Symptoms in children that can alert of a depression

Wrongly it is believed that the depression It is a problem of adults, that during childhood can not suffer from this disorder that adds to people in a state of continuous sadness. However, this thought is false, and the smallest of the house also go through these episodes. Often without being appreciated by parents in their first moments.

As with any problem, the early detection of symptoms favors an effective treatment. What are the signs that should alert parents? What aspects change in the day to day of the smallest and are indicative of something bad happening to them? These questions are answered by the study published in JAMA Psychiatry that reveals to the parents the clues to detect a possible depression in their children.


Anxiety and irritability

This investigation was composed by a longitudinal study carried out throughout 4 years (April 2007 to March 2011). The sample was composed by a group of descendants of parents who had gone through episodes of depression. A total of 337 families, where 315 mothers and 22 parents, had experienced at least 2 of this disorder.

The age range of the children participating in this study was between 9 and 17 years old who live with their parents. The results indicated that 20 children developed major depression at age 14, adolescence and greater transcision. To detect this disorder, children were required to have at least five symptoms, including a persistent mood, irritability and loss of interest in normal activities.


Among the symptoms most related to the first steps of depression, the researchers found that irritability, fear and anxiety were the most common signs at the beginning. These results can help you to begin with the treatment of this disorder before it even begins.

Other symptoms of depression

From the National Institute of Mental Health the following signs of depression in children are highlighted. A child with this disorder can pretend to be sick, refuse to go to school, cling to a parent, or worry that one of their parents may die. Older people may be in a bad mood, be part of problems in school like fights, keep a negative attitude and feel misunderstood.

Before puberty, boys and girls are equally likely to suffer from depression disorders. However, at 15 years, women are twice as likely as men to have had an episode of severe depression.23


Depression in adolescents comes at a time of great personal changes, when men and women are defining a different identity from their parents, dealing with issues of gender and their emerging sexuality, and making decisions for the first time in their lives. Depression in adolescence often coexists with other disorders such as anxiety, disruptive behavior, eating disorders, or beginning of alcohol intake.

Damián Montero

Video: What are signs of depression in a teenager ? | BEST Health Channel & Answers


Interesting Articles

5 tricks for a perfect snack

5 tricks for a perfect snack

There is a misconception about the need to distribute the meals in five takes to guarantee energy for the whole day. However, this distribution has other benefits, such as avoiding chopping between...

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

The Postpartum girdles are, like the 'normal' strips, products that They serve to stylize the figure of women, in this case after the changes produced in your belly after delivery. Beyond the pros...

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

Most young people would like to have a magical recipe or a crystal ball to ver the future and be able to decide what career to study after finishing Baccalaureate. And we would like to provide it to...

Why you should not use baby walker

Why you should not use baby walker

When the babies they start to walk Many parents may consider the need for cBuy a walker. That object that many will have had when they were children and that allowed children to "walk" while...

Symptome bei Kindern, die auf eine Depression aufmerksam machen können

Man glaubt fälschlicherweise, dass die Depression Es ist ein Problem von Erwachsenen, dass in der Kindheit nicht unter dieser Störung leiden können, die Menschen in einem Zustand anhaltender Traurigkeit hinzufügt. Dieser Gedanke ist jedoch falsch, und die kleinsten des Hauses gehen auch durch diese Episoden. Oft ohne von den Eltern in den ersten Augenblicken geschätzt zu werden.

Wie bei jedem Problem begünstigt die Früherkennung von Symptomen eine effektive Behandlung. Was sind die Anzeichen, die Eltern alarmieren sollen? Welche Aspekte ändern sich im Alltag der Kleinsten und deuten darauf hin, dass etwas Schlimmes passiert? Diese Fragen werden von der in JAMA Psychiatrie veröffentlichten Studie beantwortet, die den Eltern die Anhaltspunkte gibt, um ein mögliches Problem zu erkennen Depression in ihren Kindern.


Angst und Reizbarkeit

Diese Untersuchung wurde durch eine durchgehende Längsschnittstudie zusammengestellt 4 Jahre (April 2007 bis März 2011). Die Probe wurde von einer Gruppe von Nachkommen von Eltern zusammengestellt, die Episoden von Depressionen durchgemacht hatten. Insgesamt hatten 337 Familien, bei denen 315 Mütter und 22 Eltern waren, mindestens zwei dieser Störungen.

Die Altersgruppe der an dieser Studie teilnehmenden Kinder lag zwischen 9 und 17 Jahre alt die bei ihren eltern leben Die Ergebnisse zeigten, dass 20 Kinder im Alter von 14 Jahren eine schwere Depression hatten, eine Adoleszenz und eine größere Transzision aufwiesen. Um diese Störung zu erkennen, mussten Kinder mindestens fünf Symptome haben, darunter eine anhaltende Stimmung, Reizbarkeit und den Verlust des Interesses an normalen Aktivitäten.


Unter den Symptomen, die am häufigsten mit den ersten Schritten der Depression zu tun hatten, fanden die Forscher heraus, dass dies der Fall ist ReizbarkeitAngst und Angst waren zu Beginn die häufigsten Anzeichen. Diese Ergebnisse können Ihnen helfen, mit der Behandlung dieser Erkrankung zu beginnen, bevor sie überhaupt beginnt.

Andere Symptome einer Depression

Aus dem Nationales Institut für psychische Gesundheit Die folgenden Anzeichen einer Depression bei Kindern werden hervorgehoben. Ein Kind mit dieser Erkrankung kann vorgeben, krank zu sein, sich weigern, zur Schule zu gehen, sich an einen Elternteil zu klammern oder die Sorge zu hegen, dass einer seiner Eltern sterben könnte. Ältere Menschen mögen schlechte Laune haben, an schulischen Problemen wie Kämpfen beteiligt sein, eine negative Haltung einnehmen und sich missverstanden fühlen.

Vor der Pubertät leiden Jungen und Mädchen gleichermaßen an Depressionsstörungen. Jedoch um 15 JahreFrauen sind doppelt so häufig wie Männer an einer schweren Depression erkrankt.23


Depressionen bei Jugendlichen kommen zu einer Zeit großer persönliche Änderungen, wenn Männer und Frauen eine andere Identität als ihre Eltern definieren, sich mit Genderfragen und ihrer aufkommenden Sexualität befassen und zum ersten Mal in ihrem Leben Entscheidungen treffen. Eine Depression in der Adoleszenz ist häufig gleichzeitig mit anderen Erkrankungen wie Angstzuständen, störendem Verhalten, Essstörungen oder dem Beginn des Alkoholkonsums vorhanden.

Damián Montero

Video: What's up? Ein Frühwarnsystem für Kinder mit Depression


Interessante Artikel

Hast du die Erlaubnis deine Kinder anzuschreien?

Hast du die Erlaubnis deine Kinder anzuschreien?

Viele Eltern haben beschlossen, ihre Kinder großzuziehen ohne schreien, ohne strafen und ohne peitschen. Sie haben sich dafür entschieden, die Kontrolle nicht zu verlieren und Konflikte möglichst...

10 Modelle der Freundschaft zwischen Kindern

10 Modelle der Freundschaft zwischen Kindern

Soziale Beziehungen und das Konzept der Freundschaft als solches entstehen erst nach einem bestimmten Alter. Kinder als soziale Wesen neigen, da sie sehr jung sind, zu anderen Kindern. Sie müssen in...