8 tips to foster a good relationship between siblings

Parents play a prominent role in the relationship between siblings. Their influence can be very positive when they mediate conflicts, create a climate of communication in the family, foster trust and the development of values ​​such as tolerance and empathy.

In contrast, when parents treat their children differently by varying the amounts of positive affect, responsibility, discipline ... sibling relationships are likely to be more contentious and less enjoyable because children often see these differences as unfair.

The relationship between siblings is considered a natural laboratory for children to learn to interact with their peers and develop an understanding of social relationships with other family members, but it is vitally important that parents have an equal, resolution attitude of conflicts to regulate emotions and relations between brothers.


8 tips to foster a positive relationship between siblings

It is often difficult for parents to manage the relationship their children have with each other. The therapist Àngels Ponce offers eight useful tips with which to help foster a good relationship between siblings.

1. Avoid comparing. Value the attitude and skills of each of the brothers at the time, but never compare them. Each one must be recognized and loved for what he is, without comparisons. Many times we do not realize it, but they are there when we comment that one is more (whatever) than the other or less (whatever) than the other. It may seem trivial to us, but for them it is not and it hurts.


2. Create a climate of collaboration at home. Try to find activities in which everyone collaborates. Teach them that they can have common goals. For example, play something together. Even if one of the children has a disability, they may need some help at first, but they are sure to find something they can do as a team.

3. Devote the same time and attention to one as to the other. Much of the sibling rivalry has to do with attention. Try to be aware of it and do not focus on one of them because it is smaller, or because you have a disability. Maybe one of them claims less, but also needs it, do not dedicate only the time "you have left".

4. Everyone is special. Sometimes it is tempting to tell your children that you love them equally, but the reality is that they do not want to hear that. What they want to know is that you love them in a special way, not equally.


5. Leave your own space. Try to have moments of play and complicity alone, without the supervision of adults. In this way you encourage them to share experiences, to become accomplices, to take care of each other or to solve their rivalries. Sometimes it is better not to get involved in their things so they can learn together.

6. Encourages communication and listens at home. We can explain to children that they must respect their turn to talk, that they can not interrupt a conversation to get attention, but it is much more effective if parents are their model. Communicating also means sharing joys, problems and experiences. Do not hide situations that have to do with each of them.

7. Accept the conflict, do not repress it. Sibling conflict is an inevitable element of family life. It is important to help them understand that it is normal to get angry and irritated from time to time, even with the people we love, without meaning that we care less. That will help them not to feel guilty just for being angry. Then you can help them find positive ways to express their feelings and resolve their differences. Although it is much easier to act to resolve the conflict, it is more effective to let them resolve it. In addition, this prevents us from positioning ourselves in favor of one (usually the weakest) and against another. The best intervention is to find a way to support the two, recognizing their feelings and inviting them to reconciliation, although they may need time to do so.

8. Listen to their complaints and recognize what worries them. It is important to listen to complaints against siblings and not throw them away, even if one of them has a disability. Simply listening to the child when he says he feels envious, or is angry or hurt with his brother reduces his resentment because he realizes that you are supporting him. Your role is mediator, listening to the version of each brother and making both feel understood.

In short, it is everyone's task to harmonize this lasting and close relationship. Listening, dialoguing and accepting the qualities, limitations and concerns of each member of the family.

Àngels Ponce. Mindfulness instructor for families and family therapist

Video: How to help siblings to get along


Interesting Articles

The shyness in adolescence, how to overcome it?

The shyness in adolescence, how to overcome it?

The shy teenagers They tend to worry too much about what they will say and fear a negative criticism. All this causes an anxiety that prevents them from carrying out some activities normally and...

The first domestic tasks that help to make family

The first domestic tasks that help to make family

From the moment in which the children walk with ease, the children can have assigned tasks in the house, which consist not only in ordering their room, but above all helping the other members of the...

Motivation guide for children with high abilities

Motivation guide for children with high abilities

The children with high abilities they are divided between gifted, talented and intellectually precocious. Although they have always been called gifted students, the more than 12,000 Spanish children...

8 Tipps für eine gute Beziehung zwischen Geschwistern

Eltern spielen eine herausragende Rolle in der Beziehung zwischen Geschwistern. Ihr Einfluss kann sehr positiv sein, wenn sie Konflikte vermitteln, ein Kommunikationsklima in der Familie schaffen, Vertrauen schaffen und Werte wie Toleranz und Empathie entwickeln.

Im Gegensatz dazu, wenn Eltern ihre Kinder unterschiedlich behandeln, indem sie die Höhe des positiven Einflusses, der Verantwortung, der Disziplin ... variieren, sind Geschwisterbeziehungen wahrscheinlich umstrittener und weniger erfreulich, da Kinder diese Unterschiede oft als ungerecht betrachten.

Die Beziehung zwischen Geschwistern gilt als natürliches Labor, in dem Kinder lernen, mit Gleichaltrigen zu interagieren und ein Verständnis für soziale Beziehungen mit anderen Familienmitgliedern zu entwickeln. Es ist jedoch von entscheidender Bedeutung, dass Eltern eine gleichberechtigte und entschlossene Einstellung haben von Konflikten zur Regulierung von Emotionen und Beziehungen zwischen Brüdern.


8 Tipps zur Förderung einer positiven Beziehung zwischen Geschwistern

Für Eltern ist es oft schwierig, die Beziehung zu pflegen, die ihre Kinder untereinander haben. Der Therapeut Àngels Ponce gibt acht hilfreiche Tipps pflegen eine gute Beziehung zwischen Geschwistern.

1. Vermeiden Sie Vergleiche. Schätze die Einstellung und die Fähigkeiten jedes Brüder zu dieser Zeit, aber vergleiche sie niemals. Jeder muss erkannt und geliebt werden für das, was er ist, ohne Vergleiche. Oft erkennen wir es nicht, aber sie sind da, wenn wir kommentieren, dass einer mehr (was auch immer) ist als der andere oder weniger (was auch immer) als der andere ist. Es mag uns trivial erscheinen, aber für sie ist es nicht und es tut weh.


2. Schaffen Sie zu Hause ein Klima der Zusammenarbeit. Versuchen Sie, Aktivitäten zu finden, bei denen alle zusammenarbeiten. Bringe ihnen bei, dass sie gemeinsame Ziele haben können. Zum Beispiel etwas zusammen spielen. Selbst wenn eines der Kinder eine Behinderung hat, benötigen sie zunächst etwas Hilfe, aber sie finden sicher etwas, das sie als Team tun können.

3. Widmen Sie dem einen und dem anderen die gleiche Zeit und Aufmerksamkeit. Ein großer Teil der Geschwisterrivalität hat mit Aufmerksamkeit zu tun. Versuchen Sie, sich dessen bewusst zu sein, und konzentrieren Sie sich nicht auf eines von ihnen, weil es kleiner ist oder Sie eine Behinderung haben. Vielleicht behauptet einer von ihnen weniger, braucht es aber auch, widmet nicht nur die Zeit, die "Sie gegangen sind".

4. Jeder ist etwas Besonderes. Manchmal ist es verlockend, Ihren Kindern zu sagen, dass Sie sie gleich lieben, aber die Realität ist, dass sie das nicht hören wollen. Was sie wissen wollen, ist, dass Sie sie auf besondere Weise lieben, nicht gleichermaßen.


5. Lass deinen eigenen Raum. Versuchen Sie, Momente des Spiels und der Mittäterschaft allein zu haben, ohne die Aufsicht von Erwachsenen. Auf diese Weise ermutigen Sie sie, Erfahrungen auszutauschen, Komplizen zu werden, sich umeinander zu kümmern oder ihre Rivalitäten zu lösen. Manchmal ist es besser, sich nicht in ihre Sachen einzumischen, damit sie gemeinsam lernen können.

6. Ermutigt die Kommunikation und hört zu Hause. Wir können Kindern erklären, dass sie ihre Gesprächsrunde respektieren müssen, dass sie ein Gespräch nicht unterbrechen können, um Aufmerksamkeit zu erhalten, aber es ist viel effektiver, wenn die Eltern ihr Vorbild sind. Kommunizieren bedeutet auch, Freude, Probleme und Erfahrungen zu teilen. Verstecken Sie keine Situationen, die mit jedem von ihnen zu tun haben.

7. Akzeptieren Sie den Konflikt, unterdrücken Sie ihn nicht. Geschwisterkonflikte sind ein unvermeidlicher Bestandteil des Familienlebens. Es ist wichtig, ihnen zu helfen, zu verstehen, dass es normal ist, von Zeit zu Zeit wütend und irritiert zu werden, selbst bei den Menschen, die wir lieben, ohne dass dies weniger Bedeutung hat. Das hilft ihnen, sich nicht schuldig zu fühlen, nur weil sie wütend sind. Dann können Sie ihnen helfen, positive Wege zu finden, um ihre Gefühle auszudrücken und ihre Unterschiede aufzulösen. Obwohl es viel einfacher ist, den Konflikt zu lösen, ist es effektiver, ihn lösen zu lassen. Darüber hinaus hindern wir uns daran, uns zugunsten eines (meist schwächsten) und eines anderen zu positionieren. Die beste Intervention ist, einen Weg zu finden, um die beiden zu unterstützen, ihre Gefühle zu erkennen und sie zur Versöhnung einzuladen, auch wenn sie dazu Zeit brauchen.

8. Hören Sie ihren Beschwerden zu und erkennen Sie, was sie beunruhigt. Es ist wichtig, auf Beschwerden gegen Geschwister zu hören und sie nicht wegzuwerfen, selbst wenn einer von ihnen eine Behinderung hat. Wenn Sie einfach dem Kind zuhören, wenn es sagt, dass es neidisch ist, oder wenn Sie böse oder verletzt sind, verringert es seinen Ärger, weil es erkennt, dass Sie es unterstützen. Ihre Rolle ist der Vermittler, der sich die Version jedes Bruders anhört und sich beide verstanden fühlt.

Kurz gesagt, es ist die Aufgabe aller, diese dauerhafte und enge Beziehung zu harmonisieren. Zuhören, Dialog und Akzeptieren der Qualitäten, Einschränkungen und Anliegen jedes Familienmitglieds.

Angels Ponce. Achtsamkeitslehrer für Familien und Familientherapeuten

Video: Beziehung .. VORSTELLUNG vs. REALITÄT ♥ BibisBeautyPalace


Interessante Artikel

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Die Schule ist zusammen mit der Familie der zweitwichtigste Ort in der Entwicklung von Kindern. In den Fluren und Klassenzimmern der Schule verbringen die Kleinen Stunden und Stunden damit, Werte zu...