Operating the frenulum in babies can make breastfeeding difficult

The lactation It is one of the most important processes in the development of the smallest. Any help that parents can assure to favor this feeding is welcome. Sometimes this happens by not doing something, by avoiding certain practices in order that the baby benefits from all the points that have to receive the breast.

Now a new study from the University of Western Australia at the XIII International Breastfeeding Symposium alerts of the difficulties for the lactation that has the operation of frenillo in the smallest. Since Medela, entity that has promoted this work, point out that this type of interventions have grown in recent times. Therefore, the focus has been on the relationship between both subjects.


Restriction of movements

The operation of frenillo operation of bridle Lingual laser separates the tongue from the bottom of the mouth favoring its mobility. Can there be a relationship between breastfeeding and this intervention? This team took into account different aspects that included from the production of milk of the mother; the pressure in the baby's mouth during breastfeeding; the breathing patterns and how the breast responds to the movements of the child's mouth and tongue.

All these parameters were analyzed both before and after the operation to see if after this there were some changes in the way in which the baby lived breastfeeding. Although in theory the children should have greater mobility in the language and therefore a better experience when receiving the breast, no significant changes were found.


The results also indicated that babies who had undergone these operations had more discomfort at the time of take the breast by the aftermath of the operation. Moving the tongue in this situation resulted in pain that sometimes led to bleeding. These symptoms caused the child to abandon breastfeeding in the long run, giving up the benefits of breastfeeding.

Breastfeeding techniques

As mentioned, breastfeeding has multiple benefits for the little ones. Therefore, it is recommended to perform techniques to encourage breastfeeding in children. Here are some suggestions from the Spanish Association of Pediatrics:

- Hold on to the chest. The signs that will indicate a good grip are: the baby's chin touches the chest, the mouth is wide open and covers much of the areola, the lips are out (reversed) and the cheeks are round (not sunken) when sucking . If the baby latches on to the breast, breastfeeding does not hurt.


- If the baby is more than 6 months old and already eats other foods, he can be offered water, without forcing. Do not add sugar.

- Galactogogues are drugs that stimulate milk production. They are effective, but they should only be used under medical supervision, after checking that the frequency and technique of the takings is adequate and having ruled out maternal diseases that cause hypogalactia.

Damián Montero

Video: Tongue Tie Procedure With Pain Control Making Breastfeeding Better


Interesting Articles

Smartphones, enemies of communication as a couple

Smartphones, enemies of communication as a couple

How easy is life with new technologies: with a click we know the name of that author that we had forgotten, with another we know the last hour of international news and if we press again we will know...

Die Bedienung des Frenulums bei Säuglingen kann das Stillen erschweren

Die Laktation Es ist einer der wichtigsten Prozesse bei der Entwicklung des Kleinsten. Jede Hilfe, die Eltern versichern können, um diese Fütterung zu bevorzugen, ist willkommen. Manchmal geschieht dies, indem Sie nichts tun, indem Sie bestimmte Praktiken vermeiden, damit das Baby von allen Punkten profitiert, die die Brust erhalten müssen.

Eine neue Studie der University of Western Australia beim XIII. Internationalen Stillsymposium warnt vor den Schwierigkeiten für Laktation das hat den betrieb von frenillo im kleinsten. Von MedelaEine Entität, die diese Arbeit gefördert hat, weist darauf hin, dass diese Art von Interventionen in letzter Zeit gewachsen ist. Daher lag der Fokus auf der Beziehung zwischen beiden Fächern.


Einschränkung der Bewegungen

Der Betrieb des Frenillo-Betriebs von Zaumzeug Der Lingual-Laser trennt die Zunge von der Unterseite des Mundes und fördert deren Beweglichkeit. Kann es einen Zusammenhang zwischen dem Stillen und dieser Intervention geben? Dieses Team berücksichtigte verschiedene Aspekte, unter anderem von der Muttermilchproduktion; der Druck im Mund des Babys während des Stillens; die Atmungsmuster und wie die Brust auf die Bewegungen des Mundes und der Zunge des Kindes reagiert.

Alle diese Parameter wurden vor und nach der Analyse analysiert Betrieb um zu sehen, ob sich danach das Stillen des Babys verändert hat. Obwohl die Kinder theoretisch eine größere Mobilität in der Sprache haben sollten und daher eine bessere Erfahrung beim Erhalten der Brust haben sollten, wurden keine signifikanten Veränderungen festgestellt.


Die Ergebnisse zeigten auch, dass Babys, die diese Operationen durchlaufen hatten, zum Zeitpunkt der Behandlung mehr Beschwerden hatten nimm die Brust durch die Nachwirkungen der Operation. Das Bewegen der Zunge in dieser Situation führte zu Schmerzen, die manchmal zu Blutungen führten. Diese Symptome führten dazu, dass das Kind langfristig das Stillen aufgab und die Vorteile des Stillens aufgaben.

Stilltechniken

Wie gesagt, das Stillen hat mehrere vorteile für die Kleinen Daher wird empfohlen, Techniken anzuwenden, um das Stillen bei Kindern zu fördern. Hier sind einige Vorschläge des spanischen Verbandes für Pädiatrie:

- Halten Sie sich an die Brust. Die Anzeichen, die auf einen guten Griff hinweisen, sind: Das Kinn des Babys berührt die Brust, der Mund ist weit geöffnet und deckt einen großen Teil des Warzenhofs ab, die Lippen sind ausgefahren (umgekehrt) und die Wangen sind rund (nicht eingesunken), wenn sie saugen . Wenn das Baby an der Brust einrastet, tut das Stillen nicht weh.


- Wenn das Baby älter als 6 Monate ist und bereits andere Lebensmittel isst, kann ihm Wasser angeboten werden, ohne dass es dazu gezwungen wird. Fügen Sie keinen Zucker hinzu.

- Galactogogues sind Medikamente, die die Milchproduktion anregen. Sie sind wirksam, sollten jedoch nur unter ärztlicher Aufsicht angewendet werden, nachdem die Häufigkeit und Technik der Einnahmen angemessen war und mütterliche Erkrankungen, die eine Hypogalaktie verursachen, ausgeschlossen sind.

Damián Montero

Video: Prenez le départ sur la route des vacances l Les aventures du Slip


Interessante Artikel

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Wenige Empfindungen sind ärgerlicher als der Schmerz, der durch verursacht wird Migräne. Das Unbehagen, das durch diese Kopfschmerzen empfunden wird, macht uns schwindelig und gibt sogar den Drang,...