Depriving children of the internet prevents them from learning important lessons

Internet It has become a common tool in our day. With this online world have come at the same time numerous dangers that have set off alarms in many parents. In order to avoid these risks, it is decided to prohibit the access of minors to this universe online.

However, avoid access by Internet to the smallest is a bad option according to a study by Screen Society. Not only because children are deprived of a fundamental tool in our days, but because they are prevented from facing important lessons in their development.

The society of the screens

Ellis Cashmore, a professor at the University of Aston and one of the authors of this research, points out that we currently live in a society full of screens. Nowadays, since children are born, they live surrounded by technologies that are positioned as access doors to an online world that is difficult to escape even if parents try to avoid it.


The starting hypothesis was that individuals do not become addicted simply by using these devices. To check it they analyzed a total of 2,000 individuals and their use of these technologies, the results concluded that it is a myth that today's society is populated by people who can not live with their mobile devices. The cases of greater dependence were translated with individuals who recognized having a pleasant experience.

The researchers also point out that the addiction to new technologies is related to a negligent contact with them. In the example of the pleasant experience, the experts point out that it is better to train the little ones so that their interpersonal relationships are carried out in person instead of supplying this contact with the screens of smartphones, tablets and orators.


"We know, through our own daily life and our research, that many parents forbid their children to use smartphones and other devices because they are concerned about addiction to these screens, but what are the consequences of this? By eliminating screens, it is removing a source of information, depriving young people of a vital source of communication, "explains Cashmore.

Establish rules of use

Do not deprive the young people of access to the Internet, but teach a good use from the same. For this, nothing better than a good use of these devices:

- Establish limits on the use of new technologies. For example, at nightfall, nothing to use smartphones or other devices.

- Encourage the little ones to attend events such as classmates' birthdays in order to interact in person and not through smartphones.


- Accompany the youngest children while surfing the net to be able to discern between what helps and what does not.

- Keep critical talks about the dangers that lurk on the internet: grooming, bullying, etc. and the importance of privacy, as well as counting problems.

Damián Montero

Video: How Is Your Phone Changing You?


Interesting Articles

Menorca as a family, a different destination

Menorca as a family, a different destination

The island of Menorca, located north of the Balearic archipelago, is one of the most beautiful paradises in the western Mediterranean. Thanks to being protected by UNESCO since 1993 as a Biosphere...

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

Copper is an essential mineral for health that helps to preventfetal malformations, anemia, growth problems or birth weight losses. For this reason, the pregnancy and lactation These are two periods...

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The trinkets, sweets and pastries are part of the children's routine, but your intake can be very harmful to your health and the one of the majors since they contain great amounts of sugar and...

Kinder vom Internet zu berauben, hindert sie daran, wichtige Lektionen zu lernen

Internet Es ist zu einem gängigen Werkzeug in unserer Zeit geworden. Mit dieser Online-Welt sind gleichzeitig zahlreiche Gefahren gekommen, die bei vielen Eltern Alarm ausgelöst haben. Um diese Risiken zu vermeiden, wird beschlossen, den Zugang Minderjähriger zu diesem Universum online zu untersagen.

Vermeiden Sie jedoch den Zugriff durch Internet Kleinste ist laut einer Studie der Screen Society eine schlechte Option. Nicht nur, weil Kindern in unseren Tagen ein grundlegendes Werkzeug vorenthalten wird, sondern auch, weil sie von wichtigen Lehren in ihrer Entwicklung abgehalten werden.

Die Gesellschaft der Bildschirme

Ellis Cashmore, Professor an der University of Aston und einer der Autoren dieser Studie, weist darauf hin, dass wir derzeit in einer Gesellschaft leben voller bildschirme. Heutzutage leben Kinder, da Kinder geboren sind, umgeben von Technologien, die als Zugangstüren zu einer Online-Welt dienen, der schwer zu entkommen ist, selbst wenn Eltern versuchen, dies zu vermeiden.


Die Ausgangshypothese lautete, dass Personen nicht einfach durch die Verwendung dieser Geräte süchtig werden. Um dies zu überprüfen, haben sie insgesamt analysiert 2.000 Personen Die Verwendung dieser Technologien ergab, dass es ein Mythos ist, dass die heutige Gesellschaft von Menschen bevölkert wird, die mit ihren mobilen Geräten nicht leben können. Die Fälle größerer Abhängigkeit wurden mit Individuen übersetzt, die eine angenehme Erfahrung erkannten.

Die Forscher weisen auch darauf hin, dass die Sucht nach neuen Technologien mit einem Zusammenhang zusammenhängt nachlässiger Kontakt mit ihnen Am Beispiel der angenehmen Erfahrung weisen die Experten darauf hin, dass es besser ist, die Kleinen so zu schulen, dass ihre zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen persönlich durchgeführt werden, anstatt diesen Kontakt mit den Bildschirmen von Smartphones, Tablets und Rednern zu vermitteln.


"Wir wissen durch unseren Alltag und unsere Forschung, dass viele Eltern ihren Kindern den Gebrauch verbieten Smartphones und andere Geräte, weil sie über die Sucht nach diesen Bildschirmen besorgt sind, aber was sind die Folgen davon? Durch die Beseitigung von Bildschirmen wird eine Informationsquelle beseitigt, wodurch junge Menschen einer wichtigen Kommunikationsquelle beraubt werden ", erklärt Cashmore.

Legen Sie Nutzungsregeln fest

Berauben Sie den Jugendlichen nicht den Zugang zum Internet, sondern vermitteln Sie einen gut gebrauchen von ihnen. Dafür nichts besser als eine gute Nutzung dieser Geräte:

- Festlegung von Grenzen für den Einsatz neuer Technologien. Zum Beispiel, bei Einbruch der Dunkelheit, nichts für die Verwendung von Smartphones oder anderen Geräten.

- Ermutigen Sie die Kleinen, an Veranstaltungen wie den Geburtstagen der Klassenkameraden teilzunehmen, um persönlich und nicht über Smartphones zu interagieren.


- Begleiten Sie die jüngsten Kinder, während Sie im Internet surfen, um zu unterscheiden, was hilft und was nicht.

- Halten Sie kritische Gespräche über die Gefahren, die im Internet lauern: Putzen, Mobbing usw. und die Wichtigkeit der Privatsphäre sowie das Zählen von Problemen.

Damián Montero

Video: 2016 Lecture 01 Maps of Meaning: Introduction and Overview


Interessante Artikel

Dekalog, um mit dem Training zu beginnen

Dekalog, um mit dem Training zu beginnen

Zu den guten Zwecken, die wir alle vor allem in Bezug auf Gesundheit haben, gibt es eine von Übung. Das Tragen von Schuhen und Sportbekleidung ist im Prinzip nicht einfach, aber sicherlich ist es am...