Memory loss after childbirth, what's really in it

There are many topics that a woman is interested in before giving birth. Feeding, ways of giving birth, discomfort in the pregnancy, etc. Of course, there are also other issues that are heard and that lead to long searches for information, for example the loss of memory that women go through after childbirth. What is real about it?

This question has been answered by the University of Deakin, in Australia, through a study published in the Medical Journal of Australia. An investigation that translates into a meta-analysis of 20 previous studies and that have tried to demonstrate that these memory losses in the pregnancy They are not a myth, but are based on an objective basis.


Changes in the brain

In this investigation the differences in the cognitive performance among 709 pregnant women and another 521 who had been mothers. The purpose was to check if there was a difference between the memory of a group. By pooling the data, it was determined that cognitive functioning, memory and executive capacity were poorer in pregnant women than in the rest. It differs that it became particularly evident during the third quarter.

The researchers linked these results with the reduction of gray matter during pregnancy appreciated in other jobs. This change in the brain of the mother would be the cause of this loss of memory during pregnancy. However, other research such as the one carried out by Brigham Young University indicates that this postpartum amnesia is due to a "confirmation bias".


"Although there are variations in the results, most of the studies suggest that there are hardly any memory losses associated with pregnancy," he says. Michael Larson, one of the authors of this investigation.

Synaptic pruning

This is not the first study that talks about the changes in the brain of the pregnant woman. A group of researchers of the Autonomous University of Barcelona and the Mar Institute of Medical Research has found that women experience more changes during pregnancy. Specifically, their brain structure is modified to adapt to motherhood and the challenges that this entails.

This process is defined as synaptic pruning. Although a priori it may seem that the reduction of gray matter is bad, it is a habitual process in the growth of people and that occurs in other stages such as adolescence. These changes respond to an evolution of the brain that eliminates those connections weaker and that can hinder some activities in adults.


Eliminating weak connections in the brain increases the capacity of concentration. "The results suggest that this brain plasticity inherent to pregnancy has an evolutionary purpose for the mother to effectively inflate the needs of her baby," explains Erika Barba-Müller, one of the responsible for this research.

Damián Montero

Video: Why Pregnancy Makes You Forgetful... but Helps Your Baby


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Gedächtnisverlust nach der Geburt, was ist wirklich drin?

Es gibt viele Themen, an denen sich eine Frau vor der Geburt interessiert. Fütterung, Geburtsmöglichkeiten, Unbehagen im Schwangerschaftusw. Natürlich gibt es auch andere Probleme, die zu hören sind und zu langem Suchen nach Informationen führen, beispielsweise zum Gedächtnisverlust, den Frauen nach der Geburt durchmachen. Was ist echt daran?

Diese Frage wurde von der University of Deakin in Australien durch eine im Medical Journal of Australia veröffentlichte Studie beantwortet. Eine Untersuchung, die sich in einer Meta-Analyse von 20 früheren Studien niederschlägt und versucht hat nachzuweisen, dass diese Gedächtnisverluste im Schwangerschaft Sie sind kein Mythos, sondern basieren auf einer objektiven Grundlage.


Veränderungen im Gehirn

Bei dieser Untersuchung wurden die Unterschiede im kognitive Leistung unter 709 schwangeren Frauen und weiteren 521 Müttern. Der Zweck bestand darin, zu überprüfen, ob es einen Unterschied zwischen dem Speicher einer Gruppe gab. Durch das Zusammenfassen der Daten wurde festgestellt, dass kognitive Funktionen, Gedächtnis und Leistungsfähigkeit bei schwangeren Frauen schlechter waren als bei den übrigen. Es ist unterschiedlich, dass es im dritten Quartal besonders deutlich wurde.

Die Forscher verknüpften diese Ergebnisse mit der Reduktion der grauen Substanz während der Schwangerschaft in anderen Berufen geschätzt. Diese Veränderung im Gehirn der Mutter würde die Ursache für den Gedächtnisverlust während der Schwangerschaft sein. Andere Untersuchungen, wie die von der Brigham-Young-Universität durchgeführten, weisen jedoch darauf hin, dass diese postpartale Amnesie auf einen "Bestätigungsfehler" zurückzuführen ist.


"Obwohl es unterschiedliche Ergebnisse gibt, deuten die meisten Studien darauf hin, dass mit der Schwangerschaft kaum Gedächtnisverluste verbunden sind", sagt er. Michael Larson, einer der Autoren dieser Untersuchung.

Synaptisches Beschneiden

Dies ist nicht die erste Studie, die über die Veränderungen im Gehirn der schwangeren Frau spricht. Eine Gruppe von Forscher der Autonomen Universität Barcelona und des Mar Institute of Medical Research haben festgestellt, dass Frauen während der Schwangerschaft mehr Veränderungen erfahren. Insbesondere ist ihre Gehirnstruktur modifiziert, um sich an die Mutterschaft und die damit verbundenen Herausforderungen anzupassen.

Dieser Prozess wird als definiert synaptisches Beschneiden. Obwohl von vornherein der Eindruck besteht, dass die Reduktion der grauen Substanz schlecht ist, ist es ein gewöhnlicher Prozess beim Wachstum von Menschen, der in anderen Stadien wie der Pubertät auftritt. Diese Veränderungen reagieren auf eine Entwicklung des Gehirns, die diese Verbindungen schwächer macht und einige Aktivitäten bei Erwachsenen behindern kann.


Die Beseitigung schwacher Verbindungen im Gehirn erhöht die Kapazität von Konzentration. "Die Ergebnisse deuten darauf hin, dass diese Plastizität des Gehirns, die der Schwangerschaft innewohnt, ein evolutionäres Ziel für die Mutter ist, die Bedürfnisse ihres Babys effektiv aufzupumpen", erklärt Erika Barba-Müller, die für diese Forschung verantwortlich ist.

Damián Montero

Video: Spazieren gehen [subtitled] | Knallerfrauen mit Martina Hill


Interessante Artikel

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Koffer, Taschen, Toilettenartikel und Sport, alle bereit, noch einen Sommer in Urlaub zu fahren, und viele werden es im Familienauto tun. Wir haben sehr darauf geachtet, nichts Notwendiges zu...