Visual therapy as a remedy to learning difficulties

Learning is not a simple process, many aspects come into play, from the environment in which the child is raised to possible problems that put obstacles in their attention at school or their senses at the time of study. An example is a view deficit that can make the student have problems when reviewing their agendas and reading the different texts of the school.

At this point we must highlight the visual therapyl as a solution to several learning difficulties in minors. A proposal made by the International Society of Optometry of Development and Behavior, SIODEC, organism that emphasizes that one of every two children that suffers from learning problems, presents some type of anomaly in this sense.


Vision and learning

SIODEC also offers other data from the study Efficacy of Visual Therapy in children with learning problems and anomalies associated with binocular vision, conducted by Elite School of Optometry and in which a total of 94 children with learning difficulties. A lot of these problems in their education was caused by these problems in their sight.

A 60% of these children with learning difficulties presented anomalies in binocular vision. That is, poor coordination between both eyes, which produces a cross-over of information that confuses the brain. At this point, the educational community is warned about the need to look at small details to be able to detect symptoms of this problem.


Between the symptom that they stand out, and that parents can also recognize the problems of reading, concentration or writing, such as skipping words, or that the child does not understand well what he reads or changes the size of the letter in the same text. Other details that can alert teachers is the difficulty of recognizing what is written on the board or constant winks when trying to identify the characters that appear on it.

Visual therapy

At this point the mission of visual therapy is, first of all, to evaluate the processing of information and the skills that the child has in this sense, and that can cause interference in the learning process of the student. It is an individualized treatment in which the patient works a series of protocolized procedures to recognize problems and create new skills and new functions in your visual system.


The application of this type of treatments could reduce the high rate of school failure in Spain. Gloria Hermida, president of SIODEC, explains that "visual therapy is a training based on the repetition of a series of exercises, both in the optometrist's office and at home, which allows to develop and improve the patient's visual conditions and, therefore, , to refine the learning problems that affect their school performance ".

Damián Montero

Video: Learning disability - definition, diagnosis, treatment, pathology


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Visuelle Therapie als Mittel gegen Lernschwierigkeiten

Lernen ist kein einfacher Prozess, viele Aspekte spielen eine Rolle, von der Umgebung, in der das Kind erzogen wird, bis hin zu möglichen Problemen, die die Aufmerksamkeit der Schüler oder die Sinne zum Zeitpunkt des Lernens beeinträchtigen. Ein Beispiel ist a Anblick Ein Defizit kann dazu führen, dass der Schüler Probleme hat, wenn er seine Tagesordnungen überprüft und die verschiedenen Texte der Schule liest.

An dieser Stelle müssen wir das hervorheben visuelle Therapiel als Lösung für mehrere Lernschwierigkeiten bei Minderjährigen. Ein Vorschlag der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Optometrie von Entwicklung und Verhalten, SIODECEin Organismus, der betont, dass jedes zweite Kind, das an Lernproblemen leidet, eine Art Anomalie in diesem Sinne aufweist.


Vision und Lernen

SIODEC bietet auch andere Daten aus der Studie "Die Wirksamkeit der visuellen Therapie" bei Kindern mit Lernproblemen und Anomalien im Zusammenhang mit dem binokularen Sehen an, die von der Elite School of Optometry durchgeführt wurden und bei denen insgesamt 94 Kinder mit Lernschwierigkeiten. Viele dieser Probleme in ihrer Ausbildung wurden durch diese Probleme in ihren Augen verursacht.

A 60% von diesen Kindern mit Lernschwierigkeiten zeigten sich Anomalien im binokularen Sehen. Das heißt, schlechte Koordination zwischen beiden Augen, was zu einer Überkreuzung von Informationen führt, die das Gehirn verwirren. An diesem Punkt wird die Bildungsgemeinschaft vor der Notwendigkeit gewarnt, kleine Details zu betrachten, um Symptome dieses Problems erkennen zu können.


Unter den Symptome dass sie auffallen und dass die Eltern auch die Probleme des Lesens, der Konzentration oder des Schreibens erkennen können, wie z. B. das Überspringen von Wörtern, oder dass das Kind nicht gut versteht, was es liest oder die Größe des Buchstabens im selben Text ändert. Andere Details, die Lehrer benachrichtigen können, sind die Schwierigkeit, zu erkennen, was auf der Tafel steht, oder ständige Winks, wenn versucht wird, die darauf angezeigten Zeichen zu identifizieren.

Visuelle Therapie

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt besteht die Mission der visuellen Therapie in erster Linie darin, die Verarbeitung von Informationen und die Fähigkeiten, die das Kind in diesem Sinne hat, zu bewerten, und dies kann den Lernprozess des Schülers stören. Es handelt sich um eine individualisierte Behandlung, bei der der Patient eine Reihe von protokollierten Verfahren durchführt, um Probleme zu erkennen und neue Fähigkeiten zu entwickeln neue Funktionen in Ihrem visuellen System.


Die Anwendung dieser Art von Behandlungen könnte das hohe Schulversagen in Spanien reduzieren. Gloria Hermida, Präsidentin von SIODEC, erklärt: "Visuelle Therapie ist ein Training, das auf der Wiederholung einer Reihe von Übungen sowohl im Büro des Augenoptikers als auch zu Hause basiert. Dies ermöglicht es, die Sehbedingungen des Patienten zu die Lernprobleme zu verfeinern, die ihre schulischen Leistungen beeinflussen ".

Damián Montero

Video: ADS/ADHS bei Kindern - Einführung und Therapie


Interessante Artikel

Das schwarze Schaf der Familie

Das schwarze Schaf der Familie

Sei der schwarze Schafe der Familie es bedeutet, innerhalb einer homogenen Familiengruppe unterschiedlich zu sein. Die Unterschiede der betrachteten schwarzen Schafe der Familie sind in der Regel...

Die Gefahren des Missbrauchs von Videospielen

Die Gefahren des Missbrauchs von Videospielen

Mit dem Ausbau neuer Technologien Netzwerk-Videospiele Sie waren auch in den meisten Häusern präsent. Diese Form der digitalen Freizeit ermöglicht es unseren Kindern, einige Fähigkeiten zu erwerben....