe unterschiedlich zu sein. Die Unterschiede der betrachteten schwarzen Schafe der Familie sind in der Regel...

Die Gefahren des Missbrauchs von Videospielen

Die Gefahren des Missbrauchs von Videospielen

Mit dem Ausbau neuer Technologien Netzwerk-Videospiele Sie waren auch in den meisten Häusern präsent. Diese Form der digitalen Freizeit ermöglicht es unseren Kindern, einige Fähigkeiten zu erwerben....