How to be parents of a digital native and succeed according to Harvard

New technologies have changed everything. Not only communications or leisure forms, but even the parents' curriculum. Now, every parent must master digital skills to be able to educate their children well, those who are born surrounded by devices with an internet connection that opens the doors of an online world that has numerous risks that must be prevented.

To deal with this situation, Harvard offers parents a series of keys to be a good father of a digital native. Several tips to ensure that the smallest of the house take full advantage of the potential of new technologies and use them responsibly. A way to accompany your children as in any other matter.


Being a father in the digital age

Children today grow up in an environment full of technologies that can be very useful if they are used correctly. To achieve this, Harvard University proposes these tips to the parents of these children:

- Treat new technologies like any other element in the children's lives. Parents should also want to know what their children do online, just as they are interested in their activity in class or with their friends. And just as there are rules about behavior at school and with your peers, you must also have rules about life on the net.

- Set limits and encourage other activities. It is recommended to impose reasonable limits that do not restrict the use of new technologies but that do not translate into abuse. It is also important that children rest from time to time on new technologies and learn to live in the real world that surrounds them.


- Families that play together learn together. Parents should accompany their children when using new technologies. Instead of using media as a babysitter, you have to use them as a way to have fun and learn together.

- Be a good role model. If the father spends all day connected to his phone, tablet, computer all the time, the message that is sent to the child is not the best.

- Show the value of face-to-face communication. Personal interaction in the physical world is crucial for relationships and mental health. New technologies can help to maintain contact with distant relatives, but at home always better face to face.

- Create zones and moments without technology. Sometimes technology can interfere with everyday activities such as studying, sleeping or eating. Therefore, places like the bedroom or the room where you study must be free of these technologies unless they are essential to find information.


- Do not use technology as an "emotional pacifier". If the child has a tantrum, you have to calm him down by talking and never giving him a device with an internet connection to calm him down. In this way, it will be avoided that each time the child wants to access online content mount the shtick.

- Learn about the recommended content. Parents should be aware of the materials their children can handle and never allow them to install applications without first being informed about their content.

- Teach to be a good "digital citizen" and to be responsible. Online time should not leave offline activities and relationships aside. In their use of platforms such as chats and social networks, they must be friendly and polite. Never use anonymity to insult others and of course remember privacy.

- Children will make mistakes. Just like when you learn to walk, ride a bicycle or any other field, here too they will fall and parents should encourage them to try again.

Damián Montero

Video: Simon Sinek on Millennials in the Workplace


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Wie man Eltern eines Digital Native ist und nach Harvard Erfolg hat

Neue Technologien haben alles verändert. Nicht nur Kommunikations- oder Freizeitformen, sondern auch der Lehrplan der Eltern. Jetzt muss jeder Elternteil beherrschen digitale Fähigkeiten Um ihre Kinder gut erziehen zu können, sind diejenigen, die von Geräten umgeben sind, die über eine Internetverbindung verfügen, die die Türen einer Online-Welt öffnet, die zahlreiche Risiken aufweist, die verhindert werden müssen.

Um mit dieser Situation fertig zu werden, Harvard bietet Eltern eine Reihe von Schlüsseln an, um ein guter Vater eines Digital Native zu sein. Mehrere Tipps, um sicherzustellen, dass die Kleinsten des Hauses das Potenzial neuer Technologien voll ausschöpfen und verantwortungsbewusst einsetzen. Eine Möglichkeit, Ihre Kinder wie in jeder anderen Angelegenheit zu begleiten.


Vater sein im digitalen Zeitalter

Kinder wachsen heute in einer Umgebung voller Technologien auf, die bei richtiger Anwendung sehr nützlich sein können. Um dies zu erreichen, schlägt die Harvard University diese vor Tipps an die eltern dieser kinder:

- Behandeln Sie neue Technologien wie jedes andere Element im Leben der Kinder. Eltern sollten auch wissen wollen, was ihre Kinder online tun, genauso wie sie an ihrer Aktivität im Unterricht oder mit ihren Freunden interessiert sind. Und so wie es Regeln für das Verhalten in der Schule und bei Gleichaltrigen gibt, müssen Sie auch Regeln für das Leben im Netz haben.

- Grenzen setzen und andere Aktivitäten fördern. Es wird empfohlen, vernünftige Grenzwerte festzulegen, die den Einsatz neuer Technologien nicht einschränken, aber nicht zu Missbrauch führen. Es ist auch wichtig, dass sich Kinder von Zeit zu Zeit auf neue Technologien ausruhen und lernen, in der sie umgebenden realen Welt zu leben.


- Familien, die zusammen spielen, lernen gemeinsam. Eltern sollten ihre Kinder beim Einsatz neuer Technologien begleiten. Anstatt Medien als Babysitter zu verwenden, müssen Sie sie dazu nutzen, Spaß zu haben und gemeinsam zu lernen.

- Sei ein gutes Vorbild. Wenn der Vater den ganzen Tag mit seinem Smartphone, Tablet oder Computer verbunden ist, ist die Nachricht, die an das Kind gesendet wird, nicht die beste.

- Zeigen Sie den Wert der Face-to-Face-Kommunikation. Die persönliche Interaktion in der physischen Welt ist für Beziehungen und psychische Gesundheit von entscheidender Bedeutung. Neue Technologien können helfen, den Kontakt zu weit entfernten Verwandten aufrechtzuerhalten, aber zu Hause immer besser von Angesicht zu Angesicht.

- Erstellen Sie Zonen und Momente ohne Technologie. Manchmal kann die Technologie Alltagsaktivitäten wie Lernen, Schlafen oder Essen stören. Daher müssen Orte wie das Schlafzimmer oder der Raum, in dem Sie studieren, frei von diesen Technologien sein, es sei denn, sie sind für das Auffinden von Informationen unerlässlich.


- Verwenden Sie keine Technologie als "emotionaler Schnuller". Wenn das Kind einen Wutanfall hat, müssen Sie es beruhigen, indem Sie sprechen und ihm niemals ein Gerät mit Internetverbindung geben, um es zu beruhigen. Auf diese Weise wird vermieden, dass das Kind jedes Mal, wenn es auf Online-Inhalte zugreifen möchte, den Shtick einbinden möchte.

- Erfahren Sie mehr über die empfohlenen Inhalte. Eltern sollten sich der Materialien bewusst sein, mit denen ihre Kinder umgehen können, und ihnen niemals gestatten, Anwendungen zu installieren, ohne vorher über ihren Inhalt informiert zu werden.

- Lehren Sie, ein guter "digitaler Bürger" zu sein und verantwortlich zu sein. Online-Zeit sollte Offline-Aktivitäten und Beziehungen nicht außer Acht lassen. Bei der Nutzung von Plattformen wie Chats und sozialen Netzwerken müssen sie freundlich und höflich sein. Verwende niemals Anonymität, um andere zu beleidigen und natürlich an die Privatsphäre zu denken.

- Kinder machen Fehler. Genau wie beim Laufen, Fahrradfahren oder anderen Feldern werden sie auch hier stürzen und die Eltern sollten sie dazu ermutigen, es noch einmal zu versuchen.

Damián Montero

Video: Chris Wallace interviews Russian President Vladimir Putin


Interessante Artikel

Was ist das beste Alter, um zu bezahlen?

Was ist das beste Alter, um zu bezahlen?

Ab welchem ​​Alter wird empfohlen, diesen wöchentlichen Lohn zu zahlen? Wann kann das Kind mit dieser wirtschaftlichen Autonomie ausgestattet werden, um seine Ausgaben zu bezahlen? Diese Entscheidung...