The green tips of the AEP to protect children from tobacco

Many smoking parents try to protect their children from tobacco smoke with ineffective measures, perhaps because they do not know that smoking is not enough with the closed door of the kitchen, the open window or on the terrace. For this reason, the AEP, Spanish Association of Pediatrics, has promoted a campaign for a house and a smoke-free car on the occasion ofWorld No Tobacco Day.

Although the number of smokers has decreased since the implementation of the anti-smoking law, still "in Spain, half of the children live in environments with the presence of environmental tobacco smoke, a source more harmful than many of the air pollutants put together, "says Dr. Juan Antonio Ortega, coordinator of the Environmental Health Committee of the AEP.


For this reason, pediatricians insist that you should not smoke in any room of the house or in the vehicle, even when children are not present. The main reason is that "the smoke is very ubiquitous and persistent because it weighs more than the air and the particles remain impregnated on the surfaces, so that they are later inhaled by children", explains Dr. Ortega.

Secondhand smoke is more harmful

Did you know that second-hand smoke - that is, the environmental smoke formed by the mixture of smoke exhaled by smoking parents and the smoke that comes from the burning of the ember of the cigarette - is of lower quality than the one inhaled by the smoke itself? smoker?


If you do not want your children to be passive smokers, do not smoke in their environment. And is that being a slow combustion in this secondhand smoke a number of chemical substances are concentrated much greater than just in the mainstream. In total, it contains 4,000 chemical substances, and more than 40 of them are carcinogenic. This smoke is a cause of cancer in nonsmokers and increases and is associated with many diseases in childhood.

Third-hand smoke is even more toxic for children

The third-hand smoke is even worse because it is the smoke that comes from the combustion of the ember of the cigarette. "This smoke is characterized by a high concentration of particles and gases that weigh more than the air that are concentrated below the meter of height and, therefore, are more toxic for children and end up adhering to objects that they play with or touch: furniture, curtains, carpet, car ... *, explains Dr. Ortega. Through contact, children can be exposed to many of the chemical compounds in tobacco, as they can put their hands in their mouths.


Recommendations of the pediatricians of the AEP

The first, and ideal, is to stop smoking, but if they do not, they ask that special care be taken and that smoking be avoided inside the vehicle or at home, even if the children are not present. The least harmful thing is to smoke on the street and, if you have a smoker's robe or clothes, it is necessary to remove it when entering the home or vehicle and wash your hands. "Modalities of tobacco such as hookahs and electronic cigarettes are equally harmful and, therefore, should not be smoked in closed environments," warns Dr. Ortega.

World No Tobacco Day. The 4 best 'green tips' for prevention

As indicated by the WHO in its motto for the World No Tobacco Day 2018, "Tobacco and heart disease", Among the health problems of children derived from environmental tobacco smoke are not only respiratory diseases such as asthma or rhinitis, but also highlight alterations in the lipid profile, related to cardiovascular diseases.

Because cardiovascular diseases are usually associated with adults, cardiovascular risk begins in the first ten years of life. Therefore, the coordinator of the Environmental Health Committee of the AEP has established 4 green tips to protect children:

1. Prevention during pregnancy and the first year of life. Avoid active and passive exposure to tobacco smoke.

2. Focus efforts at 3 and 5 years, since it is in this period when the atheroma plaques begin to develop, that is, the formation of fat in the blood vessel that can cause the arteries to close.

3. Encourage healthy infant feeding from birth.

4. Develop a habit of physical activity in children from an early age.

In this line, Dr. María José Mellado, president of the AEP, recalls that "children are particularly vulnerable to the effects of smoke, because their height are more exposed to pollutants and breathe more times per minute than an adult" , while indicating the responsibility of adults to ensure their protection and prevention of diseases."Pediatricians also have to play a relevant role in the battle against the exposure of children to tobacco and its smoke, giving parents the appropriate advice so that their children are exposed as little as possible to these harmful substances," he says. .

Campaign 'Homes and cars without smoke': # AdiósTabaco

Among the actions that will be carried out, the pediatricians will be able to deliver a certificate in the consultations that the parents will have to sign in front of the child to promise to keep the home and the vehicle smoke free. "In addition, they will have to hang this document in a visible place to sensitize parents of the danger that this habit poses to the health of their children and remind them of the commitment they have acquired," says Dr. Ortega. Along with this certificate, a series of recommendations and a kit 'without bad fumes' will be delivered. Dr. Ortega estimates that this campaign will "one in 10 parents" quit smoking.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Advice: doctor Juan Antonio Ortega, coordinator of the Environmental Health Committee of the AEP.

Video: What Does Your PEE Say About You?


Interesting Articles

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Say no It can be complicated for many people. If you often answer yes to demands of friendships or work, even if you really know you do not want to do it, if you have a hard time saying no and you...

This develops the baby's sense of balance

This develops the baby's sense of balance

The sense of balance it provides us with a permanent orientation in the three dimensions of space. For this, he uses different structures such as the vestibular apparatus, the eyes and the cutaneous...

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

How is life in general going? An OECD study has measured the 11 dimensions of well-being today. Among its conclusions, it shows that the OECD countries follow different patterns with respect to their...

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Love in youth is of the utmost importance, since the first couple relationships build the sentimental parameters of the people, that is, if at that age a person lives a healthy love, their subsequent...

Die grünen Spitzen des AEP schützen Kinder vor Tabak

Viele rauchende Eltern versuchen, ihre Kinder mit unwirksamen Maßnahmen vor Tabakrauch zu schützen, vielleicht weil sie nicht wissen, dass das Rauchen bei geschlossener Tür der Küche, dem offenen Fenster oder auf der Terrasse nicht ausreicht. Aus diesem Grund ist die AEP, Spanischer Verband für Pädiatrie, hat anlässlich des Jahres eine Kampagne für ein Haus und ein rauchfreies Auto gefördertWeltnichtrauchertag.

Obwohl die Anzahl der Raucher seit der Umsetzung des Anti-Raucher-Gesetzes abgenommen hat, leben "noch immer" in Spanien die Hälfte der Kinder in Umgebungen mit Tabakrauch in der Umwelt, eine Quelle, die schädlicher ist als viele der Luftschadstoffe zusammen ", sagt Dr. Juan Antonio Ortega, Koordinator des Umweltgesundheitsausschusses der AEP.


Aus diesem Grund bestehen Kinderärzte darauf, dass Sie in keinem Raum des Hauses oder im Fahrzeug rauchen, auch wenn Kinder nicht anwesend sind. Der Hauptgrund ist, dass "der Rauch sehr allgegenwärtig und hartnäckig ist, weil er mehr wiegt als die Luft und die Partikel auf den Oberflächen imprägniert bleiben, so dass sie später von Kindern inhaliert werden", erklärt Dr. Ortega.

Passivrauch ist schädlicher

Wussten Sie, dass gebrauchter Rauch, dh der Umgebungsrauch, der durch die Rauchmischung der rauchenden Eltern und den Rauch, der durch die Verbrennung der Glut der Zigarette entsteht, gebildet wird, von geringerer Qualität ist als der Rauch, der vom Rauch selbst eingeatmet wird? Raucher


Wenn Sie nicht möchten, dass Ihre Kinder passive Raucher sind, rauchen Sie nicht in ihrer Umgebung. Und ist das eine langsame Verbrennung? In diesem gebrauchten Rauch sind eine Reihe chemischer Substanzen konzentriert viel größer als nur im Mainstream. Insgesamt enthält es 4.000 chemische Substanzen, von denen mehr als 40 krebserregend sind. Dieser Rauch ist eine Krebsursache bei Nichtrauchern und nimmt zu und ist mit vielen Krankheiten in der Kindheit verbunden.

Rauch aus dritten Händen ist für Kinder noch giftiger

Der Rauch aus der dritten Hand ist noch schlimmer, weil es der Rauch ist, der durch die Verbrennung der Glut der Zigarette entsteht. "Dieser Rauch zeichnet sich durch eine hohe Konzentration von Partikel und Gase, die mehr wiegen als Luft, die unter dem Meter Höhe konzentriert ist und sind daher für Kinder toxischer und haften an Objekten, mit denen sie spielen oder anfassen: Möbel, Vorhänge, Teppiche, Autos ... *, erklärt Dr. Ortega. Durch Kontakt können Kinder vielen chemischen Verbindungen im Tabak ausgesetzt sein, da sie ihre Hände in den Mund nehmen können.


Empfehlungen der Kinderärzte des AEP

Das erste und Ideal ist, mit dem Rauchen aufzuhören, aber wenn dies nicht der Fall ist, bitten sie um besondere Vorsicht und das Rauchen im Fahrzeug oder zu Hause, auch wenn die Kinder nicht anwesend sind. Am wenigsten schädlich ist es, auf der Straße zu rauchen. Wenn Sie eine Robe oder Kleidung eines Rauchers haben, müssen Sie diese beim Betreten des Hauses oder Fahrzeugs entfernen und sich die Hände waschen. "Modalitäten von Tabakwaren wie Wasserpfeifen und elektronische Zigaretten sind gleichermaßen schädlich und sollten daher nicht in geschlossenen Umgebungen geraucht werden", warnt Dr. Ortega.

Weltnichtrauchertag. Die 4 besten "grünen Tipps" zur Vorbeugung

Wie die WHO in ihrem Motto für die Weltnichtrauchertag 2018 "Tabak- und Herzkrankheit", Zu den Gesundheitsproblemen von Kindern, die aus dem Tabakrauch in der Umwelt stammen, gehören nicht nur Atemwegserkrankungen wie Asthma oder Rhinitis, sondern auch Veränderungen im Lipidprofil, die mit Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen zusammenhängen.

Da Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen in der Regel bei Erwachsenen auftreten, beginnt das Herz-Kreislauf-Risiko in den ersten zehn Lebensjahren. Daher hat der Koordinator des Umweltgesundheitsausschusses der AEP vier grüne Tipps zum Schutz von Kindern aufgestellt:

1. Prävention während der Schwangerschaft und im ersten Lebensjahr. Vermeiden Sie aktiven und passiven Kontakt mit Tabakrauch.

2. Konzentrationsbemühungen nach 3 und 5 Jahren In dieser Zeit beginnen sich die Atherom-Plaques zu entwickeln, d. h. die Bildung von Fett im Blutgefäß, das die Arterien schließen kann.

3. Ermutigen Sie zu einer gesunden Säuglingsernährung von Geburt an

4. Entwickeln Sie eine Gewohnheit körperlicher Aktivität bei Kindern von einem frühen Alter.

In dieser Zeile erinnert sich Dr. María José Mellado, Präsidentin der AEP, daran, dass "Kinder besonders anfällig für die Auswirkungen von Rauch sind, da sie in der Höhe mehr Schadstoffen ausgesetzt sind und mehrmals pro Minute atmen als ein Erwachsener". und weist gleichzeitig auf die Verantwortung der Erwachsenen hin, ihren Schutz und die Vorbeugung gegen Krankheiten sicherzustellen."Kinderärzte müssen auch eine wichtige Rolle im Kampf gegen die Exposition von Kindern gegenüber Tabak und dessen Rauch spielen, wobei die Eltern entsprechend beraten werden, damit ihre Kinder diesen schädlichen Substanzen so wenig wie möglich ausgesetzt sind", sagt er. .

Kampagne "Häuser und Autos ohne Rauch": # AdiósTabaco

Unter den Maßnahmen, die durchgeführt werden, können die Kinderärzte in den Konsultationen eine Bescheinigung ausstellen, die die Eltern vor dem Kind unterschreiben müssen, um zu versprechen, das Haus und das Fahrzeug rauchfrei zu halten. "Außerdem müssen sie dieses Dokument an einem sichtbaren Ort aufhängen, um die Eltern für die Gefahr zu sensibilisieren, die diese Gewohnheit für die Gesundheit ihrer Kinder darstellt, und sie an die eingegangene Verpflichtung zu erinnern", sagt Dr. Ortega. Zusammen mit diesem Zertifikat werden eine Reihe von Empfehlungen und ein Kit "ohne schlechte Dämpfe" geliefert. Dr. Ortega schätzt, dass bei dieser Kampagne "jeder zehnte Elternteil" mit dem Rauchen aufhören wird.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Hinweis: Doktor Juan Antonio OrtegaKoordinator des Umweltgesundheitsausschusses der AEP.

Video: GRÜNE - Ein Wahlprogramm für gorß & klein


Interessante Artikel

Attendis, drei Vorschläge für städtische Sommerlager

Attendis, drei Vorschläge für städtische Sommerlager

Die erwarteten Sommerferien kommen, und die Attendis-Schulen öffnen auch ihre Türen. Sie bieten drei verschiedene Vorschläge für Sommerkurse an, deren Ziel es ist, den Schülern und ihren Familien zu...

Niederlage akzeptieren: Der Wert von Sportlichkeit

Niederlage akzeptieren: Der Wert von Sportlichkeit

Wie gerne, aber was gewinnen bitter ist die Niederlage. Verlieren ist jedoch ein Teil des Lebens, und Sie sollten diese Ereignisse nicht als Versagen betrachten, sondern als einen Moment, in dem Sie...