Time out: how to invite children to reflect when they misbehave

Misplaced behaviors are inevitable. No one is perfect, let alone children. The desire to enjoy, the lack of emotional control and the lack of maturity can sometimes cause the little ones to have unacceptable behaviors. The mission of the parents is to re-educate to get these attitudes to change for the better.

But it is not just about imposing a criterion, we also have to make children reflect on this behavior and understand why they should not repeat it. A mechanism proposed by the pediatricians of the Department of Health and Human Services of the United States is the "time out"A formula with which to create an isolated space where children can think about the attitude that is being reprimanded.


How to create 'time out'

When parents notice a behavior that requires reprimand, it will be necessary to proceed with the "time out". These moments should be isolated from all possible distraction and entertainment that causes the mind of the child to disperse and reflection is not invited. Here are some tips to create this environment:

- Choose a place for "time out", away from toys, people, television and anything else that can claim the attention of children. For this reason, the child's room is not a good place for this environment because it usually contains elements that distract him.

- A good option is the end of a corridor. If you choose to use a separate room, you have to make sure it is safe, that's why the kitchen is not recommended as it has several toxic elements.


- Do not leave children without supervision for long periods. In spaces of 10-20 minutes, parents should return and check if the children have reflected and discussed their behavior.

- Make children see that the aggressive response to this "time out" is not a good choice. Hitting walls, screaming, and any other attempt to require attention, will mean more time in this situation reflecting.

Debate and reflection

Sending children to spend "time out" does not eradicate bad behavior magically. The goal is to make children reflect, so when parents return they should talk with their children about what they have reasoned. Ask If you know why they are there and what they did to be apart from the fun. The goal is to check if the child is able to identify in a concrete way the bad behavior.

Another objective of this debate is that children do not relate "time out" as a time when they are diverted from fun as punishment and then return. Without reflection, you can not put an end to this isolation since it is the objective of it, to get the children to reason about what they should improve in their way of being.


Damián Montero

Video: LoveParenting: Forget Time Out, Try Time In - here's how.


Interesting Articles

Less screen and more walking to improve memory

Less screen and more walking to improve memory

Summer is here and the heat seems to hit people to the sofa. The high temperatures outside and the coolness that is at home make the desire of many children to stay at home with their phones, playing...

Tips to buy intelligently on Black Friday

Tips to buy intelligently on Black Friday

The Black Friday, the day in which purchases become the protagonists. Prices are lowered and several products are put at your fingertips. Good news for the family economy as you can even advance more...

Zeitüberschreitung: Wie können Kinder zum Nachdenken aufgefordert werden, wenn sie sich nicht benehmen

Fehlverhalten ist unvermeidlich. Niemand ist perfekt, geschweige denn Kinder. Der Wunsch zu genießen, der Mangel an emotionaler Kontrolle und der Mangel an Reife können manchmal dazu führen, dass die Kleinen inakzeptable Verhaltensweisen haben. Die Mission der Eltern ist es umbildung diese Einstellungen zum Besseren ändern.

Aber es geht nicht nur darum, ein Kriterium festzulegen, wir müssen auch Kinder dazu bringen, über dieses Verhalten nachzudenken und zu verstehen, warum sie es nicht wiederholen sollten. Ein von den Kinderärzten der Abteilung für Gesundheit und Human Services der Vereinigten Staaten vorgeschlagener Mechanismus ist der "Zeitüberschreitung"Eine Formel, um einen isolierten Raum zu schaffen, in dem Kinder über die Haltung nachdenken können, die gerügt wird.


So erstellen Sie "Zeitüberschreitung"

Wenn Eltern ein Verhalten bemerken, das einen Verweis erfordert, muss das "Timeout" fortgesetzt werden. Diese Momente sollten von allem möglichen isoliert werden Ablenkung und Unterhaltung, die den Verstand des Kindes zerstreuen lässt, und Reflexion ist nicht eingeladen. Hier sind einige Tipps zum Erstellen dieser Umgebung:

- Wählen Sie einen Ort für eine "Auszeit", weg von Spielzeug, Menschen, Fernsehen und allem anderen, das die Aufmerksamkeit von Kindern beansprucht. Aus diesem Grund ist das Kinderzimmer für diese Umgebung kein guter Ort, da es normalerweise Elemente enthält, die ihn ablenken.

- Eine gute Option ist das Ende eines Korridors. Wenn Sie sich für einen separaten Raum entscheiden, müssen Sie sicherstellen, dass dieser sicher ist. Aus diesem Grund wird die Küche nicht empfohlen, da sie mehrere giftige Elemente enthält.


- Lassen Sie Kinder nicht für längere Zeit unbeaufsichtigt. In 10-20 Minuten sollten die Eltern wiederkommen und prüfen, ob die Kinder ihr Verhalten reflektiert und diskutiert haben.

- Lassen Sie Kinder erkennen, dass die aggressive Reaktion auf diese "Auszeit" keine gute Wahl ist. Wände zu schlagen, zu schreien und jeder andere Versuch, Aufmerksamkeit zu fordern, bedeutet mehr Zeit in dieser Situation zu reflektieren.

Debatte und Reflexion

Das Senden von Kindern für eine "Auszeit" beseitigt schlechtes Verhalten nicht auf magische Weise. Das Ziel ist, Kinder zum Nachdenken zu bringen. Wenn Eltern wiederkommen, sollten sie mit ihren Kindern darüber sprechen, was sie darüber nachdenken. Fragen Sie Wenn Sie wissen, warum sie da sind und was sie getan haben, um sich vom Spaß zu trennen. Ziel ist es zu prüfen, ob das Kind das schlechte Verhalten konkret erkennen kann.

Ein weiteres Ziel dieser Debatte ist, dass Kinder "Zeitüberschreitung" nicht als eine Zeit ansehen, in der sie vom Spaß als Bestrafung abgelenkt werden und dann zurückkehren. Ohne Nachdenken können Sie dem kein Ende setzen Isolierung denn es ist das Ziel davon, die Kinder dazu zu bringen, darüber nachzudenken, was sie in ihrer Art verbessern sollten.


Damián Montero

Video: Wieso bekommst du Fieber? - Löwenzahn - ZDFtivi


Interessante Artikel

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Üben Sport hat viele gesundheitliche Vorteile und viele Eltern, die sich dieser Vorteile bewusst sind, weisen auf alle Sportarten aller Art hin, dank der Tatsache, dass es heute in jeder Schule oder...