Everything you did not know about processed foods

The processed foods They seem to have two elements in their favor: they save us considerable time and are usually more attractive than natural ones because of their more intense flavor. Why do we have doubts, then, about their suitability in the diet? Because there are some that are really harmful: their habitual consumption is related to an increased risk of suffering from diabetes, hypertension, obesity, depression and some types of cancer.

The cause of these pathologies is twofold: on the one hand, during processing these foods lose, With part of its content in water, dietary fiber, some minerals (especially potassium, magnesium and calcium) and vitamins; on the other hand, they usually contain higher amounts of sodium, sugars, unhealthy fats and artificial additives, all of which are responsible for their palatability. These drawbacks vary depending on the degree of processing: frozen pizza (highly processed) is not the same as canned tuna or frozen vegetables.


Processed foods: do they nourish?

What is nutritionally more valuable, energetically less caloric and, for both properties, healthier? A toast, watered with virgin olive oil, spread with grated tomato and topped with a thin slice of ham or, on the contrary, an industrial pastry sweet? A homemade stew, with the right amount of salt and fat or, instead, a canned one that contains identical nutrients but with more salt than the healthiest required and more fat? The answer is obvious.

And do not argue that processed foods taste better: not at all! They have 'more', but not 'better' flavor. What happens is that such products, precisely because of their composition (flavor enhancers, among other additives), have rudely influenced our taste sense so that each time it demands higher levels of sensory experience.


Fresh foods and processed foods

What, then, would be advisable? Moderation, as in almost everything related to health. We can not base our diet on these products, but they can be consumed occasionally and combined with fresh foods.

And will we be silent about the capital issue of the time and effort saved by processed foods? The answer will be found if we reflect on this statement: "Tell me what you have time for and I will tell you what you really love". Are we really interested in health? Well, let's dedicate time to that which comes to us.

Said Professor Grande Covián, undoubted authority in nutrition: "Nothing more natural, ecological and biological than the cholera bacteria, and nothing more artificial, synthetic and chemical than chlorine, but thanks to chlorinated water we do not die of cholera". Serve this beginning to clarify what we do not intend with this article: extolling the 'natural' and the 'unprocessed' to demonize the 'chemical' and the 'processed' industrially.


Pedro J. Toranzos. Bachelor of Pharmacy, Diploma in Dietetics and Nutrition, Master in Dietetics.

Video: Whole Foods vs. Processed foods - Ellie Freeman


Interesting Articles

4 consequences of working sitting 6 hours a day

4 consequences of working sitting 6 hours a day

To be sitting six hours a day, something that we do during the school phase between classes and study hours, as well as at work, since most people who work in offices or with new technologies must...

8 refreshing water games for summer

8 refreshing water games for summer

With summer comes the heat and the desire to find cool plans to have fun with children. During the holidays, visiting places like beaches and pools allow us to get closer to that feeling of freshness...

Alles, was Sie über verarbeitete Lebensmittel nicht wussten

Die verarbeitete Nahrungsmittel Sie scheinen zwei Elemente zu ihren Gunsten zu haben: Sie sparen uns viel Zeit und sind aufgrund ihres intensiven Aromas normalerweise attraktiver als natürliche. Warum haben wir dann Zweifel an ihrer Eignung in der Diät? Denn es gibt einige, die wirklich schädlich sind: Ihr gewöhnlicher Konsum hängt mit einem erhöhten Risiko zusammen, an Diabetes, Bluthochdruck, Fettleibigkeit, Depressionen und einigen Krebsarten zu leiden.

Die Ursachen dieser Pathologien sind zweierlei: Einerseits während der Verarbeitung verlieren diese Lebensmittelzusammen mit ein Teil seines Inhalts in Wasser, Ballaststoffen, einige Mineralien (insbesondere Kalium, Magnesium und Calcium) und Vitamine; Auf der anderen Seite enthalten sie normalerweise höhere Mengen an Natrium, Zuckern, ungesunden Fetten und künstlichen Zusatzstoffen, die alle für ihre Schmackhaftigkeit verantwortlich sind. Diese Nachteile variieren je nach Verarbeitungsgrad: Tiefkühlpizza (stark verarbeitet) ist nicht dasselbe wie Thunfischkonserven oder Tiefkühlgemüse.


Verarbeitete Lebensmittel: nähren sie sich?

Was ist ernährungsphysiologisch wertvoller, energetisch weniger kalorisch und für beide Eigenschaften gesünder? Ein Toast, gewürzt mit nativem Olivenöl, mit geriebenen Tomaten bestreut und mit einer dünnen Schinkenscheibe belegt oder im Gegenteil ein industrielles Gebäck, süß? Ein hausgemachter Eintopf mit der richtigen Menge an Salz und Fett oder stattdessen ein Konserven, der identische Nährstoffe enthält, jedoch mehr Salz als das gesündeste und mehr Fett enthält? Die Antwort liegt auf der Hand.

Und behaupten Sie nicht, dass verarbeitete Lebensmittel besser schmecken: überhaupt nicht! Sie haben einen "mehr", aber keinen "besseren" Geschmack. Was passiert, ist, dass solche Produkte gerade aufgrund ihrer Zusammensetzung (Geschmacksverstärker unter anderen Zusätzen) unseren Geschmackssinn grob beeinflusst haben, so dass jedes Mal mehr sensorische Erfahrung erforderlich ist.


Frische Lebensmittel und verarbeitete Lebensmittel

Was wäre dann ratsam? Moderation, wie in fast allem, was mit Gesundheit zu tun hat. Wir können unsere Ernährung nicht auf diese Produkte stützen, aber sie können gelegentlich konsumiert und mit frischen Lebensmitteln kombiniert werden.

Und werden wir über die Kapitalfrage der Zeit und Mühe, die durch verarbeitete Lebensmittel eingespart werden, schweigen? Die Antwort wird gefunden, wenn wir über diese Aussage nachdenken: "Sag mir, wofür du Zeit hast, und ich werde dir sagen, was du wirklich liebst". Sind wir wirklich an Gesundheit interessiert? Nun, lass uns dem widmen, was zu uns kommt.

Professor Grande Covián, zweifellos Autorität in der Ernährung, sagte: "Nichts natürlicher, ökologischer und biologischer als die Cholerabakterien und nichts künstlicheres, synthetisches und chemisches als Chlor, aber dank chlorhaltigem Wasser sterben wir nicht an Cholera". An diesem Anfang soll geklärt werden, was wir mit diesem Artikel nicht beabsichtigen: das "natürliche" und das "nicht verarbeitete" zu preisen, um die "Chemikalie" und das "verarbeitete" industriell zu dämonisieren.


Pedro J. Toranzos. Bachelor of Pharmacy, Diplom in Diätetik und Ernährung, Master in Diätetik.

Video: The 5 Worst Artificial Food Additives And How To Eliminate Them


Interessante Artikel

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Wenige Empfindungen sind ärgerlicher als der Schmerz, der durch verursacht wird Migräne. Das Unbehagen, das durch diese Kopfschmerzen empfunden wird, macht uns schwindelig und gibt sogar den Drang,...