Why children should not cross the street alone, a scientific explanation

The safety of the smallest of the house is one of the things that most goes around the head of the parents. Secure your integrity both inside and outside the home is something essential and one of the clearest examples is when the child is ready to cross the street alone. When is the child prepared to perform this activity? Should he be given freedom?

The answer is no, at least until the 14 years. At least that's what a study of the University of Iowa where it warns of the possible consequences for children to cross the street alone and the dangers they face if they do it alone. At these ages the youngest of the house have not yet developed the necessary skills to perform this act safely.


Prevention of danger

This research collected data from a group of children from 6 to 14 years and analyzed the process they performed before crossing the street. To do this, they placed cameras on their heads to follow up during a simulation of this activity. The intention was to check which calculations were made in order to know the distance to which the vehicles were and the time they had to reach the other side.

The results showed that by age 6, children had a 8% risk of suffering accidents, a percentage that although it may seem small, warns of the mortal danger that this activity can have for them. As they grew older, the children developed more skills, for example, to detect places where the time span between one vehicle and another was greater.


Towards the 12 years the children were already able to identify areas with less traffic and at 14 they had already achieved the necessary skills to determine when to cross the street without any problem like an adult. "Some people think that younger children can act like adults when they cross the street," explains Jodie Plumert, a professor in the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences at the University of Iowa.

Although in areas where traffic is not very intense can give the feeling that the child is able to cross the street without help, in those with more influx of cars the danger increases as the child has not developed the ability to perform these calculations effectively.


Precautions for parents

This study shows how the act of crossing the street should involve the adoption of precautionary measures by parents. The first one must be the accompany to their children, especially when they are younger, when changing curbs. Adults should be the ones who mark the moment to move towards the other side and always watch the little ones.

You should also teach yourself the importance of crossing through the steps of pedestrians and always respecting when the traffic lights prefer them. In the event that the street crossing should do so during a school trip, parents should make it clear to their children that they must always respect the teacher or the authority that is guiding them, as well as never get distracted from their instructions.

At the same time it is important to teach them to play in limited areas for these leisure activities. In the case that for example your ball has left towards the road in the opposite direction, it is necessary to warn them that they should not go in their search. It is always best to ask a nearby adult for help recover it.

Damián Montero

Video: Why Did The Chicken Cross The Road?


Interesting Articles

Where sugar is hidden in food

Where sugar is hidden in food

Sugar, because of its ability to turn into fat, when it is ingested and not used as energy, has become the new workhorse of healthy eating. The World Health Organization is emphatic in its latest...

The fruits of autumn to learn them with children

The fruits of autumn to learn them with children

The autumn arrival it brings with it many changes that we can see at a glance: the rains arrive, the days become colder and, above all, the trees begin to lose their beautiful leaves, which become a...

The gifted are more likely to suffer bullying

The gifted are more likely to suffer bullying

What determines that a child was more or less likely to be a victim of bullying or bullying? According to denounce the Spanish Confederation of High Intellectual Capabilities (Confines), be gifted it...

Warum Kinder nicht alleine die Straße überqueren sollten, eine wissenschaftliche Erklärung

Die Sicherheit des kleinsten Hauses ist eines der Dinge, die am meisten um den Kopf der Eltern gehen. Sichern Sie sich Ihre Integrität Sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb des Hauses ist etwas von wesentlicher Bedeutung und eines der klarsten Beispiele ist, wenn das Kind bereit ist, die Straße alleine zu überqueren. Wann ist das Kind bereit, diese Aktivität auszuführen? Soll er die Freiheit bekommen?

Die Antwort lautet nein bis mindestens 14 Jahre. Zumindest ist das eine Studie der Universität von Iowa Dort warnt es vor möglichen Konsequenzen für Kinder, die Straße alleine zu überqueren, und den Gefahren, denen sie ausgesetzt sind, wenn sie es alleine tun. In diesem Alter haben die Jüngsten des Hauses noch nicht die notwendigen Fähigkeiten entwickelt, um diesen Vorgang sicher auszuführen.


Vermeidung von Gefahren

Diese Forschung sammelte Daten von einer Gruppe von Kindern aus 6 bis 14 Jahre und analysierte den Prozess, den sie vor dem Überqueren der Straße durchführten. Dazu steckten sie Kameras auf den Kopf, um sie bei einer Simulation dieser Aktivität zu verfolgen. Es sollte geprüft werden, welche Berechnungen durchgeführt wurden, um die Entfernung der Fahrzeuge und die Zeit zu ermitteln, zu der sie die andere Seite erreichen mussten.

Die Ergebnisse zeigten, dass Kinder im Alter von 6 Jahren eine 8% Risiko Unfälle, ein Prozentsatz, der zwar klein erscheint, warnt jedoch vor der tödlichen Gefahr, die diese Tätigkeit für sie haben kann. Mit zunehmendem Alter entwickelten die Kinder mehr Fähigkeiten, um beispielsweise Orte zu entdecken, an denen die Zeitspanne zwischen den Fahrzeugen größer war.


In Richtung der 12 Jahre Die Kinder waren bereits in der Lage, Gebiete mit weniger Verkehr zu identifizieren, und mit 14 hatten sie bereits die erforderlichen Fähigkeiten erworben, um festzustellen, wann sie die Straße ohne Probleme wie ein Erwachsener überqueren können. "Einige Leute glauben, dass jüngere Kinder sich wie Erwachsene benehmen können, wenn sie die Straße überqueren", erklärt Jodie Plumert, Professorin am Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences der University of Iowa.

Obwohl in Gegenden, in denen der Verkehr nicht sehr intensiv ist, das Gefühl vermittelt werden kann, dass das Kind die Straße ohne Hilfe überqueren kann, steigt die Gefahr in Personen mit stärkerem Zustrom von Autos, da das Kind keine Leistungsfähigkeit entwickelt hat diese Berechnungen effektiv.


Vorsichtsmaßnahmen für die Eltern

Diese Studie zeigt, wie das Überqueren der Straße die Verabschiedung vorbeugender Maßnahmen durch die Eltern beinhalten sollte. Der erste muss der sein begleiten zu ihren Kindern, besonders wenn sie jünger sind, wenn sie Bordsteine ​​wechseln. Erwachsene sollten diejenigen sein, die den Moment markieren, um sich auf die andere Seite zu bewegen, und immer die Kleinen beobachten.

Sie sollten sich auch beibringen, wie wichtig es ist, die Schritte von zu durchqueren Fußgänger und immer respektieren, wann die Ampel sie bevorzugt. Für den Fall, dass der Straßenübergang während einer Schulreise dies tun sollte, sollten die Eltern ihren Kindern klar machen, dass sie immer den Lehrer oder die Autorität respektieren müssen, die sie leitet, und sich niemals von ihren Anweisungen ablenken lassen.

Gleichzeitig ist es wichtig, ihnen beizubringen, in begrenzten Bereichen für diese Freizeitaktivitäten zu spielen. Für den Fall, dass Ihr Ball in die entgegengesetzte Richtung zur Straße gegangen ist, müssen Sie ihn darauf hinweisen, dass er nicht auf die Suche gehen sollte. Es ist immer am besten, einen nahe gelegenen Erwachsenen um Hilfe zu bitten finde es wieder.

Damián Montero

Video: Die Reise der Menschheit (1/3 ) | Ganze Folge Terra X


Interessante Artikel

Dialyse bei Kindern, was sind diese Behandlungen?

Dialyse bei Kindern, was sind diese Behandlungen?

Kein Vater mag es, seinen Sohn im Krankenhaus zu sehen, aber manchmal gibt es keine andere Möglichkeit, als sie in diese Zentren zu bringen, um ihre Gesundheit zu erhalten. Die Härte einiger...