Adolescence: an incomprehensible evolutionary stage

WHO defines adolescence as the period of human growth and development that occurs after childhood and before adulthood between 10 and 19 years. It is a conflict stage, especially for their parents, which is very noticeable in family relationships, because the more they need adults the more they are separated from them in a progressive way.

The adolescence It is characterized by a stage of accelerated growth and development added to various biological changes. The segregation of sex hormones in this period generates various physical and behavioral changes at this stage. The adolescent is more focused on the outside world and on the peers, since they spend more time with their peers. The adolescent, having had a greater dependence on the adult during childhood, passes to greater independence in adolescence, but still need the adult.


In fact, the more he needs the adult, the more need he has to conflict with him. It is the formula to be able to acquire the security and identity that it needs, through the adult, to be able to separate progressively. The greater the dependency on the part of the adolescent, the greater risk of separation, which they sometimes manifest through conflict and confrontation with authority figures.

The emotional storm of adolescence

In this stage there is a greater influence of the educational context and socialization. It is a stage of settlement of the socio-emotional balance, which sometimes leads to suffering an emotional storm. Conflicts often arise, and they are positive, since they help them to mature while they do not last in time, but they still require supervision, with greater distance, and reinforcement of the adult. The power of achievement appears, the promotion of expectations, objectives, goals * that will influence the consolidation of your self-esteem.


Half of adolescents sleep less than they should, either because they take advantage of the night to connect to technology, because it is their moment of solitude without they feel controlled by an adult and they go to bed late, and because it is a stage of growth where the body requires more hours of rest.

This lack of sleep leads to develop morning drowsiness, symptoms of irritability, stress and depression, can even affect the growth of the child, since at night is when growth hormone is secreted the most. To this end, parents must also encourage from childhood the acquisition of proper sleep hygiene.

Maturity in adolescence

In adolescence the brain has not yet fully matured, with the prefrontal cortex being the brain structure in development. This area is directly linked to impulsivity, where there is a greater tendency to risk exposure in adolescence.


Something similar happens with the processing of emotions, where there are cognitive functions in the process of maturation, such as attention, capacity for planning, short-term memory, the ability to concentrate ... This justifies many of the attitudes proper to adolescence such as lack of order, mood swings, lack of motivation, as well as impulsiveness.

In this stage, they need: to belong to a group, to choose their friends with freedom, to develop their self-esteem, to encourage their critical thinking, and for this to be respected by the adult, and in particular for their primary referents, as well as to make mistakes, to experience new experiences, discover the world around him ...

Mercedes Bermejo Director of Psychologists Pozuelo

Video: The Teenage Brain Explained


Interesting Articles

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Say no It can be complicated for many people. If you often answer yes to demands of friendships or work, even if you really know you do not want to do it, if you have a hard time saying no and you...

This develops the baby's sense of balance

This develops the baby's sense of balance

The sense of balance it provides us with a permanent orientation in the three dimensions of space. For this, he uses different structures such as the vestibular apparatus, the eyes and the cutaneous...

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

How is life in general going? An OECD study has measured the 11 dimensions of well-being today. Among its conclusions, it shows that the OECD countries follow different patterns with respect to their...

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Love in youth is of the utmost importance, since the first couple relationships build the sentimental parameters of the people, that is, if at that age a person lives a healthy love, their subsequent...

Adoleszenz: eine unbegreifliche Entwicklungsstufe

WHO definiert die Jugend als die Periode des menschlichen Wachstums und der Entwicklung, die nach der Kindheit und vor dem Erwachsenenalter auftritt zwischen 10 und 19 Jahren. Es ist eine Konfliktphase, vor allem für ihre Eltern, die sich besonders in Familienbeziehungen bemerkbar macht, denn je mehr Erwachsene Erwachsene brauchen, umso mehr werden sie progressiv von ihnen getrennt.

Die Jugendalter Es ist durch ein Stadium des beschleunigten Wachstums und der Entwicklung gekennzeichnet, das zu verschiedenen biologischen Veränderungen hinzugefügt wird. Die Trennung von Sexualhormonen in dieser Zeit führt zu verschiedenen körperlichen und verhaltensbedingten Veränderungen. Die Jugendlichen konzentrieren sich mehr auf die Außenwelt und auf Gleichaltrige, da sie mehr Zeit mit Gleichaltrigen verbringen. Der Jugendliche, der in der Kindheit eine stärkere Abhängigkeit von dem Erwachsenen hatte, wird in der Adoleszenz zu größerer Unabhängigkeit, braucht aber immer noch den Erwachsenen.


In der Tat Je mehr er den Erwachsenen braucht, desto mehr muss er mit ihm in Konflikt stehen. Es ist die Formel, um die Sicherheit und Identität zu erlangen, die es braucht, um sich durch den Erwachsenen schrittweise trennen zu können. Je größer die Abhängigkeit der Jugendlichen ist, desto größer ist das Risiko der Trennung, das sie manchmal durch Konflikte und Konfrontation mit Autoritätspersonen manifestieren.

Der emotionale Sturm der Jugend

In dieser Phase gibt es eine größerer Einfluss des Bildungskontextes und der Sozialisation. Es ist eine Phase der Besiedlung des sozial-emotionalen Gleichgewichts, die manchmal zu einem emotionalen Sturm führt. Konflikte treten häufig auf, und sie sind positiv, da sie ihnen helfen, zu reifen, solange sie nicht in der Zeit bestehen, aber sie erfordern immer noch Aufsicht, mit größerer Entfernung und Verstärkung des Erwachsenen. Die Kraft der Leistung erscheint, die Förderung von Erwartungen, Zielen, Zielen *, die die Konsolidierung Ihres Selbstwertgefühls beeinflussen.


Die Hälfte der Jugendlichen schläft weniger, als sie sollten, entweder weil sie die Nacht nutzen, um sich mit der Technologie zu verbinden, weil es ihr Moment der Einsamkeit ist, ohne dass sie sich von einem Erwachsenen kontrolliert fühlen und spät ins Bett gehen, und weil es ein Wachstumsstadium ist wo der Körper mehr Stunden Ruhe braucht.

Dieser Mangel an Schlaf führt zu Müdigkeit am Morgen entwickeln, Symptome von Reizbarkeit, Stress und Depression können sogar das Wachstum des Kindes beeinflussen, da nachts das Wachstumshormon am meisten ausgeschüttet wird. Zu diesem Zweck müssen die Eltern von Kindheit an den Erwerb einer angemessenen Schlafhygiene fördern.

Reife in der Pubertät

In der Adoleszenz ist das Gehirn noch nicht voll entwickelt, wobei der präfrontale Kortex die sich entwickelnde Gehirnstruktur darstellt. Dieser Bereich steht in direktem Zusammenhang mit der Impulsivität, wo die Tendenz zur Exposition im Jugendalter stärker ist.


Ähnliches passiert mit dem Verarbeitung von Emotionen, Wenn es kognitive Funktionen im Reifungsprozess gibt, wie Aufmerksamkeit, Planungsvermögen, Kurzzeitgedächtnis, Konzentrationsfähigkeit ... Dies rechtfertigt viele der jugendlichen Einstellungen wie Mangel an Ordnung, Stimmungsschwankungen, Motivationslosigkeit sowie Impulsivität.

In dieser Phase müssen sie: zu einer Gruppe gehören, ihre Freunde mit Freiheit wählen, ihr Selbstwertgefühl entwickeln, ihr kritisches Denken fördern und dafür sorgen, dass sie von den Erwachsenen respektiert werden, insbesondere für ihre primären Referenten, und um Fehler zu machen, um Erfahrungen zu machen neue Erfahrungen, entdecken Sie die Welt um ihn herum ...

Mercedes Bermejo Direktor von Psychologen Pozuelo

Video: Vortrag "Pubertät und Adoleszenz"


Interessante Artikel

Frauen in sozialen Netzwerken

Frauen in sozialen Netzwerken

Frauen übernehmen die Führung in sozialen Netzwerken. Sie führen Portale wie Facebook, Twitter, Google+ oder Youtubeund das macht Unternehmen zur Kenntnis. Aus diesem Grund konzentrieren sich immer...

Tarragona mit Kindern bereisen

Tarragona mit Kindern bereisen

Wenn wir uns entschließen, den ländlichen Tourismus in der Provinz Tarragona für einige Tage zu genießen und mit Kindern zu reisen, müssen wir natürlich versuchen, dass zumindest einige der Orte, die...