People who leave their jobs to care for a family member increase

The family is a commitment that assumes certain responsibilities such as caring for people around. Sometimes these tasks clash with the work, which forces the people to make balances to be able to fulfill in all the fields where the person operates. Situation that is complicated when there is a dependent person to the position of the employees.

A child with a disability or a sick person requires more care and continuous attention. In the absence of conciliation policies, many people choose to leave their jobs and dedicate themselves to their families. In fact, as revealed by the Adecco Foundation In its seventh disability and family report, the number of employees who leave their positions for these purposes has grown.


Difficulty reconciling

If in 2012 the number of people who had left their job to care for a family member was 74.300, in 2017 this figure grew until 2017. An increase of 44% in five years and that has two explanations. On the one hand, the growth of the aging population and, therefore, dependent. On the other, the lack of labor conciliation policies that have not accompanied the incorporation of both parents into the market.

In fact, the 65% The parents of a child with a disability say they can not telecommute. Only 10% say they have this facility to reconcile the care of their relative and their job. Finally, 25% of the participants in this report emphasize that it is only possible in specific cases.


The reality of these families is that they need a commitment to reconciliation since their presence in the lives of their children is very important. The family is the crucial actor so that all minors, but especially those with disabilities. These people need to spend time with their parents, they are their first reference and those responsible for instilling values ​​such as equal opportunities, self-esteem, confidence or strength.

"Depriving children with disabilities from their parents' company is a step backwards, while facilitating it is a bet for the future," he says. Myriam Won, consultant of the Adecco Foundation.

Proposals to conciliate

Several reports have also been presented in this report tips that could help reach conciliation:

- Telecommuting. 91% of the participants indicated their desire to work from home to be able to fulfill their obligations at home without having to leave their employment aside.


- Possibility of leaving the workplace in case of family emergencies.

- Flexible hours and working hours.

- Temporary exemption with the reservation of the position.

- Possibility of change of shift, if applicable.

- Measures for approaching the home to the workplace: bus route, parking space in the company, etc.

- Meetings by videoconference to avoid trips.

Damián Montero

Video: What It's Like To Take Care Of Multiple Family Members At Age 15 (HBO)


Interesting Articles

Smartphones, enemies of communication as a couple

Smartphones, enemies of communication as a couple

How easy is life with new technologies: with a click we know the name of that author that we had forgotten, with another we know the last hour of international news and if we press again we will know...

Menschen, die ihren Job verlassen, um sich um ein Familienmitglied zu kümmern, nehmen zu

Die Familie ist eine Verpflichtung, die bestimmte Verantwortlichkeiten übernimmt, wie die Betreuung der Menschen in der Umgebung. Manchmal kollidieren diese Aufgaben mit der Arbeit, die das zwingt Menschen Balance zu machen, um in allen Bereichen, in denen die Person tätig ist, zu erfüllen. Eine Situation, die kompliziert ist, wenn eine abhängige Person von der Position der Angestellten abhängig ist.

Ein Kind mit einer Behinderung oder einer kranken Person erfordert mehr Pflege und ständige Aufmerksamkeit. In Ermangelung einer Schlichtungspolitik verlassen viele Menschen ihren Arbeitsplatz und widmen sich ihren Familien. In der Tat, wie von der offenbart Adecco-Stiftung Im siebten Behinderten- und Familienbericht ist die Zahl der Beschäftigten, die ihre Positionen für diese Zwecke verlassen, gestiegen.


Schwierigkeiten beim Abgleich

Wenn im Jahr 2012 die Zahl der Personen, die ihren Job verlassen hatten, um ein Familienmitglied zu betreuen, war 74.3002017 wuchs diese Zahl bis 2017. Eine Steigerung von 44% in fünf Jahren und das hat zwei Erklärungen. Zum einen das Wachstum der alternden Bevölkerung und damit abhängig. Zum anderen das Fehlen von Arbeitsverhandlungsstrategien, die die Markteinführung beider Eltern nicht begleitet haben.

In der Tat die 65% Die Eltern eines behinderten Kindes sagen, dass sie keine Telearbeit ausführen können. Nur 10% geben an, dass sie die Möglichkeit haben, die Fürsorge ihrer Angehörigen und ihrer Arbeit in Einklang zu bringen. Schließlich betonen 25% der Teilnehmer an diesem Bericht, dass dies nur in bestimmten Fällen möglich ist.


Die Realität dieser Familien ist, dass sie eine Verpflichtung zur Versöhnung brauchen, da ihre Anwesenheit im Leben ihrer Kinder sehr wichtig ist. Die Familie ist das entscheidender Schauspieler damit alle minderjährigen, vor allem aber behinderte. Diese Menschen müssen Zeit mit ihren Eltern verbringen, sie sind die erste Anlaufstelle und die Verantwortung dafür, Werte wie Chancengleichheit, Selbstwertgefühl, Selbstvertrauen oder Stärke zu vermitteln.

"Kinder mit Behinderungen vom elterlichen Unternehmen zu berauben, ist ein Rückschritt, und die Erleichterung ist eine Wette für die Zukunft", sagt er. Myriam Won, Berater der Adecco Foundation.

Vorschläge zu vermitteln

In diesem Bericht wurden auch mehrere Berichte vorgelegt Tipps das könnte zu einer Vermittlung beitragen:

- Telearbeit. 91% der Teilnehmer gaben an, von zu Hause aus arbeiten zu wollen, um ihren Verpflichtungen zu Hause nachkommen zu können, ohne dass sie ihren Arbeitsplatz aufgeben müssen.


- Möglichkeit, den Arbeitsplatz bei familiären Notfällen zu verlassen.

- Flexible Arbeitszeiten und Arbeitszeiten.

- Befristete Befreiung mit Vorbehalt der Position.

- Möglichkeit des Schichtwechsels, falls zutreffend.

- Maßnahmen für die Annäherung der Wohnung an den Arbeitsplatz: Buslinie, Parkplatz im Unternehmen usw.

- Meetings per Videokonferenz, um Reisen zu vermeiden.

Damián Montero

Video: Gangs weltweit | Galileo | ProSieben


Interessante Artikel

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Wenige Empfindungen sind ärgerlicher als der Schmerz, der durch verursacht wird Migräne. Das Unbehagen, das durch diese Kopfschmerzen empfunden wird, macht uns schwindelig und gibt sogar den Drang,...