The new generations feel more alone than their parents

The arrival of the internet and other technologies have broken spatial barriers. Anyone can talk to another person in the antipodes and at any time hold a chat via video conference or send a photograph of their food. Social networks show long lists of "virtual friends"The perfect panorama so that nobody feels alone, especially for new generations that have been born in this digital environment.

However, the data reveal a different story. Younger people feel more alone than the generations of their parents. This is revealed in a new study conducted by the insurance company Cigna and where the vision of a total of 20,000 young adults between 18 and 20 years has been taken into account.


Alone at the time of interconnection

After collecting the opinions of these 20,000 participants about their feeling of loneliness and their use of social networks, the following conclusions were reached:

- Half of the participants reported that they feel alone (46%) or excluded (47%) assiduously.

- One in four participants never feel that there are people who really understand them.

- Two out of five participants sometimes or always feel that their relationships are not significant (43%) and that they are isolated from others (43%).

- One in five people report that they rarely feel close to others (20%) and only 18% feel that there are people they can talk to.


- Only about half of the participants have significant social interactions in person, such as a prolonged conversation with a friend or spending quality time with the family, on a daily basis.

- Adults between 18 and 22 years make up the loneliest generation and claims to be in worse health than previous generations.

Social networks and friends

Do not confuse contacts in social networks with real friends, as indicated in the 38 Congress of the Federation of Association of Parents of Students of the Colleges of Promotion of Teaching Centers. A meeting where something wanted to be made clear to the parents: "800 contacts are not 800 friends". A notice related to the dependence of these platforms to maintain interpersonal relationships.

When speaking through social networks, young people have the feeling of being talking to a real friend. A false sense of closeness that does not fit what is really a friendship. This generates a confusion that does not fit the truth because they can not have the same treatment as if they stayed with them in their day to day.


This dependence causes young people to end up depending on social networks to satisfy their need for interpersonal relationships. But as reflected in the aforementioned study few members of the generations of 18 and 20 years They recognize having significant social interactions.

Damián Montero

Video: hobo johnson - feb. 15th (alone forever) {post ash}


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Die neuen Generationen fühlen sich einsamer als ihre Eltern

Die Einführung des Internets und anderer Technologien hat räumliche Barrieren durchbrochen. Jeder kann mit einer anderen Person in den Antipoden sprechen und jederzeit per Videokonferenz einen Chat führen oder ein Foto seines Essens senden. Soziale Netzwerke zeigen lange Listen von "virtuelle Freunde"Das perfekte Panorama, damit sich niemand alleine fühlt, insbesondere für neue Generationen, die in dieser digitalen Umgebung geboren wurden.

Die Daten zeigen jedoch eine andere Geschichte. Jüngere Menschen fühlen sich mehr alleine als die Generationen ihrer Eltern. Dies zeigt eine neue Studie der Versicherungsgesellschaft Cigna, in der die Vision von insgesamt 20.000 jungen Erwachsenen zwischen 18 und 20 Jahren berücksichtigt wurde.


Allein zum Zeitpunkt der Zusammenschaltung

Nach dem Sammeln der Meinungen von diesen 20.000 Teilnehmer Zu ihrem Gefühl der Einsamkeit und ihrer Nutzung sozialer Netzwerke wurden folgende Schlussfolgerungen gezogen:

- Die Hälfte der Teilnehmer gab an, dass sie sich allein fühlen (46%) oder ausgeschlossen (47%).

- Jeder vierte Teilnehmer hat nie das Gefühl, dass es Menschen gibt, die sie wirklich verstehen.

- Zwei von fünf Teilnehmern haben manchmal oder immer das Gefühl, dass ihre Beziehungen nicht signifikant sind (43%) und dass sie von anderen isoliert sind (43%).

- Jeder fünfte berichtet, dass er sich selten anderen nahe fühlt (20%), und nur 18% glauben, dass es Menschen gibt, mit denen sie sprechen können.


- Nur etwa die Hälfte der Teilnehmer hat persönliche soziale Interaktionen, z. B. ein längeres Gespräch mit einem Freund oder ein täglicher Aufenthalt mit der Familie.

- Erwachsene zwischen 18 und 22 Jahren bilden die einsamste Generation und behaupten, dass sie sich in einem schlechteren Gesundheitszustand befinden als frühere Generationen.

Soziale Netzwerke und Freunde

Verwechseln Sie Kontakte in sozialen Netzwerken nicht mit echten Freunden, wie in den 38 angegeben Kongress der Vereinigung der Eltern der Studenten der Colleges zur Förderung von Lehrzentren. Ein Treffen, bei dem den Eltern etwas klar werden wollte: "800 Kontakte sind keine 800 Freunde". Ein Hinweis in Bezug auf die Abhängigkeit dieser Plattformen zur Aufrechterhaltung der zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen.

Wenn Jugendliche über soziale Netzwerke sprechen, haben sie das Gefühl, mit einem echten Freund zu sprechen. Eins falsches Gefühl der Nähe das passt nicht, was wirklich eine Freundschaft ist. Dies führt zu einer Verwirrung, die nicht zur Wahrheit passt, weil sie nicht so behandelt werden können, als wären sie täglich bei ihnen geblieben.


Diese Abhängigkeit führt dazu, dass junge Menschen von sozialen Netzwerken abhängig sind, um ihr Bedürfnis nach zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen zu befriedigen. Aber wie in der oben genannten Studie nur wenige Mitglieder der Generationen von 18 und 20 Jahre Sie erkennen signifikante soziale Interaktionen.

Damián Montero

Video: Kleine Seelen - Großes Leid | Menschen hautnah [Dokumentation]


Interessante Artikel

Wie man Geschwisterkämpfe handhabt

Wie man Geschwisterkämpfe handhabt

Die Kämpfe zwischen Brüdern von 6 bis 12 Jahren, schädlich und störend im Aussehen, machen wirklich aus ein Hilfsmittel, damit sie in ihrem Gefühl der Geselligkeit ausgebildet werden, Kennen Sie die...

Lancia vertreibt die S-Version von Voyager in Spanien

Lancia vertreibt die S-Version von Voyager in Spanien

Có vô số dịp trong cuộc đời của con cái chúng ta, trong đó chúng ta không thể phân biệt được giữa một sự khẩn cấp thực sự của một nỗi sợ hãi đơn giản. Vì lý do này, thật tốt khi có một số khái niệm...