Why do your children need to fall?

Many times we go to the park and hear: "Do not run, you're going to fall!" "Beware that you may stumble!", And the best thing is that many times we are the ones who repeat it frequently to our children without realizing that of the falls you also learn.

Parents are frightened by any tripping or falling on the floor of children. We do not want injuries or scratches done. Y we see dangers in activities as normal as climbing a park structure, running, or jumping from "very" high.

Other parents fear that if their child falls down they will be afraid to do the same activity again and do not want to ride a bike or jump down the slide again, underestimating the desire to overcome their children.


You have to be cautious, but without going too far

All parents want our children to be safe adults, with confidence in their possibilities, capable of taking risks and making decisions. And this process begins in childhood. How? We must give them security, let them do difficult things and let them fall too.

Because children need to hurt themselves. They need to try new things. They need to develop their muscles and test their balance system, etc. climbing, jumping, climbing, running, balancing ... Even more: they need to see that they are capable of facing challenges and surpassing themselves. It is a lifelong learning.

The important thing is not the fall, but how you get up


It is important for children to fall, hurt themselves, cry and get up (with your help if necessary). Because in life they will fall thousands of times and they have to learn to get up and continue living. That's right: you have to know what the limits are, that is, you should not take unnecessary risks or learn to live to the limit. We can not put a 2 year old to climb Everest!

If you ever doubt your child's abilities, these three clues can be when you're not sure if an activity is appropriate for your child's age or not:

1. Look at the rest of the children who are doing the same thing: If you see that everyone is older than 8 and you have a 3-year-old baby then it may not be a good idea for your child to do so. But if you see other children of your age, go ahead and try!

2. Think about what is the worst that can happen: Sometimes we are afraid that our child will fall, but what can happen if he falls? Maybe a knee injury is done. So no problem! You can comfort him and just say: "What a wound you have done to yourself! That makes you stronger." And it is true, because with a wound they learn what pain is, they learn that wounds heal, and next time they will know what to expect from a fall. It also teaches them to be more cautious.


3. Do things you can do alone: If you let your child do anything he does not need help for, the most normal thing is that there is no danger. If your child can go up and down a tree without help, it is normal that nothing happens to him. If instead you have to be holding and pushing ... then you may have to wait until you are taller or older to undertake this challenge.

A tip for parents of girls

Girls are NOT more fragile than children. Girls do NOT fall more than children. Girls are NOT less agile, less fast, less physically capable than children. We are the parents who make them like that, because we are more afraid that a girl will fall! If you have daughters encourage them to undertake challenges, to do difficult things, to make an effort, to climb, to run, to jump ... You will be giving them confidence in themselves, and they will be strong and safe both physically and emotionally.

Amaya de Miguel. Parent mentor and founder of Relax and educate

Video: How Teeth Grow


Interesting Articles

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Say no It can be complicated for many people. If you often answer yes to demands of friendships or work, even if you really know you do not want to do it, if you have a hard time saying no and you...

This develops the baby's sense of balance

This develops the baby's sense of balance

The sense of balance it provides us with a permanent orientation in the three dimensions of space. For this, he uses different structures such as the vestibular apparatus, the eyes and the cutaneous...

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

How is life in general going? An OECD study has measured the 11 dimensions of well-being today. Among its conclusions, it shows that the OECD countries follow different patterns with respect to their...

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Love in youth is of the utmost importance, since the first couple relationships build the sentimental parameters of the people, that is, if at that age a person lives a healthy love, their subsequent...

Warum müssen Ihre Kinder fallen?

Viele Male gehen wir in den Park und hören: "Laufen Sie nicht, Sie werden fallen!" "Hüte dich vor dem Stolpern!", Und das Beste ist, dass wir es oft sind, wenn wir es unseren Kindern oft wiederholen, ohne dass sie es merken von den Fällen lernst du auch.

Eltern haben Angst vor Stolpern oder Stürzen auf dem Boden von Kindern. Wir wollen keine Verletzungen oder Kratzer. Y Wir sehen Gefahren Bei Aktivitäten, die normal sind, wie beim Klettern einer Parkstruktur, beim Laufen oder Springen von "sehr" Hoch.

Andere Eltern befürchten, dass ihr Kind, wenn es umfällt, Angst davor hat, die gleiche Aktivität noch einmal zu machen, und dass sie weder Fahrrad fahren noch die Rutsche hinunter springen möchten. unterschätzt den Wunsch, ihre Kinder zu überwinden.


Man muss vorsichtig sein, aber nicht zu weit gehen

Alle Eltern möchten, dass unsere Kinder sichere Erwachsene sind, mit Vertrauen in ihre Möglichkeiten, in der Lage, Risiken einzugehen und Entscheidungen zu treffen. Und dieser Prozess beginnt in der Kindheit. Wie Wir müssen ihnen Sicherheit geben, sie schwierige Dinge tun lassen und auch fallen lassen.

Weil Kinder sich verletzen müssen. Sie müssen neue Dinge ausprobieren. Sie müssen ihre Muskeln entwickeln und ihr Gleichgewichtssystem testen, usw. Klettern, Springen, Klettern, Laufen, Balancieren ... Mehr noch: Sie müssen sehen, dass sie in der Lage sind, Herausforderungen zu meistern und sich selbst zu übertreffen. Es ist ein lebenslanges Lernen.

Das Wichtigste ist nicht der Sturz, sondern wie man aufsteht


Es ist wichtig, dass Kinder fallen, sich verletzen, weinen und aufstehen (ggf. mit Ihrer Hilfe). Denn im Leben fallen sie tausendmal und sie müssen lernen, aufzustehen und weiterzuleben. Das ist richtig: Sie müssen wissen, was die Grenzen sind, das heißt, Sie sollten kein unnötiges Risiko eingehen oder lernen, bis zum Limit zu leben. Wir können keinen 2 Jahre alten Everest besteigen!

Wenn Sie jemals Zweifel an den Fähigkeiten Ihres Kindes haben, können diese drei Anhaltspunkte sein, wenn Sie nicht sicher sind, ob eine Aktivität für das Alter Ihres Kindes geeignet ist oder nicht:

1. Schauen Sie sich die übrigen Kinder an, die dasselbe tun: Wenn Sie feststellen, dass jeder älter als 8 Jahre ist und Sie ein 3-jähriges Baby haben, ist dies möglicherweise keine gute Idee für Ihr Kind. Aber wenn Sie andere Kinder in Ihrem Alter sehen, probieren Sie es aus!

2. Überlegen Sie, was das Schlimmste ist, was passieren kann: Manchmal haben wir Angst, dass unser Kind fällt, aber was kann passieren, wenn es fällt? Vielleicht ist eine Knieverletzung gemacht. Nun passiert nichts! Du kannst ihn trösten und einfach sagen: "Was für eine Wunde hast du dir angetan! Das macht dich stärker." Und es ist wahr, denn mit einer Wunde lernen sie, was Schmerz ist, lernen sie, dass Wunden heilen, und beim nächsten Mal werden sie wissen, was von einem Sturz zu erwarten ist. Es lehrt sie auch, vorsichtiger zu sein.


3. Tun Sie Dinge, die Sie alleine tun können: Wenn Sie Ihr Kind etwas tun lassen, für das es keine Hilfe braucht, ist es ganz normal, dass keine Gefahr besteht. Wenn Ihr Kind ohne Hilfe einen Baum auf und ab gehen kann, ist es normal, dass ihm nichts passiert. Wenn Sie stattdessen halten und drücken müssen, müssen Sie möglicherweise warten, bis Sie größer oder älter sind, um diese Herausforderung zu meistern.

Ein Tipp für Eltern von Mädchen

Mädchen sind NICHT zerbrechlicher als Kinder. Mädchen fallen NICHT mehr als Kinder. Mädchen sind NICHT weniger beweglich, weniger schnell, weniger körperlich fähig als Kinder. Wir sind die Eltern, die sie so machen, weil wir mehr Angst haben, dass ein Mädchen fällt! Wenn Sie Töchter haben, fordern Sie sie auf, Herausforderungen anzunehmen, schwierige Dinge zu tun, sich zu bemühen, zu klettern, zu rennen, zu springen ... Sie werden ihnen Vertrauen in sich selbst geben, und sie sind sowohl physisch als auch emotional stark und sicher.

Amaya de Miguel. Elternmentor und Gründer von Entspannen und erziehen

Video: WENN WAISEN REDEN FALLEN TRÄNEN - ANSAAR INTERNATIONAL e.V.


Interessante Artikel

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Die Schule ist zusammen mit der Familie der zweitwichtigste Ort in der Entwicklung von Kindern. In den Fluren und Klassenzimmern der Schule verbringen die Kleinen Stunden und Stunden damit, Werte zu...