The education of emotions, fashion or need?

Many researchers agree that the Emotional education it becomes more and more necessary if we want to achieve competences such as wellbeing, leadership, teamwork, social and family balance, initiative, adaptation to change, etc. The benefits of educate children on emotional intelligence They are multiple, and the sooner we start to educate the emotions, the better.

"It is never a question of denying unpleasant or negative emotions, but, rather, managing them," says Nélida Pérez, a doctor in Psychopedagogy and director of the Emotions Workshop of the Ceu Montepríncipe School. He adds that "as expressed by Martin Seligman (2010), father of positive psychology, it is necessary to educate children to develop strengths and virtues, which will help them live a life of well-being and happiness".


There are many possibilities we have to educate emotions, and the first point is "to have them present, through games, stories, movies, experiences with our children, and always trying to express our satisfaction and gratitude, for example: "Today I feel happy for ..." And also learn from conflicts, of frustrations, of situations that generate unpleasant emotions, because of them, we also learn. Accepting, understanding and regulating is the true emotional education. Techniques such as breathing, to recover calm, cognitive restructuring, change a limiting thought by an enhancer, relaxation, visualization ... etc. they are strategies that help us in this task and that we already implemented in the Braini Emotions Method from 3 years of age. It is therefore a reality already in the classroom, a reality to which we all have to add if we want a world with greater well-being, "says Dr. Nélida Pérez.

Academic performance and emotional intelligence

If we do a little history, Plato already said that "the emotional disposition of the student determines his ability to learn." Emotions can lead to failure or success, it will depend on how we use them. Descartes, separated the human being in reason of emotion. And, current neurology, with Damasio, with his research and publications, informs us of the importance of the bidirectional relationship between reason and emotion, as well as between body and mind.


Emotions are present in our day to day, influencing our thinking, our words, our behaviors. Thus, it is obvious that they influence the academic performance of our students.


"If I feel in a safe, free, respected, loved space ... there is no doubt that we will favor the cognitive capacity, motivation, creativity, and attention of our students, do not you believe? Educating emotional intelligence is and should be a cornerstone in current education, in order to promote and serve to educate the child in an integral way, to be able to live in the current society and improve it Obviously, all learning responds to an intentionality, that is why, the intention of families and teachers, should be to promote the emotional intelligence of children, and for this we have to be an example, model and means for it, "says Dr. Nélida Pérez.

At what ages should emotional intelligence work?

From always, that is to say, from the gestation, trying to feel good, so that the fetus perceives it. And already, from birth we began to develop the emotional intelligence of our baby, its structures, connections, through the experiences and experiences that we provide, through the affective bond.

The Emotional development is the process by which the child creates his identity, his self-esteem, his confidence in himself and in the world around him. Through interactions and bonding with parents, the baby begins this development in its early years, until it reaches the stage in which it already has an emotional awareness of itself, perception of himself as an individual and begins to form his own identity. And together with the explosion of vocabulary, he is already able to distinguish some of the emotions, identify and express them.

Dr. Nélida Pérez comments that "as she grows up, in her infantile stage, we will be able to equip her with regulation strategies and help her understand her emotions." That is why we have been teaching emotional intelligence since the earliest age, although it is important to emphasize, It's never too late to start, as the experts say, this intelligence is learned. "

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Emotive fashion | Michelle Lesniak | TEDxOregonStateU


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Die Bildung von Emotionen, Mode oder Bedürfnissen?

Viele Forscher sind sich einig, dass die emotionale Erziehung es wird immer notwendiger, wenn wir Kompetenzen wie Wohlbefinden, Führung, Teamarbeit, soziale und familiäre Balance, Initiative, Anpassung an den Wandel usw. erreichen wollen. Die Vorteile von erziehen Sie Kinder in emotionaler Intelligenz Sie sind vielfältig und je früher wir die Emotionen erziehen, desto besser.

"Es geht nie darum, unangenehme oder negative Emotionen zu leugnen, sondern sie zu managen", sagt Nélida Pérez, Ärztin für Psychopädagogik und Leiterin des Emotions-Workshops der Ceu Montepríncipe-Schule. Er fügt hinzu: "Wie Martin Seligman (2010), Vater der positiven Psychologie, ausdrückt, ist es notwendig, Kinder zu erziehen, um Stärken und Tugenden zu entwickeln, die ihnen helfen, ein Leben des Wohlbefindens und des Glücks zu leben".


Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, Emotionen zu vermitteln, und der erste Punkt ist, "sie durch Spiele, Geschichten, Filme, Erfahrungen mit unseren Kindern präsent zu haben und immer versuchen, unsere Zufriedenheit und Dankbarkeit zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Zum Beispiel: "Heute fühle ich mich glücklich für ..." Und auch aus Konflikten lernenFrustrationen, Situationen, in denen unangenehme Emotionen entstehen, lernen wir auch. Akzeptieren, Verstehen und Regulieren ist die wahre emotionale Erziehung. Techniken wie das Atmen, die Wiederherstellung der Ruhe, die kognitive Umstrukturierung, die Einschränkung eines Enhancers, die Entspannung, die Visualisierung usw. Dies sind Strategien, die uns bei dieser Aufgabe helfen und die wir bereits ab dem Alter von 3 Jahren in der Braini Emotions-Methode implementiert haben. Es ist also bereits eine Realität im Klassenzimmer, eine Realität, die wir alle hinzufügen müssen, wenn wir eine Welt mit mehr Wohlbefinden wollen ", sagt Dr. Nélida Pérez.

Akademische Leistung und emotionale Intelligenz

Wenn wir ein wenig Geschichte machen, sagte Platon bereits, dass "die emotionale Disposition des Schülers seine Lernfähigkeit bestimmt". Emotionen können zu Misserfolg oder Erfolg führenEs wird davon abhängen, wie wir sie verwenden. Descartes hat den Menschen aus Emotionsgründen getrennt. Und die aktuelle Neurologie mit Damasio und seinen Forschungen und Veröffentlichungen informiert uns über die Bedeutung der bidirektionalen Beziehung zwischen Vernunft und Emotion sowie zwischen Körper und Geist.


In unserem täglichen Leben sind Emotionen vorhanden, die unser Denken, unsere Worte und unser Verhalten beeinflussen. Es ist daher offensichtlich, dass sie die akademische Leistung unserer Schüler beeinflussen.


"Wenn ich mich in einem sicheren, freien, geachteten, geliebten Raum fühle ... Es besteht kein Zweifel daran, dass wir die kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit, Motivation, Kreativität und Aufmerksamkeit unserer Schüler fördern werden, glauben Sie nicht? Aktuelle Bildung, um das Kind auf ganzheitliche Weise zu fördern und zu erziehen, um in der gegenwärtigen Gesellschaft leben zu können und es zu verbessern. Offensichtlich reagiert jedes Lernen auf eine Absicht, deshalb die Absicht von Familien und Familienmitgliedern Lehrer sollten die emotionale Intelligenz von Kindern fördern, und dafür müssen wir Vorbild, Modell und Mittel dafür sein ", sagt Dr. Nélida Pérez.

In welchem ​​Alter sollte emotionale Intelligenz funktionieren?

Von immer, das heißt, von der Schwangerschaft aus versuchen, sich gut zu fühlen, damit der Fötus es wahrnimmt. Und schon von Geburt an haben wir begonnen, die emotionale Intelligenz unseres Babys, seine Strukturen, Verbindungen, durch die Erfahrungen und Erfahrungen, die wir anbieten, durch die affektive Bindung zu entwickeln.

Die emotionale Entwicklung ist der Prozess, durch den Das Kind schafft seine Identität, sein Selbstwertgefühl, sein Vertrauen in sich selbst und in seine Umwelt. Durch Interaktionen und Bindungen mit den Eltern beginnt das Baby diese Entwicklung in seinen frühen Jahren, bis es das Stadium erreicht, in dem es bereits ein emotionales Bewusstsein von sich selbst hat, sich als Individuum wahrnimmt und seine eigene Identität zu bilden beginnt. Zusammen mit der Explosion des Vokabulars kann er bereits einige Emotionen unterscheiden, sie erkennen und ausdrücken.

Dr. Nélida Pérez kommentiert: "Wenn sie erwachsen wird, können wir sie in ihrer infantilen Phase mit Regulierungsstrategien ausstatten und ihr helfen, ihre Gefühle zu verstehen." Deshalb unterrichten wir seit dem frühesten Alter emotionale Intelligenz, obwohl es wichtig ist, hervorzuheben, Es ist nie zu spät, um zu beginnen, wie die Experten sagen, diese Intelligenz wird gelernt. "

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Kann man mal machen.


Interessante Artikel

Ideen, um den Vatertag mit der Familie zu verbringen

Ideen, um den Vatertag mit der Familie zu verbringen

Der 19. März steht vor der Tür, ein ganz besonderer Tag für Familien, da es sich um den Tag handelt, der dem Eltern Sie arbeiten so hart, um ihre Kinder zu erziehen. Ein Punkt im Kalender, der es...

12 Tricks, um mit Kindern zu essen

12 Tricks, um mit Kindern zu essen

Mit Kindern essen gehen Ein kleines Restaurant macht Kopfschmerzen für Eltern, besonders für Erstkinder und sehr kleine Kinder. Wir fragen uns immer, wie die Kinder reagieren werden, was sie essen...