How to react to children's learning difficulties

For many parents it is a hard blow to receive the news that your child has a learning disorder. The news that our little one has a attention deficit with hyperactivity, dyslexia, dyscalculia ... can immerse us in a sea of ​​doubts. Becoming a therapist or teacher is not the solution, but there are a number of tips that will be of great help.

"When we learned that we were going to have a child, we imagined what his little face would look like, his voice, his character ... we dreamed of a perfect future for our little one, whom we wanted even before we met him. When he was born we counted his little fingers, sighing with relief to see they were all there. Years passed and it seemed that everything was developing perfectly. But one day at school they raised the alarm. They told us something was not right and recommended an evaluation to rule out problems. After several weeks of evaluation that seemed like years, it was time to receive the results. Learning Disorder All the plans we had made for our son seemed to collapse in front of us without we could do anything to remedy it".

This is a very common story among parents whose children have received a diagnosis such as dyslexia, hyperactivity ... words that until that moment had been heard. but they had not given importance.


What to do when we are diagnosed with a learning disorder?

Without a doubt, it is not easy to assimilate the blow of information like this. But what can we do from that moment? We must not forget that the child is still the same as the day before, when his diagnosis was not yet known. Their strengths and weaknesses remain the same, although now we can better understand what they owe and how to help them develop in the best possible way.

It is not a matter of presupposing that it has limitations, since it is not known how far it can go with the necessary help. What we can be sure of is that he will need the support and affection of his parents, his patience and his understanding.


And then, what should we do as parents with this information? The function is not different from the one they had before knowing the diagnosis. They will have to guide the child, from affection, on their journey towards maturity.

Guidelines for reacting to children's learning difficulties

It is not necessary for parents to become teachers or therapists. Neither that they acquire knowledge of medicine nor neuropsychology, but it can be positive to attend to the following guidelines:

1. Take the calm of the sea of ​​doubts that arise at critical moments. Why does not my son want to do homework? Why are there days that do well and others do not? Will you be kidding me? ... Answering these questions correctly will help to raise the solution better.

2. Prioritize learning objectives. Addressing all contents at once will generate frustration in both the child and the family.


3. Establish a homework schedule. Duties can be made eternal when there are difficulties, so it will be convenient to talk with teachers to adapt the amount that is required.

4. Do not center the child's life on school work. It is convenient that they perform other activities, such as their hygiene habits, order and cleanliness and of course play and free time. He is capable of doing many things well, but if he only performs academic tasks we can not congratulate him for it.

5. Find the positive of each task you do. The difficulties are often accompanied by numerous errors in the tasks. If we highlight all these errors, you will be frustrated and try to avoid these situations. It is better to analyze what has improved with respect to previous days and rescue this information.

6. Go to a professional who works the affected areas so that it reaches the highest level of development possible.

Carolina Laguna. Neuropsychologist and Educational Psychologist. Associate professor in the Master in Neuropsychology and Education of UNIR. Director of the Department of Neuropsychology and teacher in Psychologists Pozuelo.

Video: Mayo Clinic Study on Anesthesia and Learning Disabilities in Children


Interesting Articles

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Say no It can be complicated for many people. If you often answer yes to demands of friendships or work, even if you really know you do not want to do it, if you have a hard time saying no and you...

This develops the baby's sense of balance

This develops the baby's sense of balance

The sense of balance it provides us with a permanent orientation in the three dimensions of space. For this, he uses different structures such as the vestibular apparatus, the eyes and the cutaneous...

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

How is life in general going? An OECD study has measured the 11 dimensions of well-being today. Among its conclusions, it shows that the OECD countries follow different patterns with respect to their...

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Love in youth is of the utmost importance, since the first couple relationships build the sentimental parameters of the people, that is, if at that age a person lives a healthy love, their subsequent...

Wie kann man auf Lernschwierigkeiten von Kindern reagieren?

Für viele Eltern ist es ein schwerer Schlag, die Nachricht zu erhalten, dass Ihr Kind eine Lernstörung hat. Die Nachricht, dass unser Kind mit Hyperaktivität, Dyslexie, Dyskalkulie ... ein Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit hat, kann uns in ein Meer von Zweifeln eintauchen. Therapeut oder Lehrer zu werden ist keine Lösung, aber es gibt eine Reihe von Tipps, die sehr hilfreich sein werden.

"Als wir erfuhren, dass wir ein Kind bekommen würden, stellten wir uns vor, wie sein kleines Gesicht aussehen würde, seine Stimme, sein Charakter ... wir träumten von einer perfekten Zukunft für unser kleines Kind, das wir uns schon vor seiner Begegnung wünschten. Als er geboren wurde, zählten wir seine kleinen Finger und seufzte erleichtert, als sie sahen, dass alle da waren. Jahre vergingen und es schien, dass sich alles perfekt entwickelte. Aber eines Tages in der Schule haben sie Alarm geschlagen. Sie sagten uns, dass etwas nicht stimmte, und empfahlen eine Bewertung, um Probleme auszuschließen. Nach mehreren Wochen der Auswertung, die wie Jahre aussahen, war es an der Zeit, die Ergebnisse zu erhalten. Lernstörung Alle Pläne, die wir für unseren Sohn gemacht hatten, schienen vor uns zusammenzubrechen, ohne dass wir etwas dagegen tun konnten".

Dies ist eine sehr häufige Geschichte bei Eltern, deren Kinder eine Diagnose wie Dyslexie, Hyperaktivität erhalten haben ... Wörter, die bis zu diesem Moment gehört wurden. aber sie hatten keine Bedeutung gegeben.


Was tun, wenn bei uns eine Lernstörung diagnostiziert wird?

Ohne Zweifel ist es nicht einfach, den Informationsstoß wie diesen zu assimilieren. Aber was können wir von diesem Moment an tun? Wir dürfen nicht vergessen, dass das Kind immer noch am Tag davor ist, als seine Diagnose noch nicht bekannt war. Ihre Stärken und Schwächen bleiben gleich, obwohl wir jetzt besser verstehen können, was sie schulden und wie wir ihnen helfen können, sich optimal zu entwickeln.

Es geht nicht darum zu vermuten, dass es Einschränkungen gibt, da nicht bekannt ist, wie weit es mit der notwendigen Hilfe gehen kann. Wir können sicher sein, dass er die Unterstützung und Zuneigung seiner Eltern, seine Geduld und sein Verständnis brauchen wird.


Und was sollen wir als Eltern mit dieser Information tun? Die Funktion unterscheidet sich nicht von der, die sie vor dem Erkennen der Diagnose hatten. Sie müssen das Kind von seiner Zuneigung auf dem Weg zur Reife führen.

Richtlinien zur Reaktion auf Lernschwierigkeiten von Kindern

Es ist nicht notwendig, dass Eltern Lehrer oder Therapeuten werden. Sie erwerben weder medizinische Kenntnisse noch Neuropsychologie, aber es kann positiv sein, die folgenden Richtlinien zu beachten:

1. Nehmen Sie die Ruhe des Meeres von Zweifeln, die in kritischen Momenten auftreten. Warum will mein Sohn keine Hausaufgaben machen? Warum gibt es Tage, die gut sind und andere nicht? Willst du mich veräppeln? ... Wenn du diese Fragen richtig beantwortest, wird das die Lösung verbessern.

2. Priorisieren Sie die Lernziele. Wenn Sie alle Inhalte gleichzeitig ansprechen, wird dies sowohl für das Kind als auch für die Familie frustrierend sein.


3. Legen Sie einen Hausaufgabenplan fest. Aufgaben können in Schwierigkeiten ewig gemacht werden, daher ist es ratsam, mit den Lehrern zu sprechen, um den erforderlichen Betrag anzupassen.

4. Richten Sie das Leben des Kindes nicht auf die Schularbeit aus. Es ist praktisch, dass sie andere Tätigkeiten ausüben, wie Hygienegewohnheiten, Ordnung und Sauberkeit und natürlich Spiel und Freizeit. Er kann viele Dinge gut machen, aber wenn er nur akademische Aufgaben erfüllt, können wir ihm nicht gratulieren.

5. Finden Sie das Positive jeder Aufgabe, die Sie erledigen. Die Schwierigkeiten gehen häufig mit zahlreichen Fehlern bei den Aufgaben einher. Wenn wir alle diese Fehler hervorheben, werden Sie frustriert sein und versuchen, diese Situationen zu vermeiden. Es ist besser zu analysieren, was sich in den letzten Tagen verbessert hat, und diese Informationen zu retten.

6. Gehen Sie zu einem Fachmann, der die betroffenen Bereiche bearbeitet damit es den höchstmöglichen Entwicklungsstand erreicht.

Carolina Laguna. Neuropsychologe und Pädagogischer Psychologe. Außerordentlicher Professor im Master in Neuropsychologie und Ausbildung von UNIR. Direktor der Abteilung für Neuropsychologie und Lehrer für Psychologen Pozuelo.

Video: Dein Kind hat Lernschwierigkeiten- und nun?


Interessante Artikel

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

Sicherlich hatten Sie während Ihrer Schulzeit einen Partner, der immer Hausaufgaben verließ, keine unterschriebenen Prüfungen mitbrachte, Bücher verlor, im Unterricht redete oder oft in den...