How to respond to the good behavior of the little ones

The response of parents to the behavior of their children has important consequences in their education. A bad attitude usually carries with it a punishment, a rebuke to this alteration of normality. But what should be done when children succeed in their goals? And when they show a exemplary conduct?

Positive reinforcements must also be present in the education of the youngest children and for this the Department of Health and Human Resources of the United States offers a series of tips with which to reward in the right measure. Measures to respond to good behavior but without forgetting the youngest ones that this is an obligation that they must assume and a means through which to obtain prizes.


Positive attention

One of the best ways to make children understand what behavior is exemplary is the attitude to show their parents. In these cases we must separate between negative and positive attention. The first involves not responding to stimuli such as tantrums or attitudes that seek to turn everyone's eyes towards them.

In the case of positive attention, it responds to a good attitude. For example, if the children have obtained good grades, they can take advantage of the dinner time to highlight this fact and show the children that these behaviors are what they are looking for in them. In this way the chances of the children looking to repeat this performance increase.


Although you have to be careful with the level of positive attention. It is not necessary to exceed in the praises since of this form the children will not behave well for another reason that is not the reception of these rewards. Little by little children must understand that good behaviors are useful for more than just getting a prize, for example, studying for a test will have a long-term impact on a good academic future.

Positive attention should serve as motivation in moments of greater apathy. An example is a teenage son who must cancel a plan with his friends to stay in charge of his younger siblings. Parents should value this behavior in a positive way to make it clear that this decision to set aside fun for the obligation has not been ignored.

Types of compliments

On most occasions, positive attention will result in compliments. Now, what kinds of compliments are there? On the one hand are the specific and on the other those that are more vague. The first of them focus on specific attitudes and are often used in situations in which the child has invested a great effort, returning to the example of the school notes, if there is a subject that is presented as very difficult for the student and after much impetus , this one gets great grades, parents can highlight this fact specific.


Those who do not fall into the category of specific are those who praise behaviors more common, such as highlighting the child's help when picking up the table. They can also be gestural and not include words, such as a hug or a "high five". Here the objective is not to applaud a concrete behavior, but to show the children the affection that is had for them.

Damián Montero

Video: Challenging Behavior in Young Children


Interesting Articles

Less screen and more walking to improve memory

Less screen and more walking to improve memory

Summer is here and the heat seems to hit people to the sofa. The high temperatures outside and the coolness that is at home make the desire of many children to stay at home with their phones, playing...

Tips to buy intelligently on Black Friday

Tips to buy intelligently on Black Friday

The Black Friday, the day in which purchases become the protagonists. Prices are lowered and several products are put at your fingertips. Good news for the family economy as you can even advance more...

Wie man auf das gute Benehmen der Kleinen reagiert

Die Reaktion der Eltern auf das Verhalten ihrer Kinder hat wichtige Konsequenzen für ihre Ausbildung. Eine schlechte Einstellung bringt gewöhnlich eine Bestrafung mit sich, eine Ablehnung dieser Änderung der Normalität. Aber was ist zu tun, wenn Kinder ihre Ziele erreichen? Und wenn sie eine zeigen vorbildliches Verhalten?

Positive Verstärkungen müssen auch in der Ausbildung der jüngsten Kinder vorhanden sein. Dazu bietet das US-amerikanische Ministerium für Gesundheit und Humanressourcen eine Reihe von Tipps, mit denen Sie die richtige Maßnahme belohnen können. Maßnahmen, auf die zu reagieren ist gutes Benehmen Aber ohne die jüngsten zu vergessen, dass dies eine Verpflichtung ist, die sie annehmen müssen, und ein Mittel, um Preise zu erhalten.


Positive Aufmerksamkeit

Eine der besten Möglichkeiten, um Kindern verständlich zu machen, was Verhalten beispielhaft ist, ist die Haltung um ihre Eltern zu zeigen. In diesen Fällen müssen wir zwischen negativer und positiver Aufmerksamkeit unterscheiden. Die erste besteht darin, nicht auf Reize wie Wutanfälle oder Einstellungen zu reagieren, die darauf abzielen, alle Augen auf sich zu richten.

Im Fall von positive aufmerksamkeitreagiert es auf eine gute Einstellung. Wenn die Kinder beispielsweise gute Noten erhalten haben, können sie die Abendessenzeit nutzen, um diese Tatsache hervorzuheben und den Kindern zu zeigen, dass diese Verhaltensweisen in ihnen das sind, wonach sie suchen. Auf diese Weise erhöhen sich die Chancen der Kinder, diese Leistung zu wiederholen.


Obwohl Sie mit der positiven Aufmerksamkeit vorsichtig sein müssen. Es ist nicht notwendig, das Lob zu übertreffen, da sich die Kinder aus dieser Form nicht aus einem anderen Grund benehmen werden, der nicht deren Empfang ist Belohnungen. Nach und nach müssen Kinder verstehen, dass gutes Verhalten mehr als nur die Gewinnung eines Preises von Nutzen ist. Wenn Sie beispielsweise einen Test absolvieren, wirkt sich dies langfristig auf eine gute Zukunft aus.

Positive Aufmerksamkeit sollte als Motivation in Momenten von dienen größere Apathie. Ein Beispiel ist ein Teenager-Sohn, der einen Plan mit seinen Freunden stornieren muss, um die Verantwortung für seine jüngeren Geschwister zu behalten. Eltern sollten dieses Verhalten positiv bewerten, um deutlich zu machen, dass diese Entscheidung, Spaß an der Verpflichtung zu haben, nicht ignoriert wurde.

Arten von Komplimenten

In den meisten Fällen führt positive Aufmerksamkeit zu Komplimenten. Welche Komplimente gibt es? Zum einen das Spezifische und zum anderen das Unbestimmte. Die erste von ihnen konzentriert sich auf bestimmte Einstellungen und wird häufig in Situationen verwendet, in denen das Kind große Anstrengungen unternommen hat, um auf das Beispiel der Schulnotizen zurückzukommen, wenn es ein Thema gibt, das für den Schüler als sehr schwierig und nach viel Impulse dargestellt wird , dieses bekommt tolle Noten, Eltern können diese Tatsache hervorheben speziell.


Diejenigen, die nicht in die Kategorie der Spezifischen fallen, sind diejenigen, die loben Verhalten häufiger, z. B. das Hervorheben der Hilfe des Kindes beim Aufnehmen des Tisches. Sie können auch gestisch sein und keine Wörter enthalten, wie beispielsweise eine Umarmung oder eine "hohe fünf". Hier geht es nicht darum, ein konkretes Verhalten zu begrüßen, sondern den Kindern die Zuneigung zu zeigen, die sie für sie haben.

Damián Montero

Video: 7 Tipps von erfahrenen Eltern, um mit einem ungezogenen Kind umzugehen


Interessante Artikel

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Koffer, Taschen, Toilettenartikel und Sport, alle bereit, noch einen Sommer in Urlaub zu fahren, und viele werden es im Familienauto tun. Wir haben sehr darauf geachtet, nichts Notwendiges zu...