This is the addictive effect of alcohol

In today's society, the consumption of alcohol is something habitual that is part of everyday life, a glass of wine in the food, some canes after work, etc. Alcohol becomes one of the key elements of our social life, and moderate consumption is common. However, alcohol is a harmful substance for the organism of great addictive capacity, whose high consumption has serious consequences for the health of the individual.

Alcohol consumption: this is how it affects us

The consumption of alcohol is something frequent and well seen in today's society. When alcohol is consumed, alterations occur in our body, and it affects certain areas of the brain, consuming alcohol at first can make us feel well and relaxed.


- Alcohol consumption leads to the release of dopamine It is associated with the feeling of well-being and activates the reward circuit of the brain. At first drinking alcohol makes us feel good.

- The intake of alcohol has a depressant effectIn the central nervous system, which makes the cells of the nervous system work slower than usual.

. The functioning of the limbic system, related to emotions such as fear and anxiety, it becomes slower and therefore at first, the person experiences some relief in relation to those emotions.

- In addition, it has direct effects on the prefrontal cortex, responsible for inhibitory control and cognitive abilities, such as reasoning and judgment. Therefore, alcohol intake disinhibits and alters common sense, the perception of risk is altered, the behavior becomes impulsive, and can put us in danger.


At first, the consumption of alcohol, when the dose is moderate or low, causes feelings of well-being, and "apparently" improves our emotional state and allows us to relate better, given its disinhibiting effect. But, as the intake increases, so do the effects and what, initially, seemed positive, becomes something negative, the disinhibiting effect can lead to dangerous behaviors, it also alters the character and reasoning ability and of judgment. When consumption is very high we stop being ourselves and may lose consciousness in the case of serious poisonings.

The addictive effect of alcohol

Alcohol has serious consequences for health, which go beyond the effects of a drunkenness. When drinking becomes a habit, in a need, we can talk about an addictive pathology, and then, alcohol can dominate the person and change his life completely.


The addictive power of alcohol is very great:

- From the biological point of view, Alcohol activates the reward circuit of the brain. Drinking makes us feel good and when alcohol disappears from the body a rebound effect appears that is associated with a feeling of discomfort and low mood, which pushes us to want to drink to feel better again.

- From the psychological and social point of view, drinking is not frowned upon, it is an accepted behavior, and it is even associated with positive social situations. This increases the "well-being" effect that is associated with alcohol consumption, so that the intake behavior is also socially reinforced.

The addictive power of alcohol is very strong and its abstinence is very hard and dangerous.

When has alcohol become a problem?

Alcohol consumption is common and it is often difficult to realize a problematic use. Most people would define their consumption as normal and without risk, although this is not the case, how can we know that alcohol consumption has become a problem? What are the symptoms that alert us to possible addictive behavior?

- There is an impulsive and irrepressible need to consume alcohol. You need to consume alcohol to alleviate your anxiety, there are thoughts that justify this need and consumption "if I drink I have a better time" "I can control it, I do not need it, but I like it", "everyone drinks", etc.

- This need can draw the attention of the people nearby and leads to the person drinking in secret to avoid reproaches or sermons.

- Consumption ceases to be a social consumption, the person drinks alone to feel better.

- When alcohol is not consumed, there is a withdrawal syndrome that involves physical discomfort, anxiety, restlessness, etc.

- Other habits of the person are affected, their ability to concentrate and their performance is altered, as well as family, social and work problems.

Effects of prolonged alcohol consumption

Overconsumption and prolonged use of alcohol is a serious illness that is known as alcoholism. It is a very strong addiction that is not easy to overcome. The consequences of alcohol consumption are:

- In the nervous system:

- Altera brain functions, affecting reasoning and judgment, and even motor control: mood swings, mental slowness, difficulty speaking, blurred or double vision, loss of balance and coordination, etc.

- Alters the action of neurotransmitters and can lead to mood disorders.

- There is serious damage to brain cells that is irreversible.

- It produces amnesia and difficulties for concentration.

- It is associated with sleep disorders.

- In the body: 

- Causes alterations and serious diseases: alters liver function, cardiovascular functions, causes obesity, impairs intestinal function, etc.

- At a social and personal level, alcoholism has serious consequences, in the most serious cases serious deterioration occurs in personal and family relationships, loss of employment, etc.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Clinical health psychologist. Specialist in pedagogy and child and youth psychology. Director of Educa and Learn. Author of the collection Stimulate Reading and Writing Processes.

Video: Alcohol and the Female Brain


Interesting Articles

New findings on the origin of depression in children

New findings on the origin of depression in children

Childhood is usually a time of joy and fun. The first years of a person in this world are usually quiet, however there are times when it is not. There are minors who, due to various problems, suffer...

12 solutions to the rebellion of adolescents

12 solutions to the rebellion of adolescents

And if it turns out that your teenager is so rebellious, unbearable and unmotivated because the family and marriage is also in crisis? Recognizing the problems at home is the first step in the search...

Dies ist die Suchtwirkung von Alkohol

In der heutigen Gesellschaft gehört der Konsum von Alkohol zum Alltag, ein Glas Wein in der Nahrung, ein paar Stöcke nach der Arbeit usw. Alkohol wird zu einem der Schlüsselelemente unseres gesellschaftlichen Lebens und mäßiger Konsum ist üblich. Alkohol ist jedoch ein schädlicher Stoff für den Organismus mit großer Suchtfähigkeit, dessen hoher Konsum schwerwiegende Folgen für die Gesundheit des Einzelnen hat.

Alkoholkonsum: So beeinflusst es uns

Der Konsum von Alkohol ist in der heutigen Gesellschaft häufig anzutreffen. Wenn Alkohol konsumiert wird, treten Veränderungen in unserem Körper auf, und dies beeinflusst bestimmte Bereiche des Gehirns. Alkoholkonsum kann zunächst dazu führen, dass wir uns wohl und entspannt fühlen.


- Alkoholkonsum führt zur Freisetzung von Dopamin Es ist mit dem Wohlbefinden verbunden und aktiviert den Belohnungskreislauf des Gehirns. Alkohol trinken macht uns zunächst gut.

- Die Einnahme von Alkohol wirkt deprimierendIm zentralen Nervensystem, wodurch die Zellen des Nervensystems langsamer arbeiten als üblich.

. Das Funktionieren des limbischen Systems In Verbindung mit Emotionen wie Angst und Angst wird es langsamer und daher erfährt die Person zunächst eine gewisse Erleichterung in Bezug auf diese Emotionen.

- Darüber hinaus hat es direkte Auswirkungen auf den präfrontalen Kortex, verantwortlich für hemmende Kontrolle und kognitive Fähigkeiten, wie zum Beispiel Argumentation und Urteil. Daher hemmt der Alkoholkonsum den gesunden Menschenverstand, verändert die Wahrnehmung des Risikos, das Verhalten wird impulsiv und kann uns in Gefahr bringen.


Zunächst verursacht der Alkoholkonsum, wenn die Dosis mäßig oder niedrig ist, ein Gefühl des Wohlbefindens, und "scheinbar" verbessert unseren emotionalen Zustand und ermöglicht es uns, aufgrund seiner enthemmenden Wirkung besser zu kommunizieren. Mit zunehmender Einnahme nehmen jedoch auch die Auswirkungen zu und das, was zunächst positiv schien, wird etwas Negatives. Die enthemmende Wirkung kann zu gefährlichen Verhaltensweisen führen und verändert auch den Charakter und die Denkfähigkeit und des Urteils. Wenn der Verbrauch sehr hoch ist, hören wir auf, wir selbst zu sein und können bei schweren Vergiftungen das Bewusstsein verlieren.

Die süchtig machende Wirkung von Alkohol

Alkohol hat schwerwiegende Folgen für die Gesundheit, die über die Auswirkungen von Betrunkenheit hinausgehen. Wenn Trinken zur Gewohnheit wird, können wir in einer Not von einer süchtig machenden Pathologie sprechen, und dann kann Alkohol die Person dominieren und sein Leben vollständig verändern.


Die Suchtkraft von Alkohol ist sehr groß:

- Aus biologischer Sicht Alkohol aktiviert den Belohnungskreislauf des Gehirns. Trinken macht uns gut und wenn Alkohol aus dem Körper verschwindet, zeigt sich ein Rebound-Effekt, der mit einem unangenehmen Gefühl und einer schlechten Stimmung einhergeht, was uns dazu bringt, trinken zu wollen, um uns wieder besser zu fühlen.

- Aus psychologischer und sozialer Sicht Trinken ist nicht verpönt, es ist ein akzeptiertes Verhalten und wird sogar mit positiven sozialen Situationen in Verbindung gebracht. Dies erhöht den mit Alkoholkonsum einhergehenden "Wohlfühleffekt", so dass auch das Aufnahmeverhalten sozial verstärkt wird.

Die Suchtkraft von Alkohol ist sehr stark und seine Abstinenz ist sehr hart und gefährlich.

Wann ist Alkohol zum Problem geworden?

Alkoholkonsum ist üblich und es ist oft schwierig, eine problematische Verwendung zu realisieren. Die meisten Menschen würden ihren Konsum als normal und ohne Risiko definieren, obwohl dies nicht der Fall ist. Woher wissen wir, dass Alkoholkonsum ein Problem geworden ist? Was sind die Symptome, die uns auf mögliche Suchtverhalten aufmerksam machen?

- Es besteht ein impulsiver und unwiderruflicher Konsum von Alkohol. Sie müssen Alkohol konsumieren, um Ihre Angst zu lindern, es gibt Gedanken, die dieses Bedürfnis rechtfertigen und Konsum "Wenn ich trinke, habe ich eine bessere Zeit" "Ich kann es kontrollieren, ich brauche es nicht, aber ich mag es"

- Dieses Bedürfnis kann die Aufmerksamkeit der Menschen in der Nähe auf sich ziehen und führt dazu, dass die Person im Verborgenen trinkt, um Vorwürfe oder Predigten zu vermeiden.

- Der Konsum ist kein sozialer Konsum mehr, die Person trinkt allein, um sich besser zu fühlen.

- Wenn kein Alkohol konsumiert wird, gibt es ein Entzugssyndrom, das körperliche Beschwerden, Angstzustände, Unruhe usw. beinhaltet.

- Andere Gewohnheiten der Person sind betroffen, ihre Konzentrationsfähigkeit und ihre Leistung sind verändert sowie familiäre, soziale und berufliche Probleme.

Auswirkungen eines längeren Alkoholkonsums

Übermäßiger Konsum und längerer Konsum von Alkohol ist eine schwere Krankheit, die als bekannt ist Alkoholismus Es ist eine sehr starke Sucht, die nicht leicht zu überwinden ist. Die Folgen des Alkoholkonsums sind:

- im Nervensystem:

- Die Gehirnfunktionen von Altera beeinflussen das Denken und Beurteilen und sogar die motorische Kontrolle: Stimmungsschwankungen, geistige Langsamkeit, Schwierigkeiten beim Sprechen, verschwommenes oder doppeltes Sehen, Gleichgewichtsstörungen und Koordination usw.

- Verändert die Wirkung von Neurotransmittern und kann zu Stimmungsstörungen führen.

- Hirnzellen sind schwer irreversibel geschädigt.

- Es erzeugt Amnesie und Konzentrationsschwierigkeiten.

- Es ist mit Schlafstörungen verbunden.

- im Körper: 

- Verursacht Veränderungen und schwere Erkrankungen: Ändert die Leberfunktion, Herz-Kreislauf-Funktionen, führt zu Übergewicht, beeinträchtigt die Darmfunktion usw.

- Auf sozialer und persönlicher Ebene hat Alkoholismus schwerwiegende Folgen. In den schwerwiegendsten Fällen kommt es zu einer ernsthaften Verschlechterung der persönlichen und familiären Beziehungen, zum Verlust des Arbeitsplatzes usw.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Klinischer Gesundheitspsychologe. Spezialist für Pädagogik und Kinder- und Jugendpsychologie. Direktor von Educa und Lernen. Autor der Sammlung Regen Lese- und Schreibprozesse an.

Video: DOCUMENTALES INTERESANTES ???? Drogas y Cerebro,Opiácios y Tranquilizantes,DISCOVERY,Documentales,DOCU


Interessante Artikel