The headache in children explained by Harvard

The day to day of the smallest can be altered by many problems, including the headache that can make a child's journey a true ordeal. How can I help them to make these moments happen fast? How to reduce the acuity of the symptoms? On this subject he has dealt with Harvard University in one of his works where he sets out a series of guidelines to deal with these situations.

A guide for parents to learn to differentiate between simple headache and migraine with worse consequences for the little ones. Each situation will require a different kind of help and a specific treatment. Learning to recognize the symptoms of each of these health problems will be of great importance at the time that parents can help their children.


Recognize the migraine

As it was said at first, migraine is not the same as the simple headache although they can share symptom. For example, in both cases pain is experienced in different areas of the skull, although unlike in the case of adults, the discomfort in children does not last as long as it can be considered as something temporary and not think about a bigger problem .

Therefore, from Harvard it is recommended to recognize other migraine symptoms such as vomiting, nausea, dizziness or a sensation of pain similar to that of a needle sticking against your forehead. Another point that can help to recognize this problem in the smallest is the geneticsIf the parents have already presented these problems, there is a high possibility that the children will also suffer.


However, it is not possible to make a diagnosis from a single case of headache. Children need to have at least two episodes to be diagnosed with migraine. The periodicity of the cases will also help to recognize if it is a simple episode of discomfort or if the migraines are going to recur and therefore a treatment adapted to the situation is needed.

Diagnosis and treatment

If the headaches are recurrent in children, an appointment with the pediatrician will be essential. This specialist will collect the previous symptoms and the medical history of the parents and the children, it will also be important to talk about the habits of life of the little ones to check if these are the ones that trigger the episodes of headache. Bad routines of sleep, stress or an excess of stimulating drinks can end up provoking these situations.


Ibuprofen can be a very effective treatment once to deal with episodic headache. You can also resort to ice to relieve these headaches by decreasing the inflammation that is causing these sensations. Tumbling the child and placing a tube filled with cubes or a frozen item such as peas or squares of spinach will help a lot.

In the case of migraines, it can be recommended to use medications as amitriptyline Y topiramate. They must also adapt their life habits to the new situation and avoid triggering attitudes. Sleep schedules should conform to the recommendations of specialists, drinks with a strong component of caffeine will have to be reduced to the maximum.

Damián Montero

Video: The Mystery Headache: Migraine, Positional Headache, Spinal Fluid Leak?


Interesting Articles

The top 10 of the master's degrees

The top 10 of the master's degrees

Nowadays the master is astudy necessary for academic preparation, because due to the high level of demand and competitiveness that exists in the labor market, a university career is not enough to...

Cabify offers child restraint seats

Cabify offers child restraint seats

The safety and protection of the smallest is a subject of great concern in public and private urban transport. Traffic accidents are the main cause of death among children under 14, with 40% of cases...

Harvard proposes 5 fun tricks to succeed

Harvard proposes 5 fun tricks to succeed

Our life is a constant search for happiness. On many occasions, we think that the only way to reach it is to lead a life full of successes and recognitions and this is a real mistake. It is important...

The pain of farewells: how to learn to say goodbye

The pain of farewells: how to learn to say goodbye

Goodbyes they are never simple, say goodbye It can become very complicated and painful. However, farewells are part of life, we can not avoid them, and that is why we must learn to say goodbye and in...

Die Kopfschmerzen bei Kindern, erklärt von Harvard

Der Alltag der Kleinsten kann durch viele Probleme verändert werden, einschließlich der Kopfschmerzen das kann die Reise eines Kindes zu einer wahren Prüfung machen. Wie kann ich ihnen helfen, diese Momente schnell zu machen? Wie kann man die Schärfe der Symptome reduzieren? Zu diesem Thema hat er sich mit der Harvard University in einem seiner Werke befasst, in dem er eine Reihe von Richtlinien aufstellt, die sich mit diesen Situationen befassen.

Ein Leitfaden für Eltern, um zu lernen, einfach zu unterscheiden Kopfschmerzen und Migräne mit schlimmeren Folgen für die Kleinen. Jede Situation erfordert eine andere Art von Hilfe und eine spezifische Behandlung. Zu lernen, die Symptome jedes dieser Gesundheitsprobleme zu erkennen, ist von großer Bedeutung, wenn die Eltern ihren Kindern helfen können.


Erkenne die Migräne

Wie es zuerst gesagt wurde, ist Migräne nicht dasselbe wie die einfachen Kopfschmerzen, obwohl sie sich teilen können Symptome. Zum Beispiel treten in beiden Fällen Schmerzen in verschiedenen Bereichen des Schädels auf, auch wenn die Beschwerden bei Kindern anders als bei Erwachsenen nicht anhalten, solange sie als vorübergehend angesehen werden können und nicht an ein größeres Problem denken .

Daher wird von Harvard empfohlen, andere Migränesymptome wie Erbrechen, Übelkeit, Schwindelgefühl oder ein Schmerzgefühl zu erkennen, das dem einer an der Stirn haftenden Nadel ähnelt. Ein weiterer Punkt, der helfen kann, dieses Problem im kleinsten zu erkennen, ist der genetischWenn die Eltern diese Probleme bereits vorgebracht haben, besteht eine hohe Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass auch die Kinder darunter leiden.


Es ist jedoch nicht möglich, eine Diagnose aus einem einzigen Fall von Kopfschmerzen. Kinder müssen mindestens zwei Episoden haben, um mit Migräne diagnostiziert zu werden. Die Periodizität der Fälle wird auch helfen, zu erkennen, ob es sich um eine einfache Episode von Beschwerden handelt oder wenn die Migräne erneut auftritt und daher eine an die Situation angepasste Behandlung erforderlich ist.

Diagnose und Behandlung

Wenn die Kopfschmerzen bei Kindern wiederkehren, wird ein Termin beim Kinderarzt vereinbart unverzichtbar. Dieser Spezialist sammelt die früheren Symptome und die Anamnese der Eltern und der Kinder. Außerdem ist es wichtig, über die Lebensgewohnheiten der Kleinen zu sprechen, um zu prüfen, ob diese die Kopfschmerzepisoden auslösen. Schlechte Routinen des Schlafes, Stress oder ein Übermaß an stimulierenden Getränken können diese Situationen provozieren.


Ibuprofen kann eine sehr wirksame Behandlung sein, um episodische Kopfschmerzen zu behandeln. Sie können auch zurückgreifen Eis um diese Kopfschmerzen zu lindern, indem die Entzündung, die diese Empfindungen verursacht, verringert wird. Das Stolpern des Kindes und das Platzieren eines mit Würfeln gefüllten Röhrchens oder eines gefrorenen Gegenstands wie Erbsen oder Spinatquadrate wird viel helfen.

Bei Migräne kann es empfohlen werden, Medikamente als zu verwenden Amitriptylin und Topiramat. Sie müssen auch ihre Lebensgewohnheiten an die neue Situation anpassen und vermeiden, Einstellungen auszulösen. Schlafpläne sollten den Empfehlungen von Spezialisten entsprechen, Getränke mit einem starken Koffeinanteil müssen auf das Maximum reduziert werden.

Damián Montero

Video: 10 Zeichen für einen möglichen Proteinmangel


Interessante Artikel

Kalte Medikamente bei Kindern, sind sie gefährlich?

Kalte Medikamente bei Kindern, sind sie gefährlich?

Achus! Oh, jeder Vater fürchtet den Moment des Sehr häufige (und fast unvermeidliche) Erkältungen. Einige Viren, die nicht gefährlich sind, aber den Kindern und ihren Betreuern mehr als nur...

Zucker, der Hauptfeind der Gesundheit von Kindern

Zucker, der Hauptfeind der Gesundheit von Kindern

Die Aufnahme von Lebensmitteln und Getränken, die reich an freien Zuckern sind, schadet der Gesundheit der Kleinen und erhöht das Übergewichtrisiko in diesen frühen Jahren. Ein WHO-Bericht schätzte...