Spain, the second country in Europe with older first-time mothers

Motherhood in Spain is in a delicate situation. The number of births is decreasing and mothers increasingly postpone the decision to have a child. In fact, this country has the second oldest gilts of the European Union.

This is clear from the data provided by the Eurostat report, which shows the situation of maternity in Spain in 2016. Results that not only show that this country is below the average of births in Europe, but first-timers in this territory are the oldest, only surpassed by Italy.

Mothers from 30

At what age do Spanish mothers have their first child? Eurostat data indicate that the average is 30.8 years. A data only surpassed by Italy where the gilts revolve around the 31 years. This peculiar podium is completed by Luxembourg, 30.5 years. It should also be noted that almost 7% of women in this country are mothers for the first time after 40 years.


This situation complicates the arrival of a second child. This is also demonstrated by the Eurostat numbers. While the average number of births in Europe is 1.6 children, in Spain it is 1.34. A context that does not even guarantee the generational change, that is, 2 children per couple to be able to replace their parents once these die.

On the other side of the table are countries like Romania where the average age of gilts is 26.4 years old, or Latvia, with 26.8 years. As for the countries that exceed the average of births of the European Union, France with 1.92 children, or Sweden, 1.85, and Ireland, 1.81.

More gilts from the age of 35

The data offered by the Spanish Fertility Society, SEF, in his last congress he also indicates the increase of first-time mothers from the age of 35. Specifically, 70% of women of these ages have not yet had their first child. A situation that reduces fertility and the possibility of having a second child.


Among the risks that arise for women who are mothers aged 35 and older, the following stand out:

- Increased risk of complications in pregnancy and increase the chances of a cesarean delivery.

- Increased chance of problems in the placenta leading to severe bleeding during delivery that can endanger the mother and baby.

- Increased chances of the baby being born with a lower weight than it should be.

- More likely that the baby is born with genetic disorders.

Damián Montero

Video: Breaking News - French women have the most children out of the entire EU


Interesting Articles

How to get children to eat vegetables

How to get children to eat vegetables

One of the oldest battles between parents and children is one in which the former want the latter to eat vegetables. A necessary confrontation since these foods have to be very present in the diet of...

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Knowing, understanding, valuing and appreciating the different manifestations of art is an invaluable source of enjoyment and personal enrichment. For this, parents can accustom their children from...

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Years ago I wrote a book about marriage that I dedicated To my wife, that charming and eternal mystery. We had just celebrated the silver jubilee and thought I could string together some ideas that...

Spanien, das zweite Land in Europa mit älteren Müttern zum ersten Mal

Die Mutterschaft in Spanien ist in einer heiklen Situation. Die Zahl der Geburten nimmt ab und Mütter verschieben die Entscheidung, ein Kind zu bekommen, zunehmend. Tatsächlich hat dieses Land die zweitältesten Jungsauen der Europäische Union.

Dies geht aus den Daten des Eurostat-Berichts hervor, der die Situation der Mutterschaft in Spanien im Jahr 2016 zeigt. Ergebnisse, die nicht nur zeigen, dass dieses Land unter dem Durchschnitt liegt Geburten In Europa sind die Erstbesucher in diesem Gebiet jedoch die ältesten und werden nur von Italien übertroffen.

Mütter ab 30

In welchem ​​Alter haben spanische Mütter ihr erstes Kind? Eurostat-Daten zufolge liegt der Durchschnitt bei 30,8 Jahren. Daten, die nur in Italien übertroffen wurden, wo sich die Jungsauen um die 31 Jahre drehen. Dieses besondere Podium wird von Luxemburg vervollständigt. 30,5 Jahre. Es sollte auch beachtet werden, dass fast 7% der Frauen in diesem Land zum ersten Mal nach 40 Jahren Mütter sind.


Diese Situation erschwert die Ankunft eines zweiten Kindes. Dies zeigen auch die Eurostat-Zahlen. Während in Europa durchschnittlich 1,6 Kinder geboren werden, sind es in Spanien 1,34. Ein Kontext, der nicht einmal den Generationswechsel garantiert, das heißt, zwei Kinder pro Paar können ihre Eltern einmal ersetzen sterben.

Auf der anderen Seite der Tabelle befinden sich Länder wie Rumänien, wo die Durchschnittsalter der Jungsauen ist 26,4 Jahre oder Lettland mit 26,8 Jahren. Was die Länder betrifft, die den Durchschnitt der Geburten der Europäischen Union übersteigen, so gibt es Frankreich mit 1,92 Kindern oder Schweden mit 1,85 und Irland mit 1,81.

Weitere Jungsauen ab 35 Jahren

Die von der spanischen Fertility Society angebotenen Daten, SEFIn seinem letzten Kongress weist er auch auf die Zunahme der erstmaligen Mütter ab 35 Jahren hin. Insbesondere hatten 70% der Frauen dieses Alters noch kein erstes Kind. Eine Situation, die die Fruchtbarkeit verringert und die Möglichkeit, ein zweites Kind zu bekommen.


Unter den Risiken, die sich für Frauen mit Müttern ab 35 Jahren ergeben, sind folgende hervorzuheben:

- Erhöhtes Risiko für Komplikationen in der Schwangerschaft und erhöht die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Kaiserschnittverabreichung.

- Erhöhte Wahrscheinlichkeit von Problemen in der Plazenta, die während der Entbindung zu schweren Blutungen führen, die Mutter und Kind gefährden können.

- Erhöhte Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass das Baby mit einem geringeren Gewicht geboren wird, als es sein sollte.

- Es ist wahrscheinlicher, dass das Baby mit einer genetischen Störung geboren wurde.

Damián Montero

Video: Europasaga (1/6) – Woher wir kommen | Ganze Folge Terra X


Interessante Artikel

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Die Schule ist zusammen mit der Familie der zweitwichtigste Ort in der Entwicklung von Kindern. In den Fluren und Klassenzimmern der Schule verbringen die Kleinen Stunden und Stunden damit, Werte zu...