Grief in children and their difference with that of parents

Adapting to a new situation after a hard trance is not easy. The death of a loved one, the farewell of friends for a change of their own or of these and many examples could be put on how sometimes you have to face tough times. The time it takes to recover a person from these contexts is known as duel.

A process that goes through different common phases in all people but that is not the same in adults as in children. The little ones in the house do not understand concepts like death nor are they emotionally prepared to face these situations. Understanding how children lose their emotional loss can allow more complete help.


Abstract concepts

Adults and children are the same in the duel while in both cases one of the most stressful events in a person's life is lived. Each individual needs a variable time for recovery, as they explain from the Hospital de la Paz in Madrid. In the case of children this process can become slower since some concepts are abstract.

An example is death. Until 3 or 4 years there is a relative ignorance of the meaning of death and is not considered as something definitive. Children confuse death with sleeping. By age 4, the death of a loved one continues to be seen as a temporary and reversible event, and the dead would have biological feelings and functions. Minors think that a reunion is possible in the future, so they do not start the grieving phase.


In the case of children, the mourning phase, whether due to the death of a loved one or farewell to a friend, can be divided into following:

- Protest The child does not understand what has happened and why he cries for it, understands that this situation can be reversible.

- Hopelessness The child understands that no matter how angry he shows, he can not do anything. This period is marked by a high apathy as it can not control this situation.

- Rupture of the link. Although the child does not forget his loved one, he begins to eliminate this dependency and to understand that it is possible to move forward.

Help the child in the process of grieving

While children must go through the grieving process without skipping any of the phases, as everyone has to do, parents can help by clarifying some of the ideas and preventing the child from getting stuck in some of these moments:


- Remember that he is not to blame. Both in the death of a loved one and in other farewells, children may feel that they have had some responsibility. Parents should indicate that this is not the case and that there are situations that they can not control.

- You also have to have fun. A tense moment in the children, and that is accentuated in adolescents, is to feel guilt when at the end of the duel they begin to have a good time. Parents should remember that they also have the right to enjoy and that nothing bad happens to rebuild a life.

- Stay physically and emotionally close. Children should feel that they have strong support from their loved ones and that if there are times when they fall, they can ask for help.

Damián Montero

Video: Healthcare Conversations: Good Grief, Dr. Jamye Coffman, Cook Children's - Centennial


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Trauer bei Kindern und deren Unterschied zu den Eltern

Die Anpassung an eine neue Situation nach einem harten Trance ist nicht einfach. Der Tod eines geliebten Menschen, der Abschied von Freunden für einen eigenen Wechsel oder von diesen und vielen anderen Beispielen könnte darauf verwiesen werden, wie Sie manchmal schwierigen Zeiten gegenüberstehen. Die Zeit, die erforderlich ist, um eine Person aus diesen Kontexten wiederherzustellen, ist als bekannt Duell.

Ein Prozess, der bei allen Menschen verschiedene gemeinsame Phasen durchläuft, bei Erwachsenen jedoch nicht derselbe ist wie bei Kindern. Die Kleinen im Haus verstehen Begriffe wie den Tod nicht und sind auch nicht emotional darauf vorbereitet, sich diesen Situationen zu stellen. Wenn Sie verstehen, wie Kinder ihren emotionalen Verlust verlieren, kann dies eine umfassendere Hilfe ermöglichen.


Abstrakte Konzepte

Erwachsene und Kinder sind in der Duell In beiden Fällen wird eines der stressigsten Ereignisse im Leben einer Person gelebt. Jeder Einzelne braucht eine variable Zeit für die Genesung, wie sie vom Hospital de la Paz in Madrid erklärt wird. Bei Kindern kann dieser Prozess langsamer werden, da einige Konzepte abstrakt sind.

Ein Beispiel ist der Tod. Bis zu 3 oder 4 Jahren besteht eine relative Unkenntnis über die Bedeutung des Todes und wird nicht als endgültig betrachtet. Kinder verwirren Tod mit dem Schlafen. Im Alter von 4 Jahren wird der Tod eines geliebten Menschen weiterhin als vorübergehendes und reversibles Ereignis betrachtet, und die Toten hätten biologische Gefühle und Funktionen. Minderjährige glauben, dass eine Wiedervereinigung in der Zukunft möglich ist, so dass sie nicht mit der Trauerphase beginnen.


Bei Kindern kann man die Trauerphase, sei es durch den Tod eines geliebten Menschen oder den Abschied von einem Freund, unterscheiden folgend:

- protestieren Das Kind versteht nicht, was passiert ist und warum es danach weint, dass diese Situation reversibel sein kann.

- Hoffnungslosigkeit Das Kind versteht, dass es, egal wie wütend es ist, nichts tun kann. Diese Periode ist durch eine hohe Apathie gekennzeichnet, da sie diese Situation nicht kontrollieren kann.

- Bruch der Verbindung. Obwohl das Kind seinen geliebten Menschen nicht vergisst, beginnt er diese Abhängigkeit zu beseitigen und zu verstehen, dass es möglich ist, sich vorwärts zu bewegen.

Helfen Sie dem Kind beim Trauerprozess

Während die Kinder den Trauerprozess durchlaufen müssen, ohne dabei einen zu überspringen PhasenWie jeder muss, können Eltern helfen, indem sie einige der Ideen klären und verhindern, dass das Kind in diesen Momenten stecken bleibt:


- Denken Sie daran, dass er nicht schuld ist. Sowohl beim Tod eines geliebten Menschen als auch bei anderen Abschiedsfällen fühlen sich Kinder möglicherweise in gewisser Weise verantwortlich. Eltern sollten darauf hinweisen, dass dies nicht der Fall ist und dass es Situationen gibt, die sie nicht kontrollieren können.

- Du musst auch Spaß haben. Ein angespannter Moment bei den Kindern, und das wird bei Jugendlichen verstärkt, ist Schuldgefühle, wenn sie am Ende des Duells eine gute Zeit haben. Eltern sollten daran denken, dass sie auch das Recht haben, zu genießen, und dass nichts Schlimmes passiert, um ein Leben wieder aufzubauen.

- Bleiben Sie körperlich und emotional nah. Kinder sollten das Gefühl haben, dass sie starke Unterstützung von ihren Angehörigen haben und dass sie, wenn es Zeiten gibt, in denen sie fallen, um Hilfe bitten können.

Damián Montero

Video: Trauer und Achtsamkeit: Impulse für Kinder und Erwachsene von Psychologe Dr. Tobias Glück


Interessante Artikel

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

Sicherlich hatten Sie während Ihrer Schulzeit einen Partner, der immer Hausaufgaben verließ, keine unterschriebenen Prüfungen mitbrachte, Bücher verlor, im Unterricht redete oder oft in den...