These are the differences between bilingual and international baccalaureate

The international baccalaureate has completed half a century in Spanish schools, but few know the characteristics of this type of baccalaureate. Beyond the linguistic factor, there are many differences between studying the baccalaureate in another language and studying the international baccalaureate.

One the main advantages of international Baccalaureate is that their students can access university education without performing the Selectivity both in Spain and in the international universities affiliated with this program. This is one of the advantages, but it is not the only one.

Differences between the international baccalaureate and the bilingual baccalaureate

The bilingual education It is one of the aspects most valued and most demanded by Spanish parents in educational centers. However, bilingual education during the baccalaureate stage only means that your students receive between 30 and 50% of the subjects in a foreign language. In this way, high school students of bilingual centers complete exactly the same subjects as in a non-bilingual center, with the exception that some classes are taught in English.


However, the international baccalaureate due to its nature pays special attention to language skills. In fact, students can complete this type of baccalaureate in a bilingual way and they are also required to take classes in another foreign language. For example, a teaching load of between 50 and 100% of the program in English is offered with subjects taught by native teachers.

Another difference between the international baccalaureate and a bilingual baccalaureate is located in the Curriculum. The students of the binternational achillerato must take the subject Theory of Knowledge and dedicate a certain series of hours to activities related to creativity, sports or solidarity service. Further, at the end of the studies, they should make a monograph of 4,000 words on a theme chosen by the student himself. The completion of these activities or subjects are essential for obtaining the International Baccalaureate Diploma.


5 characteristics of the international baccalaureate

1. International vision. As its name suggests, this type of baccalaureate allows students to finish their pre-university studies with an international projection. In this way, academic and work mobility are guaranteed, opening the doors of universities inside and outside Europe to their graduates.

2. Direct access to university education. The successful completion of the International Baccalaureate allows its students access to different universities around the world without performing the Selectivity in both Spanish and international universities affiliated with the program.

3. External evaluations. The International Baccalaureate conducts its own final tests in which the students are examined according to the competences imparted during the studies. To guarantee the maximum rigor and objectivity of the results, the tests are corrected by professors from different countries who are experts in the subject.


4. Independence of national education systems. The educational curriculum of the International Baccalaureate is not regulated according to the system established by local governments. In this way, the independence of the educational plan is maintained and allows choosing the best practices carried out in the international educational context.

5. Training in values. The objective of this program is not only to train students capable of facing their future university education, but it also includes training in values ​​through the obligatory performance of solidarity activities.

The International Baccalaureate was founded at the end of the 60s in Switzerland. This 2018 celebrates its 50th birthday, boasting of being one of the most important programs worldwide.

Account worldwide with more than 4,000 schools, public and private, teaching its program, with a total of 70,000 teachers and more than one million students around the world. In Spain there are 108 schools, public and private, which offer their students the possibility of accessing the international baccalaureate.

Aaron Añover
Advice:Michael Harvey, director of the International Baccalaureate at Brains International Schools.

Video: Shenyang International School AP vs IB Education


Interesting Articles

How to get children to eat vegetables

How to get children to eat vegetables

One of the oldest battles between parents and children is one in which the former want the latter to eat vegetables. A necessary confrontation since these foods have to be very present in the diet of...

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Knowing, understanding, valuing and appreciating the different manifestations of art is an invaluable source of enjoyment and personal enrichment. For this, parents can accustom their children from...

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Years ago I wrote a book about marriage that I dedicated To my wife, that charming and eternal mystery. We had just celebrated the silver jubilee and thought I could string together some ideas that...

Dies sind die Unterschiede zwischen zweisprachigem und internationalem Abitur

Das internationale Bakkalaureat hat ein halbes Jahrhundert an spanischen Schulen absolviert, aber nur wenige kennen die Eigenschaften dieses Bakkalaureats. Über den sprachlichen Faktor hinaus gibt es viele Unterschiede zwischen dem Studium des Bakkalaureats in einer anderen Sprache und dem Studium des internationalen Bakkalaureats.

Einer der Hauptvorteile von internationales Bakkalaureat ist, dass ihre Studenten Zugang zur universitären Ausbildung haben ohne die Selektivität auszuführen sowohl in Spanien als auch an den mit diesem Programm verbundenen internationalen Universitäten. Dies ist einer der Vorteile, aber es ist nicht der einzige.

Unterschiede zwischen dem internationalen und dem zweisprachigen Bakkalaureat

Die zweisprachige Ausbildung Dies ist einer der Aspekte, die von spanischen Eltern in Bildungszentren am meisten geschätzt und verlangt werden. Zweisprachiger Unterricht in der Abiturphase bedeutet jedoch nur, dass Ihre Schüler dazwischen kommen 30 und 50% der Fächer in einer Fremdsprache. Auf diese Weise absolvieren Schülerinnen und Schüler von zweisprachigen Zentren dieselben Fächer wie in einem nicht zweisprachigen Zentrum, mit der Ausnahme, dass einige Klassen auf Englisch unterrichtet werden.


Das internationale Abitur legt jedoch aufgrund seiner Natur besonderes Augenmerk auf die Sprachkenntnisse. Tatsächlich können Schüler diese Art von Abitur zweisprachig absolvieren und müssen auch in einer anderen Fremdsprache unterrichtet werden. Beispielsweise wird eine Lehrlast von 50 bis 100% des Programms in englischer Sprache angeboten, wobei Fächer von Muttersprachlern unterrichtet werden.

Ein weiterer Unterschied zwischen dem internationalen Abitur und einem zweisprachigen Abitur liegt in der Lehrplan. Die Schüler des binternationales achillerato muss das thema Wissenstheorie annehmen und widmen Sie eine Reihe von Stunden den Aktivitäten, die mit Kreativität, Sport oder Solidarität verbunden sind. Auch Am Ende der Studien sollten sie eine Monographie von 4.000 Wörtern erstellen zu einem Thema, das der Student selbst gewählt hat. Der Abschluss dieser Aktivitäten oder Themen ist unerlässlich für die Erlangung des International Baccalaureate Diploma.


5 Merkmale des internationalen Abiturs

1. Internationale Vision Wie der Name vermuten lässt, ermöglicht diese Art des Abiturs die Möglichkeit, das vor-universitäre Studium mit einer internationalen Projektion abzuschließen. Auf diese Weise wird akademische und berufliche Mobilität gewährleistet und den Absolventen die Türen der Universitäten innerhalb und außerhalb Europas geöffnet.

2. Direkter Zugang zur universitären Ausbildung. Der erfolgreiche Abschluss des International Baccalaureate ermöglicht seinen Studenten den Zugang zu verschiedenen Universitäten auf der ganzen Welt, ohne die Selektivität an spanischen und internationalen Universitäten, die mit dem Programm verbunden sind, durchzuführen.

3. Externe Bewertungen. Das International Baccalaureate führt eigene Abschlussprüfungen durch, bei denen die Studierenden nach den während des Studiums vermittelten Kompetenzen geprüft werden. Um maximale Genauigkeit und Objektivität der Ergebnisse zu gewährleisten, werden die Tests von Professoren aus verschiedenen Ländern korrigiert, die Experten auf dem Gebiet sind.


4. Unabhängigkeit der nationalen Bildungssysteme. Das Ausbildungscurriculum des International Baccalaureate ist nicht nach dem von den lokalen Regierungen festgelegten System geregelt. Auf diese Weise wird die Unabhängigkeit des Bildungsplans aufrechterhalten und die Wahl der im internationalen Bildungskontext durchgeführten Best Practices ermöglicht.

5. Training in Werten. Das Ziel dieses Programms ist nicht nur die Ausbildung von Studenten, die in der Lage sind, sich für die zukünftige Hochschulausbildung zu qualifizieren, sondern umfasst auch die Schulung von Werten durch die obligatorische Durchführung von Solidaritätsaktivitäten.

Das International Baccalaureate wurde Ende der 60er Jahre in der Schweiz gegründet. Diese 2018 feiert ihren 50. Geburtstag und ist eines der wichtigsten Programme weltweit.

Mit über 4.000 öffentlichen und privaten Schulen, die das Programm unterrichten, unterrichten insgesamt 70.000 Lehrer und mehr als eine Million Schüler auf der ganzen Welt. In Spanien gibt es 108 öffentliche und private Schulen, die ihren Schülern die Möglichkeit bieten, das internationale Abitur zu besuchen.

Aaron Añover
Hinweis:Michael Harvey, Direktor des International Baccalaureate der Brains International Schools.

Video: Ulrike Kegler: Was Lehrer für Schüler tun können


Interessante Artikel

Mundgeruch Ratschläge gegen Mundgeruch

Mundgeruch Ratschläge gegen Mundgeruch

Die Mundgeruch es ist nur der unangenehme Geruch, der aus Ihrem Mund kommt, das heißt, Mundgeruch. Dies kann sowohl für diejenigen, die darunter leiden, als auch für diejenigen, die an ihrer Seite...

Fahrradtouren: Sicherheitsschlüssel

Fahrradtouren: Sicherheitsschlüssel

In einem gesunden Lebensstil und beim Gehen ist das Trainieren wichtig Fahrrad Sie sind eine gute Option, wenn sie als Familie gemacht werden. Das Fahrrad hört jedoch nicht auf, ein Fahrzeug zu sein,...

Sitze für Badewannen: Die Gefahr des Vertrauens

Sitze für Badewannen: Die Gefahr des Vertrauens

Obwohl sie a priori eine große Hilfe beim Waschen von Babys sind, Sitze für Badewannen Sie beinhalten mehr Risiken, als sie erscheinen. Es ist wahr, dass sie dem Kind helfen, sich während dieser...