Why gifts of good grades can be harmful to your children

End-of-course grades arrive and many families wish to celebrate the good academic results of their children. Reward the effort of children with some good notes gifts or a detail is a habit for many parents and some do not stop wondering if they are doing well or if these gifts are beneficial or harmful to their children.

Should we reward our children with gifts for having taken out good notes? Many parents give their children gifts with video games, toys or video consoles thinking that every effort deserves a reward. However, it is also legitimate to think that everyone must fulfill their obligation and their work, and in the case of children, their goal is to get good grades.


In this sense, Ana Herrero, psychologist and coordinator of the Guidance Department of the Brains International Schools group, points out that "although some parents think that in the same way that they receive financial compensation for carrying out their work, it is just that the children receive a reward for having good grades, however, from the psychological point of view, it is a mistake to give gifts to the little ones for having obtained good grades ". He adds, "children will progressively understand that the process of learning is part of their responsibilities, our role is to recognize and value it, because we know it is good for them." We must remember that as parents any act we perform transmits values ​​to the most little ones".


5 reasons why avoid giving good notes gifts

1. Discourage orientation to excellence: children must understand that it is good for them to carry out their work, which also helps them to be more responsible, overcome difficulties, discover and develop their potential and understand the world around them. But in addition, it is good that they do it in the best possible way. In this way, they can learn to feel satisfied by the accomplishment of a job well done and not by the prize that comes after.

2. Encourages a materialist view of the world: Most children have more toys and games than they use. Material rewards and even in the form of money will only cause the child to feel recognized and satisfied when he receives something in return.

3. It could generate frustration: Many parents promise their children succulent prizes if they get good grades. However, in this case there is a double risk. If the child fails to meet the goals set by their parents, for example approve all subjects, the child will be frustrated by not having passed the course and by not having obtained the reward. If the results are not as expected, it is time to evaluate the causes. Involving children in understanding these causes and finding solutions is also helping them to be responsible and to value their work.


4. The learning process is distorted: The biggest reward of attending class is learning and having a little more knowledge each day. This must be transmitted to the little ones. Obtaining gifts for having good grades could confuse children, as they may think that the goal of the school is to get gifts.

5. It endangers the transmission of the value of responsibility: studying is the "work" of the youngest children and they will never be responsible if they do not learn that it is good to fulfill the tasks that correspond to them.

Making gifts to young children by getting good grades is not a good idea. But nevertheless. it is necessary that the parents recognize their work well done and the effort made (even if the results are not what they want). For this they can praise him, show his affection, do some activity with them like go to the movies or leave them some hours of game more in the videoconsola.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Advice: Ana Herrero, psychologist and coordinator of the counseling department of the Brains International Schools group.

Video: Why Perfect Grades Don't Matter


Interesting Articles

How to get children to eat vegetables

How to get children to eat vegetables

One of the oldest battles between parents and children is one in which the former want the latter to eat vegetables. A necessary confrontation since these foods have to be very present in the diet of...

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Knowing, understanding, valuing and appreciating the different manifestations of art is an invaluable source of enjoyment and personal enrichment. For this, parents can accustom their children from...

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Years ago I wrote a book about marriage that I dedicated To my wife, that charming and eternal mystery. We had just celebrated the silver jubilee and thought I could string together some ideas that...

Warum Geschenke guter Noten für Ihre Kinder schädlich sein können

Die Abschlussnoten sind da und viele Familien möchten die guten akademischen Ergebnisse ihrer Kinder feiern. Belohnen Sie die Anstrengung von Kindern mit einigen gute notizen geschenke oder ein Detail ist für viele Eltern eine Angewohnheit, und manche fragen sich nicht, ob es ihnen gut geht oder ob diese Geschenke ihren Kindern nützen oder schaden.

Sollten wir unsere Kinder mit Geschenken dafür belohnen, dass sie herausgenommen wurden? gute notizen? Viele Eltern geben ihren Kindern Geschenke mit Videospielen, Spielzeug oder Videokonsolen und denken, dass jede Anstrengung eine Belohnung verdient. Es ist jedoch auch legitim anzunehmen, dass jeder seine Verpflichtung und seine Arbeit erfüllen muss, und bei Kindern ist es das Ziel, gute Noten zu erhalten.


In diesem Sinne weist Ana Herrero, Psychologin und Koordinatorin der Abteilung Guidance der Brains International Schools Group, darauf hin, dass "einige Eltern der Meinung sind, dass sie auf dieselbe Weise eine finanzielle Entschädigung für ihre Arbeit erhalten Belohnung für gute Noten, aus psychologischer Sicht ist es jedoch ein Fehler, den Kleinen Geschenke zu geben, weil sie gute Noten erhalten haben. " Er fügt hinzu: "Kinder werden nach und nach verstehen, dass der Lernprozess Teil ihrer Verantwortung ist. Wir müssen sie anerkennen und wertschätzen, weil wir wissen, dass sie für sie gut ist." klein. "


5 Gründe, warum man gute Notizengeschenke vermeiden sollte

1. Entmutigen Sie die Orientierung zur Exzellenz: Kinder müssen verstehen, dass es gut für sie ist, ihre Arbeit auszuführen, was ihnen auch hilft, verantwortungsbewusster zu sein, Schwierigkeiten zu überwinden, ihr Potenzial zu entdecken und zu entwickeln und die Welt um sie herum zu verstehen. Aber es ist auch gut, dass sie es auf die bestmögliche Weise tun. Auf diese Weise können sie lernen, sich mit der Erledigung einer guten Arbeit zufrieden zu fühlen und nicht mit dem Preis, der danach kommt.

2. fördert eine materialistische Sicht der Welt: Die meisten Kinder haben mehr Spielzeug und Spiele als sie benutzen. Materielle Belohnungen und sogar in Form von Geld werden das Kind nur dazu bringen, sich anerkannt und zufrieden zu fühlen, wenn es eine Gegenleistung erhält.

3. Es könnte Frustration erzeugen: Viele Eltern versprechen ihren Kindern erfolgreiche Preise, wenn sie gute Noten bekommen. In diesem Fall besteht jedoch ein doppeltes Risiko. Wenn das Kind die von seinen Eltern gesetzten Ziele nicht erreicht, z. B. alle Fächer genehmigt, wird das Kind frustriert, wenn es den Kurs nicht bestanden hat und keine Belohnung erhalten hat. Wenn die Ergebnisse nicht wie erwartet sind, ist es Zeit, die Ursachen zu bewerten. Die Einbeziehung von Kindern in das Verständnis dieser Ursachen und das Finden von Lösungen hilft ihnen auch, Verantwortung zu übernehmen und ihre Arbeit zu schätzen.


4. Der Lernprozess ist verzerrt: Die größte Belohnung für den Besuch des Unterrichts ist das Lernen und ein wenig mehr Wissen jeden Tag. Dies muss an die Kleinen übermittelt werden. Das Erhalten von Geschenken für gute Noten könnte Kinder verwirren, da sie der Meinung sind, dass das Ziel der Schule darin besteht, Geschenke zu erhalten.

5. Es gefährdet die Übertragung des Wertes der Verantwortung: Studieren ist die "Arbeit" der jüngsten Kinder und sie werden niemals verantwortlich sein, wenn sie nicht lernen, dass es gut ist, die ihnen entsprechenden Aufgaben zu erfüllen.

Es ist keine gute Idee, kleinen Kindern durch gute Noten Geschenke zu machen. Jedoch Es ist wichtig, dass die Eltern erkennen, dass sie ihre Arbeit gut gemacht haben und welche Anstrengungen sie unternommen haben (auch wenn die Ergebnisse nicht den Wünschen entsprechen). Dafür können sie ihn loben, seine Zuneigung zeigen, mit ihnen etwas unternehmen, z. B. ins Kino gehen oder ihnen ein paar Stunden Spiel in der Videokonsole lassen.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Hinweis: Ana Herrero, Psychologe und Koordinator der Beratungsabteilung der Brains International Schools Gruppe.

Video: Kinderhelme: viele gute Noten beim ADAC-Test von 19 Produkten


Interessante Artikel

Spanien reduziert die Anzahl der Ni-Nis

Spanien reduziert die Anzahl der Ni-Nis

In den letzten Jahren ist in Spanien ein Anstieg der sogenannten Zeuge zu verzeichnen "ni-nis"Jugendliche, die weder studieren noch arbeiten. Es scheint jedoch, dass sich die Situation zu...